Chevron Left
Back to Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice by Universiteit Leiden

4.8
stars
2,825 ratings
683 reviews

About the Course

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top reviews

PR
Aug 28, 2021

Not all the reading materials are opening. The course content is old . There is a need for new and latest issues to be included in the course. There is also a need for advance level of another course.

WM
Feb 24, 2021

Among the most informative courses i have taken, the material and videos provided are so detailed and specific to this field. I would recommend it to anyone with an interest matters terrorism.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 665 Reviews for Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

By Xieran G

Dec 3, 2020

perfecto

By María E M I

Jun 18, 2019

v

e

r

y

g

o

o

d

By Robert B

Nov 28, 2018

Nice one

By Maira R

Jun 18, 2018

amazing

By Md. R H

Oct 22, 2020

Thanks

By SOFIA C B

Sep 7, 2017

Great!

By Олеся К

Nov 23, 2015

Great!

By Virginia N F C

Jul 19, 2017

Great

By KARAGIORGOS D

Sep 6, 2016

great

By Mona A A

Jul 1, 2020

good

By Efraín V

Jun 3, 2020

👍🏼

By Сажаева Ю Д

Mar 17, 2019

cool

By José F G Á

Nov 2, 2016

110

By Nicolas S

Jul 25, 2016

ok

By mirkhan s

Feb 18, 2021

.

By Johnette V D

Aug 16, 2018

A

By Jorge D

Nov 1, 2017

V

By David Z

Oct 23, 2016

V

By Eduardo D R L

Sep 24, 2016

A

By Alessandro S

Oct 18, 2015

C

By George E

Feb 15, 2016

Good fist MOOC experience. Pity the google hangout wasn't up but never mind. Would prefer more questions in the videos to check I'm listening attentively.

Would also like to see a list of all the reading material in one place rather than per lectiure. Then I can go to each web page and save as epub usiing the crhome dotepub extension and copy to my ereader.

Anyway you can streamline that kind of admin task would be appreciated. You ought to spruke ways to read the web pages, because reading it on a laptop or even tablet is a bit tedious. Also with the PDFs, some info on saving them as resizable PDFs would be appreciated.

Course content was good and I like the coursera front end.

Need someway to manage tthe growing library of reading material that accumalates not just with this one course but if you do multiple MOOCs over time,

Thank!

By Mathieu B

Jan 19, 2017

Interesting course, supported by a good lecturer's team and interesting delivery method.

For those who know nothing about Terrism and Counter-terrorism, it is a fast and efficient way to know more about different field of studies, and interesting to understand what are current biases surrounding the notion of Terrorism in our contemporary world.

However, the course remains perhaps too generic, and would require more details, especially on crucial topics such as policies (Having examples or working on how to approach policy design may be of great value for the student to understand these challenges, but also for the Leiden University in order to capture inivative approaches.

But again, generally speaking, this is an excellent course, with good pace, added value and interactivity.

By Dyer B

Feb 29, 2016

This is a great overview of terrorism and counter-terrorism, and identifies the many flaws due to lack of knowledge policymakers still make in dealing with this phenomena. The rigor of the course is challenging but not impossible. I like that a section on Foreign Fighters has now been added to further enhance the course. I will use this knowledge to apply to another topic I am researching - gang dynamics and gang violence, which I believe shares many similarities. My only criticism is of the final, which I found to ask several questions about some obscure facts and did not truly test for the body of knowledge in my opinion, hence the 4 not 5 stars.

By Sally B

Aug 24, 2015

I found this course scholarly and informative. The presentation was clear and the arguments carefully researched and well balanced. It changed the way I think about terrorism - responding to anger with anger is counter-productive and doesn't really address the root causes. Thank you Prof. Bakkar for sharing your expertise and insights with a wide audience.

Some quotes from or interviews with former 'terrorists', or from members of marginalised groups within Western societies would have given us a perspective from the other side of the debate. Student colleagues may have been able to add this sort of thing.

By Matthew G

Oct 16, 2016

A pretty good course. The last week about foreign fighters didn't seem to flow as well as the other weeks (possibly because it was added later due to recent world developments).

The course referenced many scholarly articles and sources, sometimes including those of the professor of the course. There is no shortage of scholarly reading material.

However, some of the reading material came from websites that demanded registration after viewing the document the first time. This wasn't often, but there were a few (under 5 throughout the course) quiz questions that referenced these articles.