Chevron Left
Back to SQL for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for SQL for Data Science by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
11,162 ratings
2,908 reviews

About the Course

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Top reviews

JG
Aug 22, 2021

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

JP
Apr 5, 2020

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

Filter by:

2226 - 2250 of 2,960 Reviews for SQL for Data Science

By Ken H

Oct 9, 2020

The course was good. It enhanced my knowledge of sequel.

My only disappointment was there was no immediate feedback or instruction when attempting to write scripts. Perhaps a pop up which noted common mistakes when attempting to write the script.

By Raghavendra H

Sep 17, 2018

Nicely instructed by Sadie St. Lawrence.

Way the things are explained with examples helped me to understand the topics better.

I felt a little more explanation on Normalization and understanding the ER diagrams would have been could have been better

By Mary S

Jan 16, 2020

Sadie is a great teacher. This course is strong on theory. I would have liked to have had direct access to the data sets that I could use with other SQL tools but did not find this limiting in learning what was taught. A good foundation.

By Michael L M

Nov 25, 2021

This course has been good for getting some of the sql basics but I found that many of the examples required me to look outside the course to find answers which isn't in itself bad but this course will need a self starter to make this work.

By Cameron W

May 24, 2021

Great course to get you introduced to SQL. The lessons focused on actual SQL code and statements was very good. The parts of the course that addressed practical data management and database theory were less helpful, but still informative.

By ivan o

Oct 20, 2019

Very useful for me at my career moment. This is a good SQL course if you're a beginner to intermediate SQL user wanting to update or learn some SQL. But if your are already a advanced SQL user I feel the course might be too basic for you.

By Jens P

Mar 6, 2018

The videos are aweomse. I would have loved a little bit more material, e.g. a short summary of all the SQL entries discussed in the course. In addition, I think there was quite big jump of difficulty between week 4 and the peer assigment.

By Alex B

Dec 17, 2019

some quizes or coding tasks were worded pretty badly and were confusing to many students. It needs to be reviewed and edited. Also, more practice tasks between the videos would be a lot more helpful rather than giving 10 videos in a row.

By Aditya P

Sep 4, 2021

If the instructor would've run the SQL queries it would have been more understandable overall good course .Just if the instructor actually write query on a system and run it it will be more beneficial for students. Nice course Overall

By Anubhav N

Aug 21, 2018

The course structure is so very well laid out that on reaching the final week, I am hungry to learn more and more concepts and practical uses of SQL. I also feel that there should be more examples and coding assignments to practice.

By Prateek G

Apr 5, 2020

I think i lreant quite a lot more from really googling. The course is an excellent framework, but you will need to reference a lot of external sources, for clarity, and for really understanding and aplpying the concepts you learn.

By Şeyma

Aug 12, 2021

This is a great SQL course! I would love to see more case examples in each videos of the week? In some videos, it felt a bit confusing to understand the spesific cases in which we should use the joins, unions or other statements.

By Rishav A

Jun 6, 2021

The course was overall very good. One thing which I felt can be improved is the pace of the modules. The level towards the end shot up very quickly.

I would definitely recommend this course for anyone who wants to start with SQL.

By Kshitij K

May 26, 2020

Good course to learn SQL queries. I think it will be helpful for someone who wants to pursue a career in data science. Final assignment and quizzes however were very confusing and not in line with what was taught in the videos.

By Callum L

Feb 4, 2018

A good introduction to SQL. The first few weeks were very informative and easy to follow, however week 3 and week 4 seemed disjointed. Some topics were covered very briefly, so I feel like my understanding Is not quite complete.

By Christian A R N

Jul 28, 2018

very nice course and good explanation

would have been nice if a summary document would have been provided at the end of each module to be able to look up content more easy and have a guide when writing applications later in time

By Shahbaz S

Jun 17, 2021

its much easy to understand the queries with the simple explanation . Best for beginners but I suggest to go through sql and how queries work before starting this course so that it will be helpful to quickly grasp the queries

By Mert y

Dec 17, 2020

I think the course need more practice quiz and all practice code quizzes answers should be put.Because If I don't remember wrong, Week2 and Week3 practice quizzes answers were not put. Apart from these the course is so good.

By Katherine R

Nov 14, 2019

I think the peer-reviewed assignment should be only on the last portion of the last project for the custom data analysis part only. Because the other questions are very technical and can accelerate the process of grading :)

By Guillermo E F

Feb 7, 2018

I enjoyed the course and learnt quite a lot in a relatively short time. My only critic is that I felt there was a gap between the depth with which each topic was cover in the lectures and the complexity of the final exam.

By Rahul M

Dec 15, 2020

Nowadays SQL is majorly using for Data Preparation, not for analysis as we have many advanced softwares to do that. Just one suggestion: Can you add a section how data can be transfered from SQL after Data preparation ?

By ANUBHAV C

May 8, 2020

I believe this course focused entirely on retrieving data and no emphasis was given on creating or modifying tables. If these topics would have been included then it can come out as a complete package for learning SQL

By Naman K

Mar 26, 2019

This is a great course for beginners. One of the things which can be improved is to have more practice questions to use all the concepts introduced in the lectures. For example: I did not get a lot of chance to create

By Angie A Y

May 24, 2021

Course videos could include the respective output after showing codes. it is hard to imagine the output when we first get to know a new sql function.

Some peer review assignment questions are hardly understandable.

By FUAD A J

Nov 19, 2019

I have prior knowledge on SQL as a programmer. However after studying this course I got a another flavor of SQL from the Data Science point of view. I loved this course and the trainer as well. Thank you coursera.