Chevron Left
Back to Getting started in cryo-EM

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting started in cryo-EM by Caltech

4.9
238 ratings
43 reviews

About the Course

This class covers the fundamental principles underlying cryo-electron microscopy (cryo-EM) starting with the basic anatomy of electron microscopes, an introduction to Fourier transforms, and the principles of image formation. Building upon that foundation, the class then covers the sample preparation issues, data collection strategies, and basic image processing workflows for all 3 basic modalities of modern cryo-EM: tomography, single particle analysis, and 2-D crystallography. Philosophy: The course emphasizes concepts rather than mathematical details, taught through numerous drawings and example images. It is meant for anyone interested in the burgeoning fields of cryo-EM and 3-D EM, including cell biologists or molecular biologists without extensive training in mathematics or imaging physics and practicing electron microscopists who want to broaden their understanding of the field. The class is perfect as a primer for anyone who is about to be trained as a cryo-electron microscopist, or for anyone who needs an introduction to the field to be able to understand the literature or the talks and conversations they will hear at cryo-EM meetings. Pre-requisites: The recommended prerequisites are college-freshman-level math, physics, and biochemistry. Pace: There are 14.5 hours of lecture videos total separated into 40 individual “modules” lasting on average 20 minutes each. Each module has at the end a list of “concept check” questions you can use to test your knowledge of what was presented. As the modules are grouped into seven major subjects, one reasonable plan would be to go through one major subject each day. That would mean watching a couple hours of lecture and spending another hour or so thinking through the concept check questions each day for a week. Another reasonable plan would be to go through one module each day for a little over a month, or even three modules a week (Monday, Wednesday, and Friday) for a 3-month term. It is likely that as you then move on to actually begin using a cryo-EM or otherwise engage in the field, you will want to repeat certain modules....

Top reviews

LR

Feb 19, 2018

Great course. I thought it was presented in a very informative way and i learned a lot about cryo-EM. In fact, it made me want to learn more about it. Thank you.

AL

Jul 20, 2016

An excellent introduction to the topic, explaining from the basics to the detail of things. Useful and recommended to anyone in structural biology.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 43 Reviews for Getting started in cryo-EM

By Naďa L

Mar 22, 2019

Great course. Pity is that you don't give the certificate. Anyway, I'd like to thank to prof. Jensen for it.

By ANIL K S

Sep 12, 2018

very good for the beginner like me

By Pablo C

Mar 07, 2016

Great explanations and examples, even for complex things like the fourier space.

By Gerardo M H

Mar 28, 2018

There is a few free courses, this one of the best that I've taken. It would be better if one finishes the course, one could receive any certification

By Shijian Z

Nov 02, 2015

its really very helpful for me as a beginner. After learning the video, I kind of know what's going on when I got the training of TEM. Thanks a lot for the free video.

By Lance R

Feb 19, 2018

Great course. I thought it was presented in a very informative way and i learned a lot about cryo-EM. In fact, it made me want to learn more about it. Thank you.

By Aleix L

Jul 20, 2016

An excellent introduction to the topic, explaining from the basics to the detail of things. Useful and recommended to anyone in structural biology.

By stanwang

Oct 19, 2017

excellent

By Vadim S

Jun 23, 2017

Great job! Clear explanations, drawings, schemes.

By Jonathan F

May 18, 2017

Great course, very informal - really improved my knowledge in the field of EM

By minagquan

Sep 10, 2015

good

By Shokir A P

Sep 13, 2015

great course!

By meera k m

Feb 22, 2016

very informative, simple and easily understandable. Love it

By Gary U

Jun 20, 2016

An excellent course to get to understand the field of cryogenic Electron Microscopy. The mathematics are presented at a high level, often geometrically, without getting into details. The physics of the electron microscope is presented again at a high level but with enough detail to understand the operation. The teaching style is well paced and inviting.

By Philip B P J

Aug 27, 2015

This course was outstanding. Every aspect of cyro-EM was covered in detail. The professor's delivery was excellent.

I would recommend this course to anyone who has a desire to expand their knowledge of the nano world

By 赵炜

Oct 25, 2015

The best EM course available online

By 董炜哲

Sep 04, 2015

absolutely fantastic!

By Igor N

Jun 09, 2016

Really good introduction to cryo-EM and EM in general!

By Jean N

Dec 14, 2016

Thank you for this valuable course, specially for the Fourrier image explanation.

By Scott C

Nov 29, 2015

Very good

By Serhiy S

Jan 26, 2017

I have worked a bit in cryo-em before and I find this course absolutely amazing! Very detailed and easy to understand.

By jadson c d s

Dec 28, 2015

Simply AMAZING!

By Daniil B

Nov 14, 2015

Very nice description of electronic microscopy techniques

By Chen S

Aug 16, 2015

It is amazing. I found it extremely helpful since I have just have an internship in a Cryo-EM lab. I found it difficult to understand these procedures without the knowledge of theory.So your course is just like a gift that exactly meets my need. I have told every friend of mine to see it. Thank you a lot for offering this magic course.

By Francois T

Aug 17, 2016

Thank you Dr. Jensen!