Chevron Left
Back to Clinical Terminology for International and U.S. Students

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Clinical Terminology for International and U.S. Students by University of Pittsburgh

4.8
stars
1,982 ratings
561 reviews

About the Course

Understanding the clinical terms and abbreviations commonly used during verbal or written communication in U.S. hospitals is challenging. This course is designed for U.S. health care profession students and for international students and practitioners who want to become more familiar with the language of the U.S. clinical setting. Others, such as caregivers and medical interpreters, who wish to develop a better understanding of terms and abbreviations used by health care providers will find this course helpful. The course provides visual and auditory learning experiences to enhance the understanding of terms and abbreviations commonly encountered on a general U.S. hospital unit. All content including quizzes are available at no cost to the learner. If you need a certificate, you can apply for financial aid or pay the fee. To find out more, click Learn more and apply next to the information about Financial Aid. (Use a computer, not a mobile device, for this step.)...

Top reviews

FB
Jan 1, 2018

This course was really helpful. I took notes and will review them often to keep abreast with the medical terms. These will also help me communicate clinically with my PCP. I truly enjoyed this course!

ER
Apr 15, 2019

The instructor's calm and clear explanations make this a joy to watch.\n\nThis course is very useful for me as a medical product translator to get an understanding of the actual clinical environment.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 557 Reviews for Clinical Terminology for International and U.S. Students

By Charliemagne B

Apr 5, 2019

This course is highly recommended not only for the beginner-medical students but also for the people who are non-medical student like me who has a husband currently on chemo therapy every other week for 6 months (ends on May 2019). I am now more familiar and knowledgeable enough with the clinical terms, mobile equipment, laboratory tests, diseases, understanding the abbreviations and route of administration and with the aid of Clinical Terminology Dictionary for Beginning

International and U.S. Health Care Providers and the Nursing Simulation Scenario Library,

that made me easy to comprehend with the course. Thank you Valerie Swigart, PhD, RN, CRNP and her team and thanks to University of Pittsburg!

By Cristina S

Aug 13, 2019

It was a pleasure to take this course. I've learned that it is very important to understand the context in which an interaction occurs, I have improved my clinical language skills and now I can understand and use the abbreviations related to patient care, treatment, diagnosis.

As you've said, positive experience builds confidence! That is how I feel now! Thank you for this opportunity!

By josue v g

Mar 9, 2018

I am an IMG and recommend this course as preparation if you are going to do an observership, and English is your 2nd or 3rd language. s you may know all the medical stuff, but abbreviations are indeed a big part of the US clinical setting.

I also recommend the list of medical abbreviations published on ECFMG web page; I leave you the link https://www.ecfmg.org/echo/resources.html

By Carla D C M C

May 23, 2019

Although this course was more aimed at nursing and medical students, and not so much at linguists, it's still a valuable resource for both. I like that I can study at my own pace in the comfort of my home. The course was very well organized, with a small hiccup where certain practice quiz content had not been covered yet but was covered in the following chapter. Good resource materials provided. Engaging videos.

By Pierre R L

Aug 25, 2019

For the six weeks of class by Dr.Valerie Swigart along with Michael Gold & Zhang Liang, I have learned a lot regarding Medical Terminology. It was a great experience for me and I hope everyone enjoyed that class. Kudos to Dr. Valerie Swigart for her great desire to teach US and International Students during the six weeks. I do appreciate your method and people will continue learning from you. God bless you. Pierre R Lafond

By Gita E

Jun 16, 2019

While interning at UPMC Susquehanna Muncy for the summer, this course really helped me understand what was happening in the ER at any given moment. Even though not all of the terms were used, it was helpful to know when they'd be used and under what context.

I'm not a student at University of Pittsburgh, but I definitely recommend this course to anyone who wants to get more acquainted with medical terminology. The course is still worth the effort because even though I didn't buy a certificate, I feel more confident working in the ER than before. Plus, I was able to finish the course in 3.5 weeks, not 6.

The course is very manageable and definitely a great place for beginners to start.

By Marijeimi M

Apr 10, 2017

I have been trying to get a job at largest hospital here in PA. I went through an interview process and I let the parties involved know that I was taking a course on medical terminology from PITT. I believe this was a plus and I would like to thank you for such a wonderful course. It was very challenging since I am not familiarized with the healthcare vocabulary but you guys made it easy with the many resources that were provided. I had fun and spent lots of time researching the internet as well.

The good news is I got the job and I finished the course just in time because I will be starting my new job soon. Thank you Mrs. Swigart and Mr. Gold.

By chiara g

Jun 5, 2020

A very professional and accurately arranged course. Although I don't have a background in healthcare and I needed to attend the course only for purposes related to my translation profession, I found the modules very helpful and fairly arranged, so you don't have to take in too much information at once. Memorizing all the abbreviations is of course challenging, but I enjoyed the process. Oh, and the quizzes are fun to take!

By valerie s

Aug 17, 2017

Fabulous course. Emphasizes real clinical talk. Lots of audio. Clinical cases were so interesting and felt like a real patient experiences. The mini lectures focused on medical terminology are short and to the point. I am already using the PRS list as I am studying anatomy and physiology. This is a must for every nursing student about to start clinical.

