Chevron Left
Back to Responsive Website Basics: Code with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Responsive Website Basics: Code with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript by University of London

4.6
stars
5,682 ratings
1,541 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn three key website programming and design languages: HTML, CSS and JavaScript. You will create a web page using basic elements to control layout and style. Additionally, your web page will support interactivity. At the end of the course, you will be able to: 1. Define the purpose of HTML, CSS and JavaScript 2. Make a simple web page using HTML 3. Use CSS to control text styles and layout 4. Use CSS libraries such as Bootstrap to create responsive layouts 5. Use JavaScript variables and functions 6. Manipulate web page content using JavaScript 7. Respond to user input using JavaScript In this course, you will complete: 2 assignments writing HTML, CSS and JavaScript, each taking ~1 hour to complete 4 quizzes, each taking ~20 minutes to complete 1 programming exercise~30 minutes to complete multiple practice quizzes, each taking ~5 minutes to complete Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes....

Top reviews

CM
Oct 10, 2017

Thought the course did a great job of teaching the basics without getting too ahead of itself. All of the sample code was well commented out to explain exactly what the code did which was very helpful

DA
May 26, 2018

This is an excellent course for the basics in html, css and js I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wanted to build a simple but interactive website using one of the many frameworks available

Filter by:

1426 - 1450 of 1,519 Reviews for Responsive Website Basics: Code with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript

By Miniapple E

Jan 17, 2016

Not that bad I've might have learned more visiting other MOOC like Openclassrooms where they give us more information about coding. This course is just showing the basic, not as complete as other online course platform where they show you how to insert video, contact form and audio.

By Andrew G

Oct 4, 2015

Got really bonkers listening to the University of London jingle at the start AND end of each of the 38 video's in this course. The content is just ok.. but not explanation is very high level. It is good for someone who has never had experience with web technologies before.

By Damir K

Jan 26, 2016

Needs way bigger scope and a bit more going into details. The Full Stack Web Development course is somewhat like that. Lectures are good and easy to understand, both visuals and speak are nice and clear. Hopefully next one remains great quality but with more content :)

By Yadawi

Jan 24, 2016

As a learning course the final project was specification-less. they should ask for something specific and explained well they should test conecpts not asking for whatever idea you have, apply what you learned I think this is an old school method.

By عبدالرحمن م

Aug 10, 2017

overall is good , but it didn't show the full details for a beginner and i was confused about a lot of things , my advice for you if you've already know some information about the topics ,you 'll feel more comfortable with this course .

GoodLuck!

By Pona T

Nov 16, 2017

I think it would have been more effective to do the coding step by step (especially in the JavaScript portion of the course) rather than having the entire code and then explaining it. I would have liked to see what each element does in action.

By QuangHuy T

Jan 8, 2016

Course is really helpful for whom start develop website, however, question set is too small so student can guess its answer in few trial (I don't like it).

At the end, I admire your effort in these series and will keep joining the next course.

By Thomas K

Jan 12, 2016

A nice introduction to the basics but I found the assignments a little to easy so I didn't feel competent at the end of the course. I thought the instructors gave the information in clear and concise way which made the course quite enjoyable

By Abdullah A F

Jun 16, 2020

The overall lecture was good but instructor always shows readymade code. it is difficult to understand when a lecturer speech from readme code. It is easy to understand when a lecturer speech+write code simultaneously.

By Yujie H

Nov 13, 2017

The content covers the basics of html, javascript and css. It would be better that this course could offer more difficult assignments and cover more intermediate level content of frontend development.

By Yuxin Z

Oct 25, 2017

Course material is insufficient. I would not recommend this course to a beginner. I had to look up other sources before I can answer some of the questions. Also, presentation could be done better.

By Abhishek U

Nov 24, 2016

very much interesting and hand on map of yourself or your hobby. it provide you a good and exact command that's required for you to make a good web page. so go for it , professor are very cool.

By Arun K

Nov 24, 2015

Exercises should be more tough so that students can read a lot on the web about different thingsthey could do with Javascript. Hands-on experience should be given to be more interactive.

By Christine H

Apr 6, 2021

Not sufficient hands on work. The submission tasks are too easy. The pace is very slow. I miss content on text Editors and source control. However, the course provides a good overview.

By Daniel R C

Oct 14, 2015

It's a very basic course to learn a very small things about bootstrap, jquery and HTML, but I think the level is too advanced for non-programming people, it should be better structured.

By Jonah

Nov 3, 2020

You can finish this course in one evening. It's a nice introduction to the basics if you're brand new to web development, but don't shell out your cash for this course in particular.

By Andrii S

Oct 16, 2015

Too much time is dedicated to the very basics. It could have been shorter and more concise. I opted out of this course in favour of the one from the Hong Cong University, sorry =)

By Diego L

Dec 27, 2015

I believe the two first modules (html, css) are way too basic to really learn anything. The javascript segment is better because the concepts are explained more in depth.

By Brajesh V

Oct 12, 2015

This course have excellent title but not that great contents. It touched html, css, javascript, bootstrap and jquery most of part as just touched. contents are too less

By Felicea V

Oct 8, 2015

The course feels too rushed/condensed for someone with no real scripting/coding background. I honestly felt this course wasn't for me because I wasn't learning enough.

By Amr E

May 12, 2016

I was a little lost during projects, there no extensive videos for languages but on the other hand there was good materials and refereed links that could help.

By Bogdan R

Oct 13, 2015

Plus: responsive web programming, notions of bootstrap and jQuery

Negative: ultra-beginner level, very low-level basics, not much hands-on use of HTML/CSS/JS

By Jorge L L U

Apr 27, 2020

Easy to understand, but not so deep in terms of concepts. The activities per module seem irrelevant and too easy in correlation to the content presented.

By Daniel M

Jul 19, 2017

Good to learn basics, but would like to have more chances throughout to apply lessons and not just listen/write notes/try to use at the end of each week.

By Prajwal R P

Jun 5, 2020

I was unsatisfied with the tests and assignments given.

the concepts being learned in the week were not applied to the given assignments of the week