Chevron Left
Back to R Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for R Programming by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
21,189 ratings
4,574 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to program in R and how to use R for effective data analysis. You will learn how to install and configure software necessary for a statistical programming environment and describe generic programming language concepts as they are implemented in a high-level statistical language. The course covers practical issues in statistical computing which includes programming in R, reading data into R, accessing R packages, writing R functions, debugging, profiling R code, and organizing and commenting R code. Topics in statistical data analysis will provide working examples....

Top reviews

JM
Aug 11, 2019

Very challenging, but good course. I've been programming in R for over a year, but there were still some things for me to pick up in this class. Assignments were a challenge, but satisfying to tackle.

WH
Feb 2, 2016

"R Programming" forces you to dive in deep.\n\nThese skills serve as a strong basis for the rest of the data science specialization.\n\nMaterial is in depth, but presented clearly. Highly recommended!

Filter by:

3926 - 3950 of 4,484 Reviews for R Programming

By Jone C

Apr 26, 2021

Good content overall but programming assignment requires deeper insights into syntax that were not covered

By Jason S

Sep 9, 2020

Assignments are a huge step up in difficulty compared to lectures. It is like there are lectures missing.

By Jonathan Y

Mar 31, 2020

The programming assignments were way too difficult compared with the material presented in the same week.

By Lorenzo F

Oct 25, 2017

I felt some assignment required more knowledge than the course had offered. Overall this is a good course

By Jaya K

Mar 6, 2016

its good and still more programming problems can be discussed to ease the learners to dive interest in R.

By Ricardo A

Aug 21, 2016

the presentations are very hard to follow, it requires a lot of extra time reading the professor's book

By Mohammad R

Mar 10, 2019

The lectures were a bit hard to follow and the assignments were way harder than the topics in lectures

By Travis J

Aug 27, 2018

Much of the material is learned via googling. Do not look to the course videos to be enough to go on.

By Subrato R

Nov 9, 2016

Training material and assignment levels don't match up. better training material and videos expected.

By Daniyal M

Jul 29, 2021

Large disconnect between course content and assignments given. Otherwise a good learning experience.

By Giulia C

Sep 6, 2020

examples are way too easy compared to the disproportionate difficulty of the programming assignments

By Dustin L C

Jun 27, 2021

While the lessons are good, there is a large difficulty spike with a few of the course assignments.

By Fabiola R W

Oct 4, 2020

I wish there were more in-depth exercises at an intermediate level before what we got in the exams.

By Stefano S

Aug 3, 2020

Too big the gap between lectures and assignments. Only partially filled by the task of the mentors.

By Daniel D

May 1, 2020

There seem to be a big gap on what was taught and was was given in the quizes. Overall it was okay.

By Joseph R

Jun 21, 2019

Assignments are far more challenging than they should be. Course content is good introductory to R.

By Sylvia

Apr 18, 2017

Could do a better job of teaching more of the fundamentals involved in the Programming Assignments.

By Vjekoslav B

Sep 13, 2020

The gap between teachings and assignment is quite large. This is definitely not beginner-friendly.

By Sheng X

May 8, 2019

The pace of talking of some of the intutor is too fast, if slow down a little bit, will be better.

By Rosario J

Feb 25, 2017

there is a wide gap between the videos, practice assignments and completing the required projects.

By Florian B

Jun 30, 2016

It was very difficult for me to follow the exercises, since I don't have a programming background.

By Andrew M

Nov 5, 2018

Some good information, and a good course platform, but I didn't feel all the parts fit together.

By J. E M

Aug 4, 2018

Way too wide a gulf between the material in lectures and practice exercises and the evaluations.

By Joemier P

Oct 21, 2020

The first course is better - provide students an alternative learning method aside from videos.

By Haohan

Apr 11, 2017

The homework is more harder than what I learned. The errors in speaking made me uncomfortable.