Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM Skills Network

4.7
stars
60,937 ratings

About the Course

Do you want to know why Data Science has been labelled as the sexiest profession of the 21st century? After taking this course you will be able to answer this question, and get a thorough understanding of what is Data Science, what data scientists do, and learn about career paths in the field. The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people using data to derive insights and predict outcomes have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In today's world, we use Data Science to find patterns in data, and make meaningful, data driven conclusions and predictions. This course is for everyone, and teaches concepts like Machine Learning, Deep Learning, and Neural Networks and how companies apply data science in business. You will meet several data scientists, who will share their insights and experiences in Data Science. By taking this introductory course, you will begin your journey into the thriving field that is Data Science!...

Top reviews

SH

Jul 24, 2021

Thank you for this coursera.

I get know experience and knowledge in using different kinds of online tools which are useful and effective. I'll use some of them during my lessons. And lots of thanks

MG

Jun 26, 2020

I throughly enjoyed the course and the fact that everything was explained thoroughly. I always enjoyed Dr. White's personal experience with Data Science as well as other Data Scientists point of view.

Filter by:

8951 - 8975 of 10,000 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By Chitransh S

Jul 13, 2020

This course was really very helpful for me. it clears my basics regarding data science.

Thank you so much for such a great course.

I recommend that those who want to go into the field of data science, must start learning with this course.

By Tabassum C

Jul 9, 2020

This course gives you the detailed knowledge of what is data science and the role of data scientist and how data scientist should think being as data scientist.it also explain the need of data scientist in the current and future world.

By Riddhima T

Nov 3, 2021

It's a good course, which helped me look deep into data science, what the prospects are,what skills do I need to be a good data scientist, how this industry works and what educational background do I need to become one and a lot more.

By Malachi N

Jan 2, 2020

Great introductory course! My only feedback is the parts of a report section, it is stated that there are 10 parts but about 11 topics are discussed so its hard to tell which is not part of the 10 (I believe its the Executive Summary)

By Víctor E

Aug 29, 2019

Muchas gracias por el curso, nos has dado a entender los primeros conceptos respecto a lo que es la ciencia de datos y el trabajo de un Científico de datos. Gracias por contribuir al desarrollo y crecimiento de nosotros como personas.

By B D

Jun 9, 2019

Very basic introductory with interview videos from a few professionals and professors. I wish it could be a little more comprehensive. Reading a data science introductory book would work better for this purpose. Overall, a good start.

By Matthew P

Jan 6, 2020

Good introduction with definitions of concepts. Some of the quiz questions can seem a little irrelevant though when they ask for rote memorization like who authored this paper or exactly how many jobs will be unfilled in the future.

By Hanan S

Apr 7, 2020

The peer-graded assignment was confusing because as much as you explain it right you wouldn't pass unless the person who is grading your assignment feels like you can pass. The only time you will pass is when the grader feels Happy.

By Travis N

Mar 25, 2020

The product is well-produced and informative, but VERY introductory. It feel a bit more like a sales pitch with Q&A than a course. Three weeks can be completed in a few hours. So, prepare to turn up the video playback speed to 1.5x!

By Rohan B

May 14, 2019

If someone does not have any prior experience in Data Science , I think this course is a great start to get to know what is actually Data Science and why it' s called that. All the processes and what it takes to be a Data Scientist.

By Nadal C R

Nov 6, 2021

Es un curso introductorio a la ciencia de datos el cual te permite entender los conceptos con ejemplos aplicados a la vida real, explicado por gente que realmente sabe del tema y sabe expresar que es realmente la ciencia de datos.

By anurag s r

Jun 27, 2020

A fantastic course to boost your knowledge about Data Science and how it's revolutionizing the world and a how you can become a Data Scientist.Its for all the aspirant who have no information about Data Science or a Data Scientist.

By jimena r

Jun 12, 2020

In general, the course is very effective and useful. I feel some of the questions raised in the assessments after each reading are not key. Could include other type of questions that are more critical for the knowledge development.

By Max Z

Feb 15, 2022

A good introduction to what a data scientist does.

However, many of the tests later on expect you to remember specific quotes and authors. Testing on comprehension is limited and relies on you remembering things that do not matter.

By richard p

Dec 31, 2019

Some of the course material in week 1 in regards to setting up and using the IBM cloud lite account has changed and no longer matches what it actually looks like. It took a while to conduct some research and get past this hurdle.

By Muhammad A W

May 13, 2020

the course was good and gave me a basic understanding of what data scientists are and how they generally approach a problem. it could've been extended to a little practical side of this field, but still am happy with the content.

By Vyom G

Feb 9, 2019

I liked it and it was a great motivation for me towards Data Science. Although the course did not gave any implementation details nor any programming or mathematics tutorial but was more for motivation and guiding the way ahead.

By Steve C

Jul 3, 2020

Would have liked a bit less music. Speakers were good. The university professors were comfortable in front of the camera and were well-spoken.

There was one instance, I think in Week 3, where the translation was completely off.

By Gencal Y

Apr 19, 2020

It is so basic course and some materials should be fixed (some videos have inappropriate subtitle for example).

On the other hand, it gives what is offering. You can learn exactly what is data science and what data scientist do.

By Jonathan P

Dec 16, 2021

I found the course content to be good, but I've put 4 stars as I felt the questions in the "final exam" were relatively trivial in the sense that I don't believe they accurately represented the learning outcomes of the course.

By Somessh B

Jul 23, 2020

Material is good however, some of the documents referred to are old in time and relevance. Fox example, document mentioning demand of data scientist gave predictions for 2018. Hence, these documents are at least 4-5 years old.

By Sergio R

Mar 17, 2020

Introducción a la ciencia de datos de una manera somera. Alguna información es relevante, como la clasificación y las herramientas, así como las habilidades y conocimientos necesarios para hacer correctamente uso de los datos.

By Claire H

Aug 30, 2018

The course is perfunctory for introducing the field to newcomers. Pacing is a little slower than I'd like. I enjoyed the focus on curiosity, social skills and storytelling as integral components of a successful data scientist.

By Tyler K P

Sep 3, 2020

Good introduction to Data Science. Gives a very in-depth perspective on what the day to day life of a data scientist looks like. Also provides examples of attributes and skills which will be helpful to future data scientists.

By Naveen A

Mar 7, 2020

It very crisply introduce you to the world of data science. I personally like the reference material they have followed in the course. Thank you and looking forward to complete all other related course to this specialisation.