Chevron Left
Back to Build Basic Generative Adversarial Networks (GANs)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Build Basic Generative Adversarial Networks (GANs) by DeepLearning.AI

4.7
stars
1,180 ratings
293 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will: - Learn about GANs and their applications - Understand the intuition behind the fundamental components of GANs - Explore and implement multiple GAN architectures - Build conditional GANs capable of generating examples from determined categories The DeepLearning.AI Generative Adversarial Networks (GANs) Specialization provides an exciting introduction to image generation with GANs, charting a path from foundational concepts to advanced techniques through an easy-to-understand approach. It also covers social implications, including bias in ML and the ways to detect it, privacy preservation, and more. Build a comprehensive knowledge base and gain hands-on experience in GANs. Train your own model using PyTorch, use it to create images, and evaluate a variety of advanced GANs. This Specialization provides an accessible pathway for all levels of learners looking to break into the GANs space or apply GANs to their own projects, even without prior familiarity with advanced math and machine learning research....

Top reviews

MS
Oct 10, 2020

great course, only teaching what's needed, doesn't push you a lot in the coding assignments, as much as it requires you much more work to understand the codes and the science behind it.

DP
Oct 6, 2020

Excellent course. The videos were a pleasure to watch, the assignments were clear and allowed you to go as shallow or as in depth as you desired, and the mentors were very helpful.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 296 Reviews for Build Basic Generative Adversarial Networks (GANs)

By Maciej A

Oct 11, 2020

Awesome!

By Ms. N A A

Dec 24, 2020

Thanks

By Adarsh J

Jul 27, 2021

Good

By jiangli

Jan 11, 2021

nice

By Martin J

Nov 23, 2020

An excellent course to bring one up to speed with current developments in GANs. Quite a bit of reading around the subject, in addition to the references provided, is necessary, particularly if you are new to using pytorch or python. But the accompanying Slack support is a life line.

I think this course is even more effective if you have the basics and want to review your state of knowledge and get a bit deeper in to the subject. Otherwise (particularly if you are fitting this in to your other activities), regard the time estimates for the assignments as wildly optimistic: multiply by 150% and use the next highter time unit.

But don't let that put you off, GANs aren't easy whichever way you look at them (unless you invented them)

By Jonathan R

Jul 24, 2021

G​reat material so far, the lecture videos are clear and concise. And (most) of the reasoning behind the mathematics and decisions are explained, so you would ideally be able to then go and engineer your own ideas and understand why you make the decisions you do. The addition of extended learning resources was also useful (e.g. published papers) - I would love to see more of this kind of teaching, where the lessons equip you to be able to read, understand and implement material from research papers. Since deep learning is (still) an extremely active field of research, every practitioner needs to have the tools available to keep learning and understanding

By AhmedAbdel-Aal

Oct 15, 2020

The course is a great introduction to GANs. The explanation was simple and to point and the slides are great with the key points in the first few seconds and also with the summary at the end. However, there are some points that I did not like throughout the course. 1- some concepts that need to be well disgusted are just thrown in a 2 min video, and no matter how I repeat that video, I still can't get it because it is not so intuitive, so some points need more explanation ex: Wasserstein loss. 2- The assignments were not so helpful, I guess you should let the learner to code more than that.

By Vinayak N

Oct 21, 2020

The course is pretty awesome for a beginner who is trying to understand the world of GANs. It provides a good deal of theory lectures and inspires the need for GANs by showing the areas in which they're used with examples.

The exercises, although good aren't sufficient; in the sense we're only required to tweak a very small amount of code and the boilerplate for most code is given. But the exercises as a whole are really cool!

By Sami D

Oct 12, 2020

Great lectures and exercises in "digestible portions". The course explained the GAN basics first and then built upon that base knowledge in a gentle and well though way. You always think that by just reading papers and reviewing reference implementations you can master some new ML-area, but this kind of course is so much more fun with materials, community and support.

By Jeremy S

Mar 19, 2021

This course is great view into GANs. The lectures often briefly review the basics of topics like neural nets or convolutions, yet still offer advanced (optional) lessons and journal articles to read.

I rated 4 stars instead of 5 because I could not find printable/PDF notes for the course, unlike some other courses.

By Yijie X

Nov 24, 2020

Sharon does a great job of teaching concepts, and the course follows well from the Deep Learning Specialization. You will find that while the code exercises start out facile, you will require some help on the Slack channel, almost no code support is given in course (in contrast to Nanodegree programs).

By Sandeep W

Oct 4, 2020

I think this is a bit too basic, there are some areas where i believe some more maths and theory might be appropriate. IE specifically the video section prior to W4B programming exercise with the latent z space manipulation to target disentanglement of features.

By GAURAV A

Oct 7, 2020

Good for basic GAN knowledge. Good for Pytorch knowhow, if you are new to it. Concepts are explained in easy to understand way.

More mathematical explanations on probability distributions of real and fake images, Their distances would have been better

By Bob S

Nov 4, 2020

FYI to course creators...

Almost without exception, the correct answer to the quiz questions was the longest answer. I know the quizzes are not graded, nevertheless the consistency of this pattern reduces the value of the quizzes as a learning tool.

By Ibrahim G

Oct 20, 2020

The course was very good, only complaint is that assignment w4b was a little vague, in terms of comments on the code and even the fact that no paper or explanation was offered in the course for in depth implementation of the algorithm.

By Rustem G

Nov 25, 2020

Great material and instructors. Enjoyed watching videos and taking assignments.

Assignments could have been more difficult if we assume most people have taken the deep learning specialization or are familiar with deep learning.

Thanks

By Stijn M

Jan 13, 2021

I love the explanation and what you actually do in this course. However, if I were to use this to evaluate whether a candidate for a job can work with GANs in practice, I think the complexity for passing the exercises is too low.

By Paul M

Oct 15, 2020

Nice material, but the assignments are extremely rudimentary (paint by numbers/fill in the blanks). Perhaps you could provide more advanced (even ungraded, if that's the challenge) assignments for folks that want them?

Thanks

By Debdulal D

Dec 31, 2020

The voice over was pretty fast and hard to understand, so had to do lots of sliding window in video to understand the topics. Otherwise this course is fantastic gateway to understand GAN and it's applicability.

By Cameron M

Oct 6, 2020

Great intro course, the programming assignments were pretty weak in difficulty level, could have had less hand holding there. Excited to get into more high resolution GANs soon!

By Mahmoud T S

Dec 6, 2020

A little lacking in technical knowledge. You just get to build a GAN and understand bits and pieces about why it works in very simple terms, little mathematics involved.

By Deleted A

Oct 16, 2020

Great course to start building GANs.

I wish more math was included. I realize the math behind this is very complex, and not everyone wants to know about that.

By Heinz D

Oct 13, 2020

Great: a motivating teacher and well-structured learning material. It would be cool to provide the slide sets and to eliminate the need to use Slack.

By Rob B

Apr 7, 2021

Excellent example code and assignments. Overall great course, only suggestion but would be adding a little more depth in the lecture topics.

By Jonas B

Dec 2, 2020

Good and quite quick course. Assignments very focused on the innovation of the week, which makes them very short and not very demanding.