Chevron Left
Back to Writing in the Sciences

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing in the Sciences by Stanford University

4.9
stars
7,536 ratings

About the Course

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

Top reviews

IA

Aug 25, 2020

A very helpful course. My writing has improved significantly in these 8 weeks. I highly recommend this course to everyone. Thank you Dr. Kristin Sainani and Coursera for bringing this course together.

AL

Jun 3, 2019

This was an amazing course that really helped me with my medical writing skills and understanding how making things clear for all audiences can help in spreading scientific knowledge across the world.

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 2,515 Reviews for Writing in the Sciences

By Eman M

Aug 9, 2020

I am so glad to learn this course about key principles of effective writing science, really was very useful to me and learn something new and I will apply this in very near future. Thanks a lot, Dr. Kristin Sainani

Stanford University

By Dima S H

May 6, 2020

This course is truly amazing, Dr. Kristin has an outstanding way of simplifying complicated topics. The course gives a comprehensive knowledge in writing; starting from the very first draft, to publishing, and finally to be interviewed.

By Isabelle G

Nov 1, 2019

FANTASTIC COURSE!! A must-do for anyone interested in using writing to communicate their scholarly work (i.e. everyone). Will be recommending to ALL my colleagues. Thank you for making this outstanding resource available free of charge.

By Dr. K R

Mar 17, 2019

Excellent course and wonderful instructor! After 8 weeks I feel like missing the course videos. Very understandable and learnt a lot from the course! I thank the instructor for her excellent teaching skills which is approachable to all!

By jen d

Jan 22, 2019

This course was exceptional. It is comprehensive enough to cover most forms of science-related communication. The sentence-level examples are incredibly helpful. I anticipate returning to this course several times to review the lessons!

By Darryl H

Apr 17, 2018

A wonderful course filled with useful tips on how to write better, publish better and engage better. This is a course that all postgraduates need to take to undo the bad habits our undergrad lecturers taught us. Thank you, Prof Sainani!

By zuhur r a

Jan 10, 2021

My first language is Arabic and my English not that perfect but really understand this course also i knew where my weakens in the language is

thanks a lot for giving me this opportunity to join this course really thank you

best of luck

By Ashley R

Jan 20, 2021

This course helped me learn what mistakes I am making in writing and, most importantly, how to correct them. This course also helped me feel more confident in my writing abilities and how to organize my papers for future publications.

By M D K L G

Aug 18, 2020

Thanks a lot for such an important course. The lecture series is so impressive and useful for researchers and young academicians. Well-explained with suitable examples. Thank you Stanford University, Dr Kristin Sainani, and Coursera.

By Victoria O

Jul 9, 2020

The instructor made an excellent job of teaching the course. The homework exercises were also well suited in buttressing knowledge gained from the course. I would definitely recommend to persons interested in improving their writing.

By Lydia D

Mar 20, 2018

Can a course be thrilling and informative? This is a very practical course. There are ample examples of live edits turning impenetrable scientific writing from unfamiliar fields into a clear message a broad audience could understand.

By Paul K K

Jun 23, 2022

I have learned so much from this course. Graduate schools instills in us some bad writing habits that can be corrected here in this course. Dr. Kristini is an amazing instructor. I loved the humour, it made the lessons exciting. :)

By Abdelhalim E B

Sep 4, 2018

The course is rich of new information and suitable for all levels (except for extreme professional). I have also learned from the way Dr. Kristin Sainani present the course. I highly recommend it, especially for biological students.

By Amal Z

Dec 23, 2022

It is a wonderful course for beginners. I learned a lot about scientific writing .I am confident to apply the knowledge I learned in this course in my writings in future.Thanks for approving my request to learn through this course.

By Shatarupa S

Aug 9, 2020

I liked the course a lot and learnt so many things. Thank you Dr. Kristin Sainani for the wonderful talks/lectures. I would like to keep in touch with you through my email ID: shatarupasarkar.92@gmail.com.

Warm regards

Shatarupa

India

By Leenia M

Aug 2, 2020

This is a wonderful course! It's absolutely perfect for students just starting out their careers. Fantastic instructor with lively and engaging lectures. This course taught me more about good writing than my entire schooling years.

By Jovelle U

Jul 15, 2020

This course is high-caliber. It is not just good content-wise, but the pedagogy of teaching is also clear, straightforward, and effective. The instructor designed the course very well and was able to transfer knowledge and methods.

By Valentina G

Apr 6, 2020

The course is well organized, focused on correct things and the instructor is very clear in explanation.

I would have preferred having more exercises on writing abstracts, paragraphs and so on. But the course is worth it. Thank you.

By Atiya M U

Aug 24, 2019

The teacher is awesome, her way of talking is very engaging. The practical editing exercises help to make your writing clear and concise. All in all, a comprehensive introduction to scientific/medical writing. Highly recommended!!!

By Nicole F

Sep 1, 2021

Excellent and engaging course. Recommending this to anyone in graduate school, or any level for that matter, before writing a paper. Straightforward teaching and applicable examples make this course so effective. Highly recommend!

By Eva G

Jul 6, 2021

The course covers a variety of aspects including basic grammar, elements of research, how to conduct interviews, and on social media. It is a great stepping stone to equip you with the knowledge and skill to write in the sciences!

By Maria R

May 26, 2020

One of the best courses I have taken. Well structured, clear, concise, but rich. Professor Sainani has a great experience and a very nice , strong voice. I really recommend it to everybody involved in writing or science. Thank you

By Agatha S

Mar 18, 2022

This is a wonderful course for a beginner in the resaerch field. Prof. Kristin Sainani, has wonderfully explained and demonstrated the need for each of the criteria that are needed for writing a successful paper in the sciences.

By Grace M

Jul 29, 2020

The information presented in this course is useful for those in all scientific disciplines, and the instructor presents it in an engaging way. I would recommend this course to anyone looking to advance their communication skills!

By Zainab S

Jul 19, 2020

I'm a first Year IBDP student, which means that I'll be writing a lot! But this course has really helped me break down so much of my work into simpler, smaller parts that don't seem as daunting as a 4000 word research paper does.