Chevron Left
Back to Writing in the Sciences

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing in the Sciences by Stanford University

4.9
stars
6,582 ratings

About the Course

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

Top reviews

SD

Feb 25, 2020

Respected Dr.kristiani sainani madam and coursera.

I thank you for the wonderful classes and presentations, it really didn't made me feel that i was learning online course but as in class learning.

KK

Sep 14, 2020

Hello Kristin

Thank you for teaching me the basics of academic writing and editing with proper grammar. In this course, I was introduced to the scientific panel which further enriched my knowledge.

Filter by:

751 - 775 of 2,254 Reviews for Writing in the Sciences

By Beloved F

May 2, 2021

This was the best course I have done so far and I could definitely say my scientific writing have significantly improved. I look at my work and I am proud of myself.

By Shelley F

Mar 29, 2021

I found this course very helpful. Having an online course with pre-recorded lectures was ideal for me. My writing has definitely improved as a result of this course.

By Aziza

Dec 4, 2020

This course gave me more confidence in academic writing. The only thing I'd like to add is that information for writers of the liberal arts was not really addressed.

By Nada F A E

Aug 6, 2020

It is really helpful, interesting, full of information and addresses all the areas related to scientific writing. Highly recommended to all scientific fields writer.

By Jini J S

Jul 6, 2020

This course is very helpful for anyone looking for guidance on how to write a scientific paper. It helped me a lot and I am happy to have enrolled for such a course.

By Adi P

Apr 19, 2020

It was a great course, I have learned a lot about how to write in science, it has improved many skills such as peer review, write essay and more. Thank you coursera.

By Taher K

Aug 17, 2019

Thank you for this amazing course. Now I am more confident & cable to write the best papers, I could not do it without you!!

From the bottom of my heart, THANK YOU!!!

By Iftikhar h

Nov 7, 2018

i never thought that these kind of things can be learned from the internet. But i am happy and learning (perhaps slowly due to my internet connection), thanks a lot.

By Kartik G

May 2, 2018

Writing effectively and communicating your research is as important as performing experiments. This course should be made mandatory for every scientist in research.

By Bárbara C M F P

Nov 24, 2017

Great course and very good professor. The course tells all you need to know to communicate science in different ways. It uses many examples of good and bad writing.

By Dina Z

Dec 24, 2021

I thank author who created such an amazing course for students. Everything is clearly identified, step by step. Thank you for the opportunity to study the course.)

By Sayani G

Oct 4, 2021

It is the best course I have done on an online platform to date. I recommend this course to all young students who are doing or have completed their undergraduate.

By Katia P

May 31, 2021

The course clarified many areas that were a bit confusing.Since I am not a native English language speaker it has definitely improved my writing skills. Thank you!

By Luciano R

Sep 6, 2020

Excelent course! Easy to follow, practical and full of examples and excercises which make it very profitable. Highly recommended for beginners and experts as well!

By varun g

Apr 13, 2020

very important course for the research community or for those who want to write scientific articles. This course cover all the necessary things for the beginners..

By Ashlesha G

Jan 31, 2020

I enjoyed every moment of the course. It was such joy to listen to Dr. Sainani talk about the finer details of writing. I wish I had access to this course earlier.

By Shivani P

Aug 13, 2022

Amazing course which solved most problem I was facing!! I could complete this course without loosing my confidence and I'm sure I build it very well at the end.

By Raúl G

Jan 5, 2022

Me ha servido mucho como estudiante de PhD; ojalá hubiera conocido el trabajo de la Dra. Sainani. La Dra. tiene una forma de enseñar que es más que aconsejable.

By Seyed A H

Oct 27, 2021

Such a wonderful and comprehensive course! Had no idea that it would include so many different types of texts. Absolutely loved it. Thank you so much Dr. Sainani!

By payal N b

Apr 15, 2021

Thank you so much coursera and Kristian ma'am for this amazing course. It's an worth taking course with excellent educator with simple and challenging exercises.

By Omar A Á G

Apr 14, 2021

Excellent course! It helps me a lot, particularly getting order and structure in steps to write and not procrastinate. But I learned in many ways I didn't expect.

By Zia U M

Oct 7, 2020

This course taught me the concepts and skills I was not introduced during my academic career. Great job Coursera, for making my academic and research life easier.

By Rahul M

Sep 7, 2020

A comprehensive course aimed at equipping the candidate with expertise in scientific writing. I would highly recommend this course as I had a great time learning.

By Amit S

Feb 28, 2019

The instructor is using her experience, so it is useful. The examples used are simple and can be understood by all. I would strongly recommend to take this course

By Anna M

Jul 11, 2022

I​ earn my living as a science writer and editor and I learnt a lot from this course. I wish all the writers that I have to edit would also complete this course.