Chevron Left
Back to Bioinformatics: Introduction and Methods 生物信息学: 导论与方法

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bioinformatics: Introduction and Methods 生物信息学: 导论与方法 by Peking University

4.4
stars
198 ratings
56 reviews

About the Course

A big welcome to “Bioinformatics: Introduction and Methods” from Peking University! In this MOOC you will become familiar with the concepts and computational methods in the exciting interdisciplinary field of bioinformatics and their applications in biology, the knowledge and skills in bioinformatics you acquired will help you in your future study and research. Course materials are available under the CC BY-NC-SA License....

Top reviews

SM
Aug 17, 2021

That was quit different manner of course in means of quizzes but much informative and great for basic learner specially coursera provide help to cross and understand the language barrior distance

JS
Feb 10, 2020

Advanced technical course. Please also help design courses regarding bioinformatics concepts, applications and tools needed for biology students. Thank you.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 53 Reviews for Bioinformatics: Introduction and Methods 生物信息学: 导论与方法

By Jessica M

May 24, 2020

The course was overall good, but seems to be aimed more towards students with a background in computer science rather than biology - the parts on algorithms were fairly in depth (for me at least) whereas the genetics/biological aspect was quite basic. It was good for learning about how the algorithms actually work, the methods behind them, but didn't have a very practical aspect.

Also, some of the links in the quizzes and exams don't work, making it difficult to complete the questions well.

By Janani K

Feb 11, 2020

Advanced technical course. Please also help design courses regarding bioinformatics concepts, applications and tools needed for biology students. Thank you.

By Wambui K

Dec 16, 2018

The course has given me a great way to learn Bioinformatics. I especially loved the mode of teaching and the case studies.

By Juliana P

Jan 14, 2020

Great course! It would be nicer if the questions with multiple answers had less choices. Some of them are not clear.

By Jurat S

Sep 13, 2016

great course for bioinformatic lovers

By Ling L

Oct 10, 2019

This course is extremely useful and has inspired me to continue to learn bioinformatics. Both context and practice presentation are concise and understandable.

By Zhu T

Mar 7, 2018

this is a good course from china

By Николай С

Apr 10, 2020

I'm glad that I have enrolled this MOOC. Several month ago I have remembered my school interest - a molecular genetics. I decided to search something about technical and biological aspect of the subject. And if biological aspects were covered by books, the tech - wasn't. So I was looking for an introduction to bioinformatics and choosing between several courses. I needed in wide overview of modern issues, sources (DBs and scientific journals) and problems. The course covers all of them (including some journals like jmb, which I read know). I resolved questions for my self and now, I am able to move next and deeper in specific question. it is "old school" long classic course, in my case it is ideal match.However, course is not support by anyone. The forum is dead (at least 3 yeas). Absolutely awful midterm and final exams. Their tasks are not covered by lectures, don't educated you. Some of them even out-of-date and can't solved (especially in final exam). So even after you guessing answer - you still don't understand why it is correct (forum is dead, remember?). The most number of sections has supplemental reading - reference to original papers, but course doesn't offer any access to the papers and not all of them could be found at sci-hub or exist in open access, so you are not able to read them (unless you a re ready to spend 10+ usd for each). Many supplemental videos are in chines with eng. subtitles with too high speed of speech, so you are not able to read it. Some of them it is recorded student presentations, don't think they were made for the course.

By Sufiyan M

Aug 17, 2021

That was quit different manner of course in means of quizzes but much informative and great for basic learner specially coursera provide help to cross and understand the language barrior distance

By Oscar N N V

Mar 7, 2019

Es un exelent curso y muy completo para todas las personas que queremos introducirnos hacia la bioinformatica

By Sajid A

Aug 23, 2020

Very lengthy but worth the time spent on this as you dive in more detail as the weeks pass.

By 戚新明

Sep 4, 2016

Informative!

By Nick

Mar 3, 2016

挺不错的,讲得比较容易懂

By 孙仁凤

Mar 23, 2020

很实用,很有帮助

By 陈思思

Nov 26, 2017

很好,逻辑清晰。

By Jason Z

May 3, 2018

the first part is very good for beginners but not so good in later parts

By Mo A

May 15, 2020

I think its a very useful course and I definitely learnt a lot. They cover gene alignment, transcriptomics, identify potential databases/tools for searches too. However, the course is very theoretical and more angled towards computational specialists rather than pure biologists. It's a difficult balance to achieve admittedly.

By Carlos U P M

May 20, 2020

Lectures consists of videos where the instructor just reads from a script, even repeating himself (literally the same sentence) and making strange pauses. This is for me the main drawback, that really kills the motivation of studying the subject. Many concepts used are not properly explained but otherwise assumed, so external documentation is somewhat essential if one wants to understand what is going on. Also when explaining certain methods (e.g. HMM), I missed the relation with the previous topics. Overall a very sloppy course with much room for improvement.

By Uzair M k

Jun 8, 2020

The contents of the course are outdated and there were a lot of troubles understanding the accent and notions.

By 刘诗博

Aug 1, 2019

Perfect lesson givem by Peking University! It involves the advanced technology and databases for us to searching informations. This lesson will surely help me a lot in future study.

By Mansour S

May 22, 2021

The course met all my expectations. The expanations of Prof. Liping Wei and Ge Gao were very clear. I was able to discover a lot of notions and methods on Bioinformatics.

By Amaradeepa S

Aug 8, 2021

It was a very interesting course and opened up novel and new ways one can think for finding the predictable and the unpredictable properties.

By Eréndira d l F M

Jun 24, 2021

M​uy buen curso. Los examenes se pueden mejora en estructura.

By Nivine C

Oct 13, 2021

Thanks you for your efforts in this interesting course

By Miyssa I A M

Feb 23, 2021

I think its the best MOOC I have ever enrolled at.