Chevron Left
Back to Writing in the Sciences

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing in the Sciences by Stanford University

4.9
stars
6,373 ratings
2,122 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

Top reviews

IA

Aug 25, 2020

A very helpful course. My writing has improved significantly in these 8 weeks. I highly recommend this course to everyone. Thank you Dr. Kristin Sainani and Coursera for bringing this course together.

KK

Sep 14, 2020

Hello Kristin\n\nThank you for teaching me the basics of academic writing and editing with proper grammar. In this course, I was introduced to the scientific panel which further enriched my knowledge.

Filter by:

726 - 750 of 2,181 Reviews for Writing in the Sciences

By Maha A

Jan 21, 2018

I really liked this course! and I would recommend it to everyone.

It helped me a lot in many ways.

Also I would like to thanks Dr. Kristin Sainani for this big efforts :)

By HariVarsha

Nov 15, 2021

This is a great course for someone like me who fears writing. Enlightening and definitely acquired new skills and confidence in writing. Thank you, Dr. Kristin Sainani

By sunita g

Jul 17, 2021

Writing in the Science has helped me understand many technical details that I used to miss earlier. I has helped me in building new concepts of writing.

Thanks a lot!!!

By DR P S

Mar 20, 2021

The Science writing course is well prepared in eight chapters.

Content of this course has presented nicely by Prof Kristin.

Thans and Good wishes...

Dr Pooran Kumar Sinha

By Nina S

Dec 21, 2020

The best course I've ever passed. I would recommend it to everyone involved in science. Here, both beginners and experienced people can find valuable tips and tricks.

By Vrindha P

Aug 31, 2020

This was such a good course that took me through everything needed for an early career researcher as I am writing my first paper to publish in a peer reviewed journal.

By Ashokharty A

Jun 9, 2020

This course helped me so much in my final year . The course gradually progresses from an intermediate to an advanced level of writing. Thanks to the mentors and peers.

By NAVEEN K M (

May 18, 2020

This course is very well designed and course contents are easy to understand. I must recommend this course for both UG and PG students to develop their writing skills.

By Tshepiso N

May 15, 2020

This is a great platform to learn how to write. I'm confident that I will be writing better going forward during my studies. Thank you for such an amazing opportunity.

By Zuzana R

Feb 14, 2020

Thank you for your incredibly punctual yet understandable and convenient lessons! I would gladly recommend your course to my friends trying to write on the best level.

By Laura A

Apr 21, 2018

Kristin is awesome, very clear explanations, lots and lots of great tips and tricks. Excellent material delivered in a practical and friendly manner. Highly recommend!

By Beloved F

May 2, 2021

This was the best course I have done so far and I could definitely say my scientific writing have significantly improved. I look at my work and I am proud of myself.

By Shelley F

Mar 29, 2021

I found this course very helpful. Having an online course with pre-recorded lectures was ideal for me. My writing has definitely improved as a result of this course.

By Aziza

Dec 4, 2020

This course gave me more confidence in academic writing. The only thing I'd like to add is that information for writers of the liberal arts was not really addressed.

By Nada F A E

Aug 6, 2020

It is really helpful, interesting, full of information and addresses all the areas related to scientific writing. Highly recommended to all scientific fields writer.

By Jini J S

Jul 6, 2020

This course is very helpful for anyone looking for guidance on how to write a scientific paper. It helped me a lot and I am happy to have enrolled for such a course.

By Adi P

Apr 19, 2020

It was a great course, I have learned a lot about how to write in science, it has improved many skills such as peer review, write essay and more. Thank you coursera.

By Taher K

Aug 17, 2019

Thank you for this amazing course. Now I am more confident & cable to write the best papers, I could not do it without you!!

From the bottom of my heart, THANK YOU!!!

By Iftikhar h

Nov 7, 2018

i never thought that these kind of things can be learned from the internet. But i am happy and learning (perhaps slowly due to my internet connection), thanks a lot.

By Kartik G

May 2, 2018

Writing effectively and communicating your research is as important as performing experiments. This course should be made mandatory for every scientist in research.

By Bárbara C M F P

Nov 24, 2017

Great course and very good professor. The course tells all you need to know to communicate science in different ways. It uses many examples of good and bad writing.

By Dina Z

Dec 24, 2021

I thank author who created such an amazing course for students. Everything is clearly identified, step by step. Thank you for the opportunity to study the course.)

By Sayani G

Oct 4, 2021

It is the best course I have done on an online platform to date. I recommend this course to all young students who are doing or have completed their undergraduate.

By Katia P

May 31, 2021

The course clarified many areas that were a bit confusing.Since I am not a native English language speaker it has definitely improved my writing skills. Thank you!

By Luciano R

Sep 6, 2020

Excelent course! Easy to follow, practical and full of examples and excercises which make it very profitable. Highly recommended for beginners and experts as well!