Chevron Left
Back to Arctic Economy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Arctic Economy by University of Alberta

4.7
stars
61 ratings

About the Course

Arctic communities have diverse histories and roles in local, regional and global economies. However, the scope and scale of globalization has increased so quickly that vulnerable Arctic communities are facing new kinds of challenges to their survival. In this 3-week MOOC, a unique collaboration between the University of Alberta and UiT The Arctic University of Norway, you will investigate the challenges faced by Indigenous, North American, Russian and Nordic Arctic communities in a modern world. So join us as we venture above the 60th parallel North, and explore how these fascinating communities adjust to change while maintaining their ways of life, socio-economic histories, and cultural traditions....

Top reviews

DJ

May 3, 2021

It is a well designed course which explains the economy and geography of the area very nicely. It has rekindled my interest in the arctic area, especially the indigenous communities.

BU

Nov 1, 2022

i would wish to come and do masters with the institute but then financial problems may not support me thanks for this free courses

Filter by:

1 - 24 of 24 Reviews for Arctic Economy

By Wally W

Feb 9, 2021

I found this course very informative with respect to understanding the Arctic social and environmental demands necessary for the local inhabitants to sustain their cultural values and ways while accommodating the demands of mining and gas and oil exploration and development.

By Janel D

Jan 17, 2021

This course provided an introductory overview of Arctic economies and offered a glimpse into arctic communities, the impacts of globalization and sustainable development The course outline was easy to navigate, and goals/outcomes clearly set forth. If you are interested in learning more about arctic communities I would highly recommend this course

By Brenda M

Feb 22, 2021

I gained new information and knowledge about all the Arctic regions. I realize this was just an introductory course and now will be interested to find out more and be more aware.

By Emma B

Jan 15, 2021

Gives a history of globalization in the Arctic, and presents some indigenous views regarding it. Unfortunately, there is not a lot about indigenous cultural values and despite the fact it talks about the importance of listening to and respecting the values of others it does not usually show both sides of the argument on e.g. the reasons some conservationists campaigned against polar bear hunts for tourists, or commercial fur production and whaling. Some facts are also wrong, for example the presenter claims that polar bear populations are not in decline.

By michael p

Sep 28, 2022

This is the best of the three Arctic MOOCs from U of Alberta and I enjoyed it very much---but it could still be better. As at least one other reviewer mentioned some of the quizzes had iffy answers---and question one of the final noncredit quiz was genuinely annoying---but at least these quizzes didn't have the typos found in the other MOOCs.

Also the speakers were very good but I don't believe were ever identified---as with other U of Alberta MOOCS the advertised speakers were not the ones actually presenting the lectures.

So 4.5 stars rounded up to 5.

By LILI

Sep 29, 2022

It was a very good course, which made me understand the importance of the Arctic economy to the global economy. Learn about each major region of the Arctic and explore human, cultural, geographical, historical, economic and political organizations. Explore how Arctic society seeks environmental, cultural and social sustainability while participating in the global process, as well as the three kinds of knowledge we need to develop.

By Sandra G

Aug 2, 2022

Extremely interesting and sunstantive. I can't believe I knew so little about the other areas of the arctic such as in Northern Russia, Sweden Finland and the Faroe Islands. Thank you so much for making this ocurse free. As a retired person, I truly appreciate your university and your staff who offer this course.

By Tara S

Aug 14, 2021

Hello, That was fantastic. I really enjoyed this course, the history and instruction. This is my 2nd course. i also completed Indigenous Canada. Another course offered and truly enjoyed. #everychildmatters

Tara Scott London, On. canada.

By Dipesh J

May 4, 2021

It is a well designed course which explains the economy and geography of the area very nicely. It has rekindled my interest in the arctic area, especially the indigenous communities.

By ines p b

Nov 8, 2022

very interesting,I have no idea of the real situation of the people who live in the Arctic and the importance of this economy in our world

By BOB J U

Nov 2, 2022

i would wish to come and do masters with the institute but then financial problems may not support me thanks for this free courses

By Daniela C

Sep 17, 2022

I loved it, super interesting to learn about the arctic. and I share 100% the conclusion of the teacher. thanks for sharing story

By John T R

Aug 22, 2021

I found this course very intersting and iknformative Highly recommended

By Robert G C

Mar 11, 2023

Very Informative

By HOSSAM H

Jan 8, 2021

It's amazing

By Richard S

May 18, 2022

Good

By Elisabeth R

Jun 8, 2021

I found this course very interesting and increased my knowledge of the Arctic and its economies. I have taken the Indigenous Canada course previously and have the same citicism of both. When the subject matter touches upon education, please note that many univiersties in Canada hold open places for Indigenous students across Canada. I learned this while living in Yellowknife. Also, there are many incentives for the students from northern Canada who attend university in the "south" to return home. I think we would all do well to remember that the Roman Catholic and Anglican churches are more responsible for residential schools than politicians. This was a wonderful course for capturing the world's north and I thoroghly enjoyed it. Keep these coming!

By Erin E

Jul 8, 2022

A few quiz questions had the wrong answer as "correct" (ex, in quiz 2 there was two - I live in the Arctic, and knew the answers so I went back and checked in the material when I got them incorrect, and the material showed I had selected the correct answer). Perhaps a technical glitch? Was able to re-do the quiz without penalty so it wasn't a big deal, just annoying. Overall, I learned a lot during this course!! Transcripts were challenging to read for videos (if that is what you like to do), but the material was good.

By Packard F

May 17, 2021

The instructors both made clear and easily understood presentations. The chronological home rule order test question seemed arbitrary and offered no real world value. (and yes I missed it!)

By Murray L

Jul 23, 2022

Great information. Thank you for putting this together - one of the most important topics of our modern era.

By Mabel L

Aug 22, 2022

I was unfamilar withhistory as related to the artic

By Tracy F

Aug 5, 2021

This course didnt have course notes to read for those who need to read to review notes before the test This course only supports learners that can succeed with watching and listening learning skills.

By Jo A H

Apr 4, 2021

The instructor needs to deliver the information in a more interesting way. It seemed as though she was simply reading. Also - speaking too quickly.

By Omkar M 2

Jun 3, 2021

seemed little haste. But overall a lot of things learnt in few time