Chevron Left
Back to Uncommon Sense Teaching: Part 2, Building Community and Habits of Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Uncommon Sense Teaching: Part 2, Building Community and Habits of Learning by Deep Teaching Solutions

4.9
stars
76 ratings

About the Course

In Part 2 of Uncommon Sense Teaching: Building Community and Habits of Learning, you will explore the following areas more deeply—helping you to connect with the latest insights into research and have fun while you are doing it! • The hidden strengths of neurodiversity: Dyslexia, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, autism, and other syndromes that relate to learning • The value of forgetting • How to use habits formed by the procedural system to help you with classroom management • Judicious use of rewards to motivate students (too many rewards can de-motivate) • How to avoid educational fads • The power of lesson plans This is like no other course on teaching—it weaves late-breaking insights from neuroscience with personal insights from the classroom to provide unexpected, yet practical, new approaches. You’ll discover how to bring out the best from all your students in today’s diverse teaching environment, where students often have a wide range of abilities. Uncommon Sense Teaching will take your teaching to a higher level for whatever subjects you teach, whether math, physics, literature, dance, art, or anything else; and whether you are teaching K-12, university, business, vocational, or at home. Join us today to move into the new era of education!...

Top reviews

CC

Jun 14, 2022

Totally changed the way I viewed online learning. Lots of reviews at the end of each lessons to help me learn. I am so glad I found this course. Really useful for teachers. Thank you! =)

MM

Jun 24, 2022

Once again, well done to the presenters on a sterling course! Loved every minute of it and cannot wait for part 3! The honours assignment really helps to cement the learning.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 32 Reviews for Uncommon Sense Teaching: Part 2, Building Community and Habits of Learning

By Gilberto C

Apr 25, 2022

Uncommon Sense Teaching Part 2 is a very informative course. Thorough study of the course will give you a more understanding at what is really going on in the brain while we learn. Supported by scientific research, which is also included in the course and also in depth books, scientific articles and a lot of supporting material for a deeper understanding of the subject is available. Excellent learning experience for all diversity of students.

By Kay C

May 9, 2022

Such valuable scientific researched information presented in methods that will become part of my procedural thinking. Aplications to everyday teaching provided continuously. Popular teaching methods debunked and successful additions introduced with rationale. So much to think about and immediately apply.

By YK Y

May 7, 2022

Like part I of the Uncommon Sense Teaching, the contents are enlightening but not overwhelming. Beth, Barb, and Terry's teaching styles are lively. Terry has made complex concepts in neurology simple enough to understand and to be applied in our uncommon sense teaching practices.

By Monica M

Jun 25, 2022

Once again, well done to the presenters on a sterling course! Loved every minute of it and cannot wait for part 3! The honours assignment really helps to cement the learning.

By Lynn D

Aug 28, 2022

Excellent & insightful! The instructors were engaging, passionate & intelligent, who provided useful strategies to apply in one's classr.

By Esperanza s

May 5, 2022

The content is very interesting and the course is very well organized. Useful for any level of teaching, I have learned a lot.

By Katherine M K

Jul 15, 2022

.

By Sergio C

May 27, 2022

El contenido del curso es trasmitido de una forma clara, las referencias y las citas de libros son de serias y valiosas.

No es facil decir qué nos trasmitió el curso porque, como todo conocimiento, debe sufrir un proceso de decantamiento, de "digestión", de procesamiento ,cunado se aplica en los diversos campos profesionales en lo cuales se puede aplicar.

Y lo aprendido en este curso es dable de aplicar en el ambito de varias profesiones en las cuales tengamos que interactuar con el "otro" como sujeto de cambio.

By Andres M

Jul 8, 2022

This second part is as interesting and motivating to keep on learning as the firt part of the course. Cannot wait to have the next part available. Congratulations for this excellent and illustrating course and thank you very much to all that made possible for us to have access to this very important and practical information in such a entertaining way, particularly to Barb, Beth and Terry.

By Jana

Dec 24, 2022

Thank you, Barb, Tery and Beth. You taught me how to teach, and helped me to love my profession even more. My mum, who also was a teacher, once told me; a teacher who thinks they have nothing to improve because they already know everything, should leave the teaching profession. I am willing to learn - for the sake of my students, who I am obliged to guide so that they reach their best.

By marta-borbala h

Sep 11, 2022

I really liked this course. I learned a lot from it, which I can apply not only in my work, but also in my personal life. He strengthened me in knowledge and spirit. Thank you very much for the opportunity, I wish good health and successful work to all three instructors.

By Hector V

Jun 7, 2022

Excellent course. I first followed Learning how to learn and asked to my colleagues to study it. Then I followed Uncommon Sense Teaching and definitly I learned a lot. I expect to apply this knowledge at my school. THNKS

By Zareen K

Jul 2, 2022

An excellent course designed by our lecturers who made the topic immensely interesting and easy to remember. Huge heartfelt thanks to dear instructors - Barbara, Beth and Terry.

Definitely recommended course.

By Candicesoh

Jun 15, 2022

Totally changed the way I viewed online learning. Lots of reviews at the end of each lessons to help me learn. I am so glad I found this course. Really useful for teachers. Thank you! =)

By Natalie C

Jul 5, 2022

I really enjoyed this course. Great instructors who broke down the information so clearly so teachers are able to easily use the information in the classrooms. Thank you!

By Patricia N

Dec 15, 2022

excellent overview of neuroscience for learning

with examples

of classroom techniques and implementation strategies

for all types of learners.

By Trang K T

Jul 18, 2022

very interesting and useful course even for non-academic working professional like me. Love it! Thanks for making the course.

By Wolfgang G

May 13, 2022

Really great - as usual! This course is useful also in company environments, where knowledege and learning is important.

By Tom

May 21, 2022

This is a great course, for anyone who wish to accelerate their teaching and learning to the next level!

By Jason K

May 23, 2022

Very Helpful and insightful concerning how we learn and how to get the best out of your students.

By Vicky N

May 11, 2022

Beneficial to all parents who want to help their kids learning better and more happily.

By Sylvia H

Aug 27, 2022

Very interesting, useful and reassuring. It shows how to teach and why.

By Татьяна Т

Jul 1, 2022

Great course with detailed thorough explanations!

By Alberto R d l O

Oct 20, 2022

A quality course that deserves studying it.

By Maria

May 23, 2022

Excellent follow-up to first course!