Chevron Left
Back to Basic Statistics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Basic Statistics by University of Amsterdam

4.6
stars
3,762 ratings
959 reviews

About the Course

Understanding statistics is essential to understand research in the social and behavioral sciences. In this course you will learn the basics of statistics; not just how to calculate them, but also how to evaluate them. This course will also prepare you for the next course in the specialization - the course Inferential Statistics. In the first part of the course we will discuss methods of descriptive statistics. You will learn what cases and variables are and how you can compute measures of central tendency (mean, median and mode) and dispersion (standard deviation and variance). Next, we discuss how to assess relationships between variables, and we introduce the concepts correlation and regression. The second part of the course is concerned with the basics of probability: calculating probabilities, probability distributions and sampling distributions. You need to know about these things in order to understand how inferential statistics work. The third part of the course consists of an introduction to methods of inferential statistics - methods that help us decide whether the patterns we see in our data are strong enough to draw conclusions about the underlying population we are interested in. We will discuss confidence intervals and significance tests. You will not only learn about all these statistical concepts, you will also be trained to calculate and generate these statistics yourself using freely available statistical software....

Top reviews

PG
Apr 20, 2016

This is a nice course...thanks for providing such a great content from University of Amserdam.\n\nPlease allow us to complete the course as I have to wait till the session starts for week 2 lessions.

DA
Jan 28, 2021

great course with good videos and examples. Very good course for learning the basic statistics. Unfortunately the week 3 is the most misunderstanding module, nevertheless very good and understanding

Filter by:

751 - 775 of 939 Reviews for Basic Statistics

By Peter Z

Dec 31, 2020

Overall well done. The clarity of some exam questions could be better. There are lots of typos in the lab-exams. On the formula sheet the formula for computing the regression intercept is a = ybar - b(xbar) making b appear to be a function. The parentheses should be removed.

By James R

Jul 18, 2018

Great course to learn or review the basics of stats; it won't satisfy you if you're looking for mathematical proofs and derivations. That said, it does a surprisingly good job of teaching the statistical method without the proofs, and that may be just what many people want.

By Shilpa H

Mar 9, 2020

This is a fantastic course for beginners. The course has covered all basic concepts in levels that are easily understandable. I felt that they could have touched upon chi square test as well. Also, I wouldn'd mind 1-2 extra videos per week to go in depth of some concepts.

By Sree N

Oct 9, 2019

The majority of the course is super helpful in understanding Basic Stats. The only critique is that the advice/hints given in R-Lab are extremely unhelpful most of the time. Aside from this I recommend this course to anyone wanting a basic understanding of statistics .

By Suzanne D

Aug 22, 2019

I did not want to learn R as part of this course. It added work that was not necessary as I am proficient with a different program already. I was just interested in the information on the stats themselves and the R did not add value. It should be optional for all labs.

By Swapnil J

Mar 19, 2016

I really enjoyed attending this course and recommended it to my colleagues and friends who want to learn basic statistics. They have tried their best to make it more intuitive with some interesting examples and make the learning somewhat fun. kudos to the entire team!

By Analytics M

Oct 17, 2016

Though it was mentioned that this course is for beginners without too much of statistics background, I still feel, some decent background is required to take up this course, particularly the Inference part.

Otherwise, the course is pretty good and commendable.

By Philip A E L

Jun 26, 2020

Loved this class and it's very close to 5-star.

Some of the quiz questions were a little wonky and it's hard to get that information to you. I wish the little flag button reported to you instead of Coursera who doesn't want to pass on information to you.

By Chutian Z

Apr 4, 2020

i'm in favor of courses that are taught in a more serious (rather than funny). In addition, the instructor goes too fast at the confidence interval and hypothesis testing parts, which coincidentally are the most difficult sections of the whole course.

By Hannah D

Feb 1, 2021

Thank you for the great content!

Some feedbacks I have are - detailed explanations on the questions after passing the test would have been helpful. And having an online IDE to practice R on quiz or tests would have been fun - projects even better!

By R

Nov 2, 2017

I loved this course i.e. the delivery and the content! However, using R was a bit complex but I was glad to be introduced to this software. More importantly, I actually understand the concepts of basic statistics now.

Thanks very much guys:-)

By John P M

Dec 10, 2020

The course is great. The videos lectures are educative. However, I did not expect to do statistics and coding at the same time. I was a bit shocked and it seriously drained me (because I am not good at coding) but it was a fun experience.

By Eric W

Mar 27, 2020

Good course. The instructors are strong and easy to listen to during the lectures/videos. I think sometimes in the R lab exercises, the syntax is challenging and distracts from the concept being covered. Overall - a very good course.

By Ronel A

Oct 1, 2018

The course content and videos were very good (and entertaining!), but the forum questions should have been answered more frequently. I also highly recommend using a Statistics textbook in collaboration with this course.

By David S

Jun 14, 2018

I'd give this a 3.5/5, but I guess I'll round up. Professor Rooduijn did a good job. Professor van Loon was much harder to follow. While most of the teaching was fun and helpful, I wasn't a huge fan of the R lab.

By MBWE M A H

Nov 9, 2020

I could have note 4 stars but no one is perfect except mothernature. More seriously I highly recommend this course for those who need a strong basis in stat. This course is just perfect, thanks to the professors

By Xiong W

May 25, 2018

Pretty good overall arrangement of the topics and materials. But there are some problems with the content details. Overall it's a good course for somebody who is new to the subject or wants to refresh it.

By Zaid I P

Jun 11, 2019

Taking up this course helped me get a crystal clear understanding of the statistics concepts. I would recommend this course to anyone who is trying to learn the basic concepts of statistics. Cheers!

By Sam H

Aug 18, 2019

Videos were good, quizzes were good at assessing knowledge. Didn't like the tool for answering question in R. Would much rather they just had you install R and RStudio and complete questions there.

By BISSAI R G

May 3, 2018

Un cours simple, bien structure, bien redige et enseigne avec une pedagogie adaptee. Je le recommande vivement a tous ceux qui veulent acquerir et comprendre les notions de bases de la statistique

By Yasar M

Apr 10, 2019

It is not possible to revise the course by reading transcripts only. One has to go through all the videos. Otherwise, it is a very good course and explained in a very simple and easy manner.

By Marina K

Mar 21, 2021

Excellent course on basic statistics. The instructors are good and have done much to make it simpler. However, I would have appreciated more worked out examples along with the transcripts.

By Renee W

Apr 10, 2020

This course was tought but it taught me basic statistics and how to use R. If you have never used thia programme before it might take a lot of time and perseverence, but I do recommend it.

By John N

Jan 25, 2019

took the free option. It has been good so far, learning a ton. I find the videos move quickly and after watching them I had to re-read the material, overall i would recommend this course.

By Amanda B R

Aug 28, 2017

Very Good course. I was pretty much satisfied.

R-lab can be improved and better explanations to help us on the test could have been given (after not passing the first time, for example).