Chevron Left
Back to Clinical Terminology for International and U.S. Students

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Clinical Terminology for International and U.S. Students by University of Pittsburgh

4.8
stars
3,021 ratings

About the Course

Understanding the clinical terms and abbreviations commonly used during verbal or written communication in U.S. hospitals is challenging. This course is designed for U.S. health care profession students and for international students and practitioners who want to become more familiar with the language of the U.S. clinical setting. Others, such as caregivers and medical interpreters, who wish to develop a better understanding of terms and abbreviations used by health care providers will find this course helpful. The course provides visual and auditory learning experiences to enhance the understanding of terms and abbreviations commonly encountered on a general U.S. hospital unit. All content including quizzes are available at no cost to the learner. If you need a certificate, you can apply for financial aid or pay the fee. To find out more, click Learn more and apply next to the information about Financial Aid. (Use a computer, not a mobile device, for this step.)...

Top reviews

FB

Jan 1, 2018

This course was really helpful. I took notes and will review them often to keep abreast with the medical terms. These will also help me communicate clinically with my PCP. I truly enjoyed this course!

ER

Apr 15, 2019

The instructor's calm and clear explanations make this a joy to watch.

This course is very useful for me as a medical product translator to get an understanding of the actual clinical environment.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 792 Reviews for Clinical Terminology for International and U.S. Students

By Shannon L

Oct 29, 2020

A someone brand new to medical terminology, I have acquired a great beginning foundation from this course! I am very thankful for Coursera for offering this course. And I am excited to keep learning in this field.

By jose l e

Mar 8, 2021

I found the course fantastic, all the tools and key points they provide to better understand the clinical language, the number of times you practice and how varied it is seems incredible to me, I loved it, thanks

By Johanna

Jan 20, 2022

This course was very informative and very fun. I appreciated the different mediums through which I could learn; videos, readings, links to external websites, and the simulations were a great learning tool also.

By duygu

Mar 31, 2020

It is a great course. It teaches you what is necessary for a clinical unit. I was taking this subject course in my language but it was great to take this course to be familiar with the terms in English. Thanks.

By Jade J

Mar 3, 2023

The lessons are step by step, readings are clearly explained and easy to understand as well. Videos and audios are helpful to learn some difficult medical terms. I have learned a lot. Best learning experience.

By Ana S

Mar 29, 2021

This course was very helpful. I learned many medical terms in English that I did not know. I wish to have this course as soon as I came to United States.

Thanks to the University of Pittsburgh for this course.

By Vanessa A P B

Jul 7, 2020

This course is beneficial, easy to understand and very dynamic for beginners in the health care system. I did enjoy, and definitely, I will continue to practice all the information given during the training.

By Tatiana R

May 6, 2020

This was a great opportunity to enhance Medical vocabulary. The outline of the course is designed to keep you engaged and allows for critical thinking on every case shown.

I really enjoyed this 6 week course!

By Amber B

Oct 26, 2017

I liked taking the course to help reexamine what I have been taught previously. Very good information. I did notice some spelling errors and some issues with the transcription beneath the videos as I went.

By Arshiya F

Dec 28, 2020

it was amazing but there are some missing abbreviations which did not discuss in the course but they are question in the quiz but overall good course i hope it will help me start my career in a new field

By Elizabeth A M

May 5, 2018

Very useful. I had some dodubts about abreviation in pharmacology, and how to write medical notes, and this course helped me a lot.

Also if you can´t finish the curse, they can give you a time extension.

By Erin S

Jan 6, 2021

I have taken other medical and clinical terminology courses and this one was by far, more in depth and comprehensive. I found the clinical scenarios and audio recordings especially helpful in learning.

By David I Q Q

Sep 27, 2017

I LIKE SO MUCH THE CONTENT OF THE COURSE, IT IS SO HELPFULL FOR ME WHO WORK WITH ENGLISH REPORTS. I WILL IMPROVE MY KNOWLEDGE IN MORE CLINICAL TERMINOLOGY BY READING AND DOING RESEARCH. THAKNS SO MUCH

By Minh N T B

May 23, 2020

Thank you for the teachers and Coursera forum. I happily experienced good time and emotions here. More than that, useful knowledge is the best thing I have received. Thank you! Thank you so much!

By Shane H

Aug 26, 2017

I found this course to be very helpful. It was thought out, it was clear, it made you think critically. It changed your mind set intentionally for learning purposes, and it was effective for me.

By Thi H L

Aug 16, 2020

By using the clinical situation, abbreviations, and terms are easier to understand.

This course is so helpful for me to have an essential knowledge that I can extend my learning by myself then.

By 1- Q P V

May 23, 2023

I am very glad to get a chance to study for free here. thank you very much and do not worry it will help me a lot as a caregiver and in pursuing my study in nursing. Keep it up. Salute you all

By Surabhi M

Feb 28, 2023

Loved the flow and outline of this course and the beautiful videos. However, there were some errors in the quiz answers. However, I feel thankful to have come across such learning opportunity!

By Miguel C

Jun 10, 2020

Excellent overview of key vocabulary and abbreviations used in the medical field! I would highly recommend to anyone who would like to expand their knowledge and access to the medical world.

By Javiera L W

Oct 7, 2022

This course was very helpful in many ways, not only to enlarge my vocabulary for translating purposes but also to better understand medicine and some common diseases. Thank you very much!

By Lucem A

Feb 13, 2022

Really Good Leraning experience with this course awesome thank you so much really good, should have some new content regarding covid 19 terminology I think but overral really really good.

By dorthelea w

Oct 12, 2021

Hands down this course was nothing short than amazing! its helpful informative and it challenge you to want to go further into the medical field. every instructor was excellent.

By Ngo D T

Jan 16, 2021

This course is really helpful, especially for the new student like me. I learnt this course only in 2 weeks and I found it's extremely interesting. I wish one day i set my foot on US.

By Dung N

Jun 15, 2020

The course provides a good places for medical students to study medical terminology. You also have a chance to involve yourself in clinical situation to fully understand the contents.

By Helena L

Nov 19, 2020

I learned so much! What a wonderful course! Thank you for providing the knowledge that certainly adds a lot in our career path. Too bad I can't afford the certificate at the moment.