Chevron Left
Back to Serious Gaming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Serious Gaming by Erasmus University Rotterdam

4.5
stars
238 ratings
72 reviews

About the Course

Have you ever wondered how playing games can help us to train people, deal with societal challenges or raise awareness of contemporary social issues? In this MOOC you will learn the ins and outs of games that are designed with exactly those purposes in mind: serious games. We will define serious games and discuss the different types that have been developed. We will explain why people like to play them and what impact they may have. State of the art theories from game studies, philosophy and media psychology will be used to help you understand how serious games work and how they appeal to players. The potential impact of gaming is addressed in detail by discussing persuasive games, which aim at changing the player's attitude. Throughout the MOOC, theoretical insights will be illustrated with playful animations and case studies of serious games that are developed by world-class companies in the city of Rotterdam. This MOOC is particularly interesting for you when you are a student considering to study digital media such as serious games, a professional interested in the opportunities these games may create for your organization, or a game developer who wants to know more about the impact serious games can have. Note that this MOOC will not teach you how to design a serious game. Watch the teaser for this MOOC here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FqjY1KSsEx8 Are you ready to broaden your vision on serious games? Join this course and be inspired!...

Top reviews

FT
Jun 28, 2017

Very interesting and well designed course. It helps you to understand from the very basics the dynamics about serious gaming, examples, and its characteristics. Well paced, keeps you hooked.

KK
Jan 7, 2017

An interesting course to learn about serious gaming overview. It deliverded with examples and good reference in youtube and websites to view examples of such serious games.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 71 Reviews for Serious Gaming

By Claudio M

Jun 19, 2020

O curso é muito bem estruturado e o conteúdo é adequado a carga horária e ao propósito do curso. Muito bom.

By Alexandra G

Sep 4, 2017

Very insteresting, very useful course, it makes me curious for other courses from Rotterdam University.

By Alberto V

Jan 7, 2021

Pretty good course although the weekly animations have some cringey feel to them :(

By Alma G B Y

Jul 2, 2020

Soy Estudiante y no puedo pagar la certificación, pero el curso es muy bueno.

By Thorsten K

Aug 11, 2017

Very good approach, if you combine it with the Gamification Course

By Сусляев А М

Jul 27, 2020

Действительно интересный курс с хорошей теорией и практикой.

By Patrick D R

Sep 21, 2017

Excellent Course. Helped me a lot in my doctorate classes.

By Rania R

Oct 1, 2016

Very educational and i think i is a must for all educators

By Dr. D M

Feb 19, 2017

Great course on the foundations of serious games

By will s

Mar 1, 2018

is very good introduction for serious games

By Gustavo V B

Sep 1, 2017

Really hard course have good reading guides

By Marvin D G P

May 24, 2019

Muy buen curso, ilustrativo y explicativo

By Yan W A

Apr 3, 2018

Very useful course about serious game.

By Ragesh R

Apr 12, 2018

Very Good Course.. Enjoyed Learning..

By YUSRI B A

Nov 23, 2020

Good content & Excellent Instructors

By alexandre z

Jun 15, 2020

Clair, efficace et bien présenté.

By Mariana G

Apr 19, 2018

Amazing classes, super worth it!

By Vivek S

Jul 29, 2020

Well-put course. Loved it!

By JOHN Q

Jan 12, 2017

Great course. fun!

By ERHART V

May 30, 2018

Excellent course !

By Kevin F

Nov 1, 2019

phenomenal course

By Rio

Mar 7, 2019

Passionnant !!!!

By Simone L S

Dec 1, 2016

Thank You!

By Julia B

Aug 17, 2017

excellent

By Chase H

Oct 13, 2017

Two things I like the most about this course. First, solid the useful theories, especially regarding pursuasive gaming. Second, many interesting cases of serious games with in depth analysis . What could have made this course better? It will be great if you can help us establish a framework of how to develop a serious game, aka how to use the theories(tools) in steps to come up with a solution. I understand the steps can be different for different purposes, but there must be some common rules and approach. I would also like the opportunities to hear the thoughts from developers of good serious games. What drives them to make the game at the first place? What do they find different from developing an entertainment game? What are their thoughts on the future of serious games?