By Fatima B

Jan 2, 2018

This course was really helpful. I took notes and will review them often to keep abreast with the medical terms. These will also help me communicate clinically with my PCP. I truly enjoyed this course!

By Amsal A

May 14, 2020

This course gave me an opportunity to improve my medical abbreviations as I am a medical student. This course is awesome. Not only medical students but also other students should enroll this course.

By William C

May 16, 2018

Pretty good class for people brand new to the healthcare world, a little too easy for those who have been in the healthcare field for awhile and are now looking to advance further, like myself. The material could've been somewhat harder or more challenging. Some of the test questions need to be looked at and adjusted to make better sense, some of the questions were misleading in what the correct answer should be. But overall, a very good class that helped reinforce a lot of what I already knew and enlightened me on some things I did not.

By Carmalita W

Jul 15, 2020

Everything was very useful, educational, and was still positively challenging, and required more in depth research to acquire more understanding. I love how it had clinical simulations. and open source to write your answers in transcribing, and creating clinical notations. This whole combination and layout of visuals, videos, audio, open source ,interactively challenges, encourages and strengthens comprehension, understanding , memory recalls. Significantly noted that ultimately this course helped me to to verify my own retained and new knowledge, and achieve mastery again when taking real life clinical scenario quizzes and tests.

By Yasmin S

Apr 20, 2019

This was a wonderful course which I will recommend to others. As a non-health care professional already familiar with some medical terminology, I learnt many new terms and clinical scenarios, while reinforcing and expanding on what I already knew. I also appreciated the resources that came with the course and I will be utilizing them in the future. Thanks to Coursera and their partners for this excellent course!

By Suzanne M L

Jul 6, 2020

Excellent class & experience. I really enjoyed taking this beginner's course. It was challenging but also extremely informative. I can't wait to take more in this subject.

Thanks for everything!

By Edward R

Apr 16, 2019

The instructor's calm and clear explanations make this a joy to watch.

This course is very useful for me as a medical product translator to get an understanding of the actual clinical environment.

By Amruta W

Dec 13, 2018

Its really useful. I have learn many new abbreviations that I was not aware of. It's nice to have this course done.

By Omnia S

Oct 22, 2018

Great

By Melisa

Aug 7, 2019

I can't continue with the course because there are audio issues in the quizzes that no one bothers to solve. There are several threads on the forum about this issue, and no response or solution is given. It's a real shame, because the course contents are interesting and useful.

By palitoybombon

Jul 26, 2020

An excellent course, seriously. The way it is structured so that you can get progressive exposure to the subject matters, terms and all, without feeling overwhelmed but being challenged enough to actually acquire a lot of new knowledge is really fantastic. All the videos are super natural and crucial to help you memorize new words in context, and also to understand the real dynamics of a US hospital, specially how nurses and doctors work in relation to their patients. I strongly recommend this course. It is a wonderful immersion, very good as a first step into the medical vocabulary. Thank you so much to all the team at the University of Pittsburgh that created it and made it available to everyone through Coursera.

By Andrea D

Oct 30, 2020

It was a great pleasure and privilege to learn from Prof. Valerie Swigart and Ass. Prof. Michael Gold. What one has learnt is essential but very important life-saving essential methods, symptoms, procedures, equipment, descriptions. I have also learnt many new things with special focus on abbreviations which are a minefield. It was wonderful to be able to be virtually present in the hospital, and do the quizzes. The quizzes are thorough and extensive, and really enable one to revise and consolidate what one has learnt. I am grateful for the knowledge and resources they have shared.

By Sue L

Aug 6, 2020

I can't say how much I like the course. It is perfect including the content and the learning style. I am not only learned it also I gained the confidence of learning medical knowledge in a second language. I always seek an opportunity to learn something related to work in a Pharmacy too. (that is my dream job) but I didn't find one can match my goal in Coursera so far. I hope I can have one to learn to start my dream career in a pharmacy. Also, I want to thank the teacher in the videos. She explains so well and shows so much patient to speak slowly and clearly. Thank you so much!

By Tri N

Oct 1, 2020

This is really a helpful course for all medical students, regardless of being an international or U.S students. I highly recommend this for you because of some reasons. First of all, you will be taught by a supportive lecturer who gives you step by step instructions about how to decode many abbreviations in clinical circumstances. Secondly, the course will give you a list of PRS (prefix, root, suffix) that really come in handy with my campus life. Thus, I assure you that it will useful for you too.

By Janice S

Nov 10, 2020

Thank you for the time put in developing this course. I found it to be extremely helpful and quite educational. I particularly enjoyed the scenarios in module 6 that showed what it would be like in a clinical setting. The vocal demonstrations of the terms were great as well. I really appreciate all that I have learned and I feel that I have gained greater knowledge of terminology used in a clinical setting and am sure that this will be beneficial in my career.

By Rafael V d S C

Sep 25, 2019

It was a great opportunity to learn the basics on Clinical Terminology and really helped me through a clinical experience I had the chance to do after completing the course! It allowed me to have the first and important contact with most terms and abbreviations commonly used in different scenarios of healthcare professions. Great course instructors, easy to read and comprehensible materials. Highly recommendable.