Chevron Left
Back to Summary Statistics in Public Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Summary Statistics in Public Health by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
1,359 ratings
344 reviews

About the Course

Biostatistics is the application of statistical reasoning to the life sciences, and it is the key to unlocking the data gathered by researchers and the evidence presented in the scientific literature. In this course, we'll focus on the use of statistical measurement methods within the world of public health research. Along the way, you'll be introduced to a variety of methods and measures, and you'll practice interpreting data and performing calculations on real data from published studies. Topics include summary measures, visual displays, continuous data, sample size, the normal distribution, binary data, the element of time, and the Kaplan-Meir curve....

Top reviews

AB
Apr 23, 2020

I am glad to learn a lot of terms in statistics and how to use and interpret them in the context of Public Health researches. The Instructor provided enough examples to understand the lessons better.

EC
Sep 22, 2020

I found this course really useful. It actually made you do work and it wasn't necessarily easy to pass the end of module content, which I feel made the course so much more valuable. Highly recommend.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 348 Reviews for Summary Statistics in Public Health

By Anika S D

Dec 24, 2020

This course was so useful for me and I am glad to update my knowledge in biostastistics. And Dr. John McGready is an excellent mentor who beautifully expalined to understand the concepts so well. Thanks to him. Highly recommended course.

By Diego R S G

Dec 16, 2020

Provides a good background of statistical summaries useful for biostatistics. A weakness is that there is more emphasis on interpretation than on creating summaries, but this course is only introductory, so it is not a big disadvantage.

By Hui Z

Jan 8, 2021

This is an excellent course for beginners who are interested in understanding public health related research results. John is very good at explaining the definitions with interesting & useful examples. The course is structured well.

By Kifner R M Q

Oct 25, 2020

Good course to refresh basic statistics. There were plenty of examples to support the topics which were so helpful to understand the concepts. The quizzes really gauge your biostatistics learning and critical thinking skills.

By Andrea M M B

Oct 26, 2020

Congratulations, his is a great oportunity to learn how estadistic used is being used in public health. The instructor explaing each concept in a simple manner. I like he uses examples conducted in real clinical research.

By Muhammed A E

Aug 22, 2019

One of the best statistics courses I've ever had. What I loved most about it is that it started from the very basics and continued step by step together with the examples. Thank you Coursera so much for this course.

By victor g g

Oct 17, 2020

Very interesting course that allows you to work on some of the contents of biostatistics. It is very well explained and the training platform is agile and comfortable.

I enjoyed it a lot. I will make another one.

By M.C. D D

May 29, 2020

This course helped solidify statistical strategies (the basis of them) in epidemiology. I enjoyed the length of the video lectures and felt assessments were appropriate and fair. I highly recommend this course.

By Sajama N

May 6, 2021

The professor 's ability to make his student understand the content is very good. Besides, the content are in detail and very beneficial to me. Thank you very much, very grateful to this team. Thank you John.

By Samantha M

Jun 29, 2020

Will be starting my MPH in a few weeks and wanted to get some review as well as practice with online courses in the case that courses are moved online at some point during the semester. Really helpful review!

By Sarah A

Jul 9, 2020

it was a wonderful course. I was able to learn a lot and apply my understanding on real-life studies. I can now not only read scientific papers but also interpret the results and understand what they mean!

By Denis R

May 26, 2020

Very clear and concise explanations of the basic statistical concepts. I would highly recommend this course to anyone wishing to brush up on their statistics knowledge or as an introduction into the field.

By Hosam M G A

Aug 4, 2020

This course in Summary Statistics is strongly rich in its material and the instructor elaborates and explains many examples to make the points easily understood. I recommend it to all learners interested.

By nuzhat h

Aug 7, 2020

I really enjoyed doing the mathematical problems. It was helpful in doing graphical and mathematical interpretations practice. I also got experience in handling various public health data.

Thank youuu..

By Natasha N

Jun 2, 2020

This course is a well designed one for summary statistics. The instructor, Dr. John McGready is exceptional at simplifying the concepts. The clarity provided is good. Glad to have this for my revision.

By Aedrian A

Jan 11, 2021

This is a good and enticing introduction for the rest of the Coursera Specialization where it belongs. For added value, consider taking this course with a biostatistics textbook for better retention.

By Amster F B

Apr 24, 2020

I am glad to learn a lot of terms in statistics and how to use and interpret them in the context of Public Health researches. The Instructor provided enough examples to understand the lessons better.

By Daniela A M

Dec 6, 2020

The professor´s passion for the subject really kept me motivated, the explanations were clear, the course was fun and fulfilled all my expectations and more. Thank you so much for this opportunity

By katongo h m

Aug 7, 2021

Loved every bit. I especially like the standardized and instant way of assignments and grades. No one else determines your completion rate except yourself as everything is instant and objective.

By Gabriel D

May 5, 2021

I am very happy that I learned the basic of biostatistics. It is very important to me as a medical doctor to know what most of my colleagues struggle to know. I will continue to the next course!

By Mohamed K M

Jul 2, 2020

Although the videos may seem long but i like the way Dr. McGready go through each point by example uses a real paper published , i will go through the whole course absolutely. thanks Dr.McGready

By Tochukwu N

Mar 26, 2020

Very good course! Lectures were easy to follow and gave great examples! Would highly encourage taking this course if you are looking for a biostatistics course or even to refresh your memory!

By Pooja P

Apr 29, 2021

A great way to get introduced to the field of Biostatistics is through this course ! The content as well as the quizzes are very well designed for entry level public health professionals.

By Maxwell A

Jun 3, 2020

The course has strengthen my understanding on the basics of statistics. I also wish they will include the training on the use of statistical software for analysis. Thank you team cousera

By Piyawat K

Mar 28, 2021

This course isn’t bad, but it is far from the word summary statistics in public health. It’s too short, and it also doesn’t involve some of practical biostatistics of public health.