Chevron Left
Back to Clinical Terminology for International and U.S. Students

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Clinical Terminology for International and U.S. Students by University of Pittsburgh

4.8
stars
3,021 ratings

About the Course

Understanding the clinical terms and abbreviations commonly used during verbal or written communication in U.S. hospitals is challenging. This course is designed for U.S. health care profession students and for international students and practitioners who want to become more familiar with the language of the U.S. clinical setting. Others, such as caregivers and medical interpreters, who wish to develop a better understanding of terms and abbreviations used by health care providers will find this course helpful. The course provides visual and auditory learning experiences to enhance the understanding of terms and abbreviations commonly encountered on a general U.S. hospital unit. All content including quizzes are available at no cost to the learner. If you need a certificate, you can apply for financial aid or pay the fee. To find out more, click Learn more and apply next to the information about Financial Aid. (Use a computer, not a mobile device, for this step.)...

Top reviews

FB

Jan 1, 2018

This course was really helpful. I took notes and will review them often to keep abreast with the medical terms. These will also help me communicate clinically with my PCP. I truly enjoyed this course!

ER

Apr 15, 2019

The instructor's calm and clear explanations make this a joy to watch.

This course is very useful for me as a medical product translator to get an understanding of the actual clinical environment.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 792 Reviews for Clinical Terminology for International and U.S. Students

By Amruta V

Dec 13, 2018

Its really useful. I have learn many new abbreviations that I was not aware of. It's nice to have this course done.

By Devangi V

Feb 5, 2021

Very helpful, self-paced, and easy to understand

By ysuleiman21

Nov 30, 2020

I loved this course and learned so much from it.

By Marjanur R B

May 13, 2020

much more informative course ever i had ..thanks

By Audrey B

Feb 22, 2021

Excellent program! Just what I was looking for.

By Rocio U

Jan 5, 2021

Very good course, I have learned a lot. Thanks.

By Olena T

Nov 16, 2020

Super.

Very helpful.

Well organised.

Thanks a lot.

By tran t

Jan 13, 2020

understandable, fundamental, absolutely useful.

By Nguyen C T

Sep 5, 2019

your course is really useful for medical staffs

By Stacy H R

Jul 31, 2021

Excellent beginning to my new field of studies

By Diana L G C

Feb 13, 2021

It really helped to improve my medical english

By Young-Im H

Oct 27, 2020

I have a very positive experience in learning.

By Omnia S

Oct 22, 2018

Great

By Chelsea C

May 27, 2022

this was a great beginner course but i was hoping to get more insight on learning what different roots and prefixes of terms were, rather than those being simply provided in the PRN list. but it was comprehensive and simple to follow along.

By Badria M A

Jun 26, 2021

i

By Chitra W

Oct 21, 2017

i

By Naomi L

Jul 30, 2020

It was definitely informative, but it would help if the medical dictionary had the words in it that they want you to look up in these lessons. Also several times I would try to look up a word with an asterisk in the PRS list and would be unable to find any part of the word in the list. My mother (who has worked in hospitals several times in her life and is familiar with medical terminology) couldn't find any part of some of those words in the list. It would also be extremely helpful if you could have some way of knowing what you got wrong in a quiz. Several times there would be a problem with several answers that seemed to be the same but with different wording, or there was a question in the beginning asking who the doctor is speaking to (the answer was not immediately clear and the question had nothing to do with medical terminology) and when it was marked wrong you had no way that I could find of discovering why your answer was wrong.

By Christina N

Aug 28, 2019

Some of the shorthand used in this course is not relevant in the clinical setting. The videos in week 6 were also cringy in the way the nurses handled the pt and how they carried out the procedures. The way they did things would be flagged immediately in the clinical setting.

Overall though it was a decent learning experience to add to my knowledge of clinical terms, and is a good basic introduction to what you will hear while working in a clinical setting.

By Juan G R

Aug 24, 2019

the recordings on most of the quizzes and practice quizzes were not working no matter the computer I was on or the browser I was using. Aprt from that I found the course to be very useful and interesting.

By Gavyn T

Aug 10, 2020

A lot less info than I would've thought, and some occasional typos and errors. The PRS list hardly helpful at all.

By Amani A A

Aug 14, 2018

this is a very superficial course. it was very helpful but it lacked depth and continuity

By m R

Sep 16, 2022

Feels more like a nursing refresher! I would not be able to answer question if I did not have clinical background. Questions were testing the clinical skills more than terminology.

By MURAT

Oct 23, 2021

The common language of the world is English. Physicians can communicate with each other and with allied health personnel in English, which is the common language in all countries of the world. This course allows you to learn about the abbreviations of medical definitions, their order, normal values, abnormal values, names of diseases, medical emergencies and medical interventions while working in a healthcare facility. It seems difficult at first (for non-native English speakers), but after a little bit of progress, it is seen to be completed successfully. A big thank you to Dr Swigart and her team and the University of Pittsburgh who prepared the course.

Murat Yağmurca, Bursa, Turkey.

By Hưng P N

Nov 13, 2022

I love learn a new language. 3 year ago, I used to study medical English, which is call "Specialized English of Medicine", but the teacher has no clinical experience so I just learn vocabularies and translation, it is not attractive and difficult to rote memorization.

I also love clinical environment of healthcare staff in U.S, I hope some day in the future I have a opportunity work or discuss with them about more and more clinical knowledge. Now i can understand more about the terminology and how to work in hospitals in U.S, it's really appreciated.

Best regard to professor Valerie Swigart and professor Michael Gold.

By Andrea D

Oct 30, 2020

It was a great pleasure and privilege to learn from Prof. Valerie Swigart and Ass. Prof. Michael Gold. What one has learnt is essential but very important life-saving essential methods, symptoms, procedures, equipment, descriptions. I have also learnt many new things with special focus on abbreviations which are a minefield. It was wonderful to be able to be virtually present in the hospital, and do the quizzes. The quizzes are thorough and extensive, and really enable one to revise and consolidate what one has learnt. I am grateful for the knowledge and resources they have shared.