Chevron Left
Back to Basic Statistics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Basic Statistics by University of Amsterdam

4.6
stars
3,914 ratings
985 reviews

About the Course

Understanding statistics is essential to understand research in the social and behavioral sciences. In this course you will learn the basics of statistics; not just how to calculate them, but also how to evaluate them. This course will also prepare you for the next course in the specialization - the course Inferential Statistics. In the first part of the course we will discuss methods of descriptive statistics. You will learn what cases and variables are and how you can compute measures of central tendency (mean, median and mode) and dispersion (standard deviation and variance). Next, we discuss how to assess relationships between variables, and we introduce the concepts correlation and regression. The second part of the course is concerned with the basics of probability: calculating probabilities, probability distributions and sampling distributions. You need to know about these things in order to understand how inferential statistics work. The third part of the course consists of an introduction to methods of inferential statistics - methods that help us decide whether the patterns we see in our data are strong enough to draw conclusions about the underlying population we are interested in. We will discuss confidence intervals and significance tests. You will not only learn about all these statistical concepts, you will also be trained to calculate and generate these statistics yourself using freely available statistical software....

Top reviews

PG
Apr 20, 2016

This is a nice course...thanks for providing such a great content from University of Amserdam.\n\nPlease allow us to complete the course as I have to wait till the session starts for week 2 lessions.

DA
Jan 28, 2021

great course with good videos and examples. Very good course for learning the basic statistics. Unfortunately the week 3 is the most misunderstanding module, nevertheless very good and understanding

Filter by:

826 - 850 of 970 Reviews for Basic Statistics

By Noorida R

Jun 18, 2017

Great course! However, for the final exam, it was difficult to review which question was answered correct or incorrect.

By Ahmed O

May 11, 2019

perfect course need to be supported with some free material, even those explained as presentations or PDFs. Thanks.

By S M A K S

Sep 13, 2020

Statistics was my weak area. But this course made it easy for me. I think I can study some deep part of statistics

By Nguemeni C

May 24, 2016

Excellent course and well taught by both instructors. 4 stars because of the lack of feedback on quizzes and exam.

By Maria D A C

Feb 21, 2016

So far a very nice course, well explained and clear enough to be followed even by non mathematicians. Well done!

By Shreya G

Feb 11, 2016

It's wonderful how teacher have broken down each and every concept. Examples helps in clearing the concept well.

By Sherif N M A E

Mar 3, 2019

The terminologies make it a bit hard to understand for foreign students but the hands-on with R is really good.

By Gaurav M

Oct 15, 2016

There should be some case study to feel real time scenario. As far as the content is concern its perfect.

Thanks

By Megan W

Oct 23, 2017

Challenging, (for someone who has never taken statistics!) but this course was well done and very helpful

By Salvatore C

Feb 19, 2017

Nice and well done. Teachers are very clear in explaining concepts and examples are useful and helpful.

By Saloni G

Sep 13, 2020

this course was really helpful and informative for my studies. learning R was extremely helpful too.

By JYOTIRMAI G

May 18, 2020

It was good learning and experience with the R-lab tools.Got some idea about it as it was new to me.

By khirod s

Jan 4, 2020

Probability chapter content needs to be improved as it is pretty much abstract & hard to understand.

By Deleted A

Jun 7, 2017

Great class. Would be helpful if there were explanations for incorrect quiz and final exam answers.

By Matthew �

Feb 15, 2021

In the lab, you could get the right answer but not get credit, because you did it a different way.

By Ricardo H S d S C

Jan 1, 2017

I liked the course, nonetheless I liked we had previous exercises to prepare to each evaluation.

By Robert J

Aug 4, 2020

sometimes too fast, sometimes too slow

instructors were clear

R tutorials a little less clear

By Lim F F

Sep 22, 2018

Have struggled in this course but learned the basics of statistics, thanks for the lessons..

By Ravitej

Jul 20, 2017

Very nice, thanks a lot to trainers who helped me to get a brief idea on Basic statistics

By Anand L

Aug 2, 2020

The probability chapters could have been explained much more clearly with better examples

By Vibhor B

Oct 22, 2020

Decent learning experience. Would help if the quiz answers contain explanations too

By Altaf G

Jan 24, 2017

Great introduction to statistics presented in a very interesting and engaging way.

By MASKE S H

Sep 16, 2020

Very Hard, But It's made in such a way that you can't leave without completing.

By Piyachart C

Jun 6, 2020

Good describes about statistics but It's good if subtitle has Thai language

By Esraa S

Apr 19, 2016

I would give five stars BUT

I wish that it isn't a must to finish R program.