Chevron Left
Back to Advanced Valuation and Strategy - M&A, Private Equity, and Venture Capital

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Advanced Valuation and Strategy - M&A, Private Equity, and Venture Capital by Erasmus University Rotterdam

4.6
stars
908 ratings
261 reviews

About the Course

Hi and welcome to this course! Would you like to learn about the latest valuation methods that may help you to make better business decisions? Then 'Advanced Valuation and Strategy – M&A, Private Equity, and Venture Capital' by Erasmus University Rotterdam is the right course for you! This course is helpful for executives that need to value complete strategies and for all students interested in corporate finance and strategy. We present the latest tools and show you how to apply them! We will revolutionize your way of decision making, by extending static techniques from corporate finance with dynamic methods to quantify strategic thinking. Traditionally, we assess the attractiveness of an investment as a mature business, where future cash flows mainly result from past decisions. But, in an ever-changing world, strategic decisions determine the firm’s long-term success and market value. Yet managers often have to consider these long-term implications using intuition and experience alone, with little guidance from structured, quantitative analysis. Our treatment goes far beyond the use of standard valuation analysis. We introduce the expanded NPV, which brings together DCF, real options, and game theory. Thinking in terms of options, games, and adaptive strategies may help managers address strategic questions such as: How do you value a leveraged buyout? How can you value a high-tech venture with negative cash flows? When should you invest in new ventures in stages? How can you incorporate rival bidders in the analysis? The tools we provide can improve your decisions in business and in daily life. * Who is this class for? We hope that our course appeals to (graduate) students in finance, economics, and business, as well as to high-ranking professionals and a general audience. This course is particularly interesting for venture capitalists, private equity investors, investment bankers, CEOs, CFOs, and those who aspire these affiliations. We offer this MOOC at 3 levels: 1.Executive Summary: This 1-week module provides critical insights into the principles of corporate valuation and strategy. This is accessible for time-constrained executives and the general audience without any prior knowledge. 2. Student Level: This level involves an understanding of the technical details. This level requires basic knowledge of concepts in corporate finance, e.g., the time value of money, financial statement analysis, capital structure, and the relation between risk and returns. Learners of this level can skip week 1. 3. Honors Level (honors certificate): This level is challenging, engaging, and compelling to an intellectually rigorous student....

Top reviews

AS
May 18, 2020

Boosts your up-to-date understanding of how strategy and valuation come together. It helped me better understand my PE clients' buy & build strategies from a growth option valuation perspective.

TF
Feb 27, 2020

Demanding at times but overall one of the better courses that make you think before you have to answer. I also enjoyed the ability to do some extra work if you are into honorable certificate.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 263 Reviews for Advanced Valuation and Strategy - M&A, Private Equity, and Venture Capital

By LUIS F A E

Sep 10, 2020

It's a course that teaches you a lot, but you need previous knowledge in valuation, option and game theory. The course basically tells you how to combine them

By Rohit M

Jun 16, 2020

Good course but for a beginner, it's hard to understand the real options theory concept and game theory. More videos to be added to make it beginner-friendly.

By Anne B H

Oct 4, 2021

Very interesting MOOC, some questions were not so clear in my opinion.

Full answers would have been nice (may be because i was not familiar with the subject).

By Álvaro R R

Apr 15, 2020

Very useful the first half of the course, as it is very practical.

It is maybe too theoretical the second half of the course.

Overall, 100% recommended.

By Sandra Q

Oct 6, 2018

A course that goes beyond the standard finance courses in explaining what practices are used in valuations of different types of companies/industries.

By Camilo E S C

May 23, 2020

Such an excellent course! only aspect I would change is that the quizzes that require calculation must have an excel sheet

By Seyed A J A

Aug 30, 2021

EVERYTHING WAS GOOD BUT IF IT HAD A GOOD SLIDES AND SOURCES TO FOCUS MORE ON THE CONTENT, IT WOULD BE EXCELENT

By José M E P

Apr 25, 2021

The accent of the professor is sometimes hard to understand. However, it is a very interesting course overall.

By Jatin N

Dec 7, 2019

Very interesting and challenging. But the value additions point of view, it is highly recommended.

By Piet J G

Apr 26, 2020

Maybe reconsider the rounding mechanism in the quizzes. All in all great content, learned a lot.

By Marat K

Dec 3, 2020

Oftentimes, the certificate quizzes were way too distant from the content of the course itself.

By Dali S

Dec 27, 2019

unique subject ... excellent graphics ... Pr's accent difficult to understand sometimes

By Parisa E

Jul 18, 2020

the course was good but it could have been better if more real examples were embedded!

By Javier J V

Apr 29, 2021

A highly interested method to consider a company value beyond the free cash flow NPV

By Fernando S

Mar 1, 2021

I think it is great for having a broad view of what advanced corporate finance is.

By Ulf L

May 14, 2019

Really well strucntured vourse that goes well beyond mere DCF analysis.

By Mat J

Nov 17, 2020

Perhaps you include some form of spreadsheet based learning tools.

By Luis R N

Jun 15, 2020

Really useful when it comes to valuation and investment decisions.

By Ajeet K

May 17, 2020

It is a good course but concepts should be elaborated more clearly

By Raúl I S D

Jun 7, 2021

Great course.

By Daniel G

Jul 21, 2020

Too rushed

By Alexander W S

Mar 24, 2021

Han Smith is very difficult to understand in English, even with the subtitles it took some re watching to understand what point was being made. Additionally compared to other finance courses offered by LMU and Yale, this course was more about testing your math and excel skills vs. actually understanding the content. I felt like only about half of what was on the credential quiz was covered in the videos and readings and this required some outside research and studying to actually pass the quiz and understand the content which I did not experience with other courses.

By Christian M

Aug 11, 2020

The animated videos as well as those with professor Han Smith were quite good and fun to watch. Sometimes the calculations were a bit difficult to follow, especially on a smaller device (iPad), but it's ok for an advanced course. What I didn't like so much was the overall structure - some things seem to be repeated randomly, not only from the introduction in part 1. Other topics seemed to pop up in quizes or discussions first time, and I found it difficult to navigate to the corresponding video to digest it again.

By Carl F

Aug 26, 2020

While the course provides a great alternative perspective on investment decisions, the course structure could use some improvement. At times, there key pieces of information missing for quizzes. Moreover, it also occurs frequently that there are multiple topics in the exams that have not been touched upon during the course. Overall, this course is interesting, but be aware that a fair amount of previous knowledge is required.