Chevron Left
Back to R Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for R Programming by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
20,482 ratings
4,394 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to program in R and how to use R for effective data analysis. You will learn how to install and configure software necessary for a statistical programming environment and describe generic programming language concepts as they are implemented in a high-level statistical language. The course covers practical issues in statistical computing which includes programming in R, reading data into R, accessing R packages, writing R functions, debugging, profiling R code, and organizing and commenting R code. Topics in statistical data analysis will provide working examples....

Top reviews

WH
Feb 2, 2016

"R Programming" forces you to dive in deep.\n\nThese skills serve as a strong basis for the rest of the data science specialization.\n\nMaterial is in depth, but presented clearly. Highly recommended!

EJ
Jul 11, 2016

Excellent course! I already knew a lot about R - but this class helped me solidify what I already knew, taught me lots of new tricks, and now I have a certificate that says I know `something' about R!

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 4,281 Reviews for R Programming

By Alexander O

Apr 16, 2016

A great intro to the basics of R programming that is especially useful for those who have aren't very familiar with programming, or extremely out of practice (such as myself...).

By Denis O

Jul 17, 2020

It is a really complete course to undertand how R programming language works. The classes are really great and the content is really important to work in the data science field.

By Xianhui W

Mar 23, 2019

About the assignment in week 1, it may be challenging as a beginner. But generally it is a great course. Thanks to professor Peng and others who made contribution to this class!

By Christian B

Sep 27, 2016

This was a challenging class and it took me quite some time to figure things out. But I feel I learned something. Definitely check the tips provided my the mentors in the forums

By Dona P

Jul 6, 2020

I learned a lot through this course. I can feel the difference every time I complete a course. Thank You

Some data were missing towards the end. otherwise, the course is simple.

By Mark O

Nov 14, 2019

Hi team, FYI there is a typo in R programming, background material, Week1:Getting started and R Nuts and Bolts - Video : Getting Help - Slide 9/14

Follow up witht the solution

By Andrew

Feb 9, 2019

For a beginner, the assignments were very challenging, but worth it. I learned a lot from the course and feel as if I left the course with a solid grasp of how to program in R.

By Sarib S

Oct 5, 2017

best teaching and student financial Aid Option is also very beneficial for every class of students. I thank the coursera team for their efforts to run this educational website.

By DIANA L D G

Oct 27, 2020

The course is great, the assignments are challenging but they help a lot to improve your R programming skills. The videos and swirl() lessons are great tools, helped me a lot.

By Francisco M R O

Oct 8, 2018

This course about R is perfect, it gives you the tools and knowledge you need in order to do data analysis. I'm going to recommend this course to my peers, thank you coursera.

By Sarunas K

Aug 17, 2018

You need to have some programming experience to take this course. But overall shows you a good deal of R language. I really would which to see more about charts in the future.

By 胡思清

Dec 13, 2017

The assignments actually go beyond what has been taught every week but on the other hand, they were big chanllenges which really did benefit to improving my programming skill.

By Jason R

Jul 19, 2017

I found the material presented in this course to be extremely informative and useful. I would highly recommend this course to anyone that wants to become more familiar with R.

By Josep O A S

Apr 20, 2017

It is indeed very instructional! I really learned a lot with each assignment, some have been easy and some have been hard to work, but in the end everything is well explained.

By topher-rsa

Dec 25, 2016

I learned a great deal in this course about manipulating data in R. It was challenging enough with a programming background, but not too time-consuming with my busy schedule.

By Richard R

Aug 9, 2020

A great introduction to R programming! This course provided the foundation to work with R and move on to more advanced courses. I also feel prepared to begin using R at work.

By Admet Z

Sep 9, 2017

I found this course challenging, cause I had no programming experience. But I'm being grateful for the community, which helped me in each step to overhelm some tricky issues.

By Dev P

Nov 1, 2019

Great introduction to R. The assignments are tough, but stick with it and the result is fulfilling!

I now feel more confident with R and will seek to use it more in my career

By Matt R

Feb 22, 2018

Exceptional program, but I cannot overemphasis how important it is to read the 'pinned' forum posts before embarking on the programming assignments. It will save you hours!

By Dimitrios G

Mar 3, 2017

Challenging and educational. I learned way more things that I expected. I would just like to mention that there is a difference in difficulty between videos and assignments.

By Hemant S S

Feb 19, 2021

The perfect course and the perfect specialisation for beginners to take, especially those with little to no coding skills. (I began with just the knowledge of a "for" loop)

By Robert L P

Feb 7, 2021

Very Challenging yet rewarding course! I learned a ton and really want to take it to the next level in learning and using R.

I also signed up for Roger's Podcast. Great job!

By 杨泽鹏

Jul 30, 2019

This course is so great! I learnt a lot of useful knowledge about R. Besides, I experienced a meaningful study progress on Coursera. Therefore, I really appreciate the JHU!

By Sebastien L

Apr 2, 2016

This class is packed with clear, concise and useful information. The level of difficulty was perfect for me. I learned through well designed exercises the fundamentals of R

By Roberto C E

Aug 15, 2020

Excellent course, structure, content, and tools have been selected correctly.

Happy to have overcome all the high-level challenges in it, I feel rewarded with the knowledge