Chevron Left
Back to Arctic Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Arctic Development by University of Alberta

4.6
stars
37 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to Arctic: Development! In this third in a series of Arctic MOOCs, brought to you by a unique partnership between the University of Alberta and UiT The Arctic University of Norway, we will be exploring regional development in a changing arctic. In this 4-week course, you will investigate the role that natural resources play across the Indigenous, Nordic, Russian and North American Arctics, different strategies for resource management in different regions, and how these affect community planning and development efforts in an increasingly populated part of the world. We'll also see how climate change is dramatically impacting the Arctic, and examine a number of adaptations that different arctic communities are implementing to combat rapid, climate-influenced change. By the end of this course, you will have an idea of the opportunities presented to and difficulties faced by members of northern communities, and gain an understanding of just what regional development looks like in a changing Arctic....

Top reviews

DH

Apr 29, 2021

Excellent content and the Instructors were well versed in the history and geography of the Arctic regions. A refreshing approach to an important region of the earths northern exposures.

CA

Mar 23, 2022

Excellent, concise, and great foundational points to begin the journey of understanding Arctic Development! Thankyou!

Filter by:

1 - 14 of 14 Reviews for Arctic Development

By David G

Dec 20, 2021

This Artic Development class provides outstanding videos to learn more about Arctic cultures, and strategies to address climate change in the Arctic, which is a "canary in the coal mine" for rising temperatures and their impacts on the environment and our living spaces. I really appreciate all of the University of Alberta professors who prepared and presented this valuable coursework. Thanks so much.

By Daniele C

Dec 13, 2021

The course of the course is wonderful! It provides students with high-level learning, with highly qualified teachers. This course opened up a range of possibilities in my career and an immeasurable wealth of learning about Atticus.

By Dwight H

Apr 30, 2021

Excellent content and the Instructors were well versed in the history and geography of the Arctic regions. A refreshing approach to an important region of the earths northern exposures.

By Candice A

Mar 24, 2022

Excellent, concise, and great foundational points to begin the journey of understanding Arctic Development! Thankyou!

By Erin E

Jul 7, 2022

Very informative! I have lived in the Arctic for many years, and did not know most of these things.

By Sheri L M

Jun 4, 2021

Very good introduction to the impact of climate change, development and future of the Arctic!

By Yanis Y

Aug 11, 2022

Very interesting and captivating on this region so strategic and crucial for our future !

By marco r

Jul 25, 2022

It gave a lot of information about the Arctic region and its development.

By Monica R

Aug 13, 2021

I liked the content, the pace of speech and explanatory media.

By ROBERT M

Sep 12, 2022

GREAT COURSE!!

By michael p

Sep 12, 2022

I would like to give a 5 star rating to this course but the poor quality of many of the quizzes makes that impossible.I

noticed the following problems:

(a) There are MANY typos in the quiz questions---these range from sentences which make no sense to misspelling. Routine editing is needed.

(b)In several quizzes questions are asked based on material covered in Later sections of the course.

(c) In one quiz the same question is asked twice.

Also strange is that the instructors named for this course only give one or two of the lectures.

By Jimmy C

Oct 2, 2021

Very interesting topics, as Arctic issues are great reference to many development projects around the globe. Thanks the course team for the great sharing! However, the course contents are a bit vague and general, since the instructors mainly focus on concepts.

It would be helpful if mentioning more cases. or focusing on fewer countries (instead of covering all Arctic regions)

By Isaac G

Jun 4, 2022

The quizzes had one or two incorect answers and a few confusing questions with improper wording/grammer. Additionally 1 video's audio was silent for the first 15 seconds. However on the whole I greatly enjoyed this course!

By Joel T

Mar 12, 2022

Very good course