Chevron Left
Back to Cybersecurity in Healthcare (Hospitals & Care Centres)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cybersecurity in Healthcare (Hospitals & Care Centres) by Erasmus University Rotterdam

4.6
stars
49 ratings
14 reviews

About the Course

The Cybersecurity in Healthcare MOOC was developed as part the SecureHospitals.eu project. This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 Coordination Research and Innovation Action under Grant Agreement No. 826497. The course "Cybersecurity in Healthcare" has been developed to raise awareness and understanding the role of cybersecurity in healthcare (e.g., hospitals, care centres, clinics, other medical or social care institutions and service organisations) and the challenges that surround it. In this course, we will cover both theoretical and practical aspects of cybersecurity. We look at both social aspects as technical aspects that come into play. Furthermore, we offer helpful resources that cover different aspects of cybersecurity. Even if you are not active in the healthcare domain, you will find helpful tips and insights to deal with cybersecurity challenges within any other organisation or in personal contexts as well. This course begins by introducing the opportunities and challenges that digitalisation of healthcare services has created. It explains how the rise of technologies and proliferation of (medical) data has become an attractive target to cybercriminals, which is essential in understanding why adequate cybersecurity measures are critical within the healthcare environment. In later modules, course contents cover the threats, both inside and outside of healthcare organisations like e.g. social engineering and hacking. Module 4 on Cyber Hygiene describes how to improve cybersecurity within healthcare organisations in practical ways. Module 5 looks deeper into how organisational culture affects cybersecurity, the cybersecurity culture, focusing on the interaction between human behaviour and technology and how organisational factors can boost or diminish the level and attention to cybersecurity in healthcare. Do you work for a hospital, clinic, medical practice, care centre, care provider, social care organisation, or nursing home? Do you want to improve your personal or your organisation’s cybersecurity (cyber security, IT security, information security, network security, computer security, awareness)? Then please visit https://www.securehospitals.eu to gain access to a range of resources. You can also join the Security providers and Trainers platform (see: https://www.securehospitals.eu/for-providers-and-trainers/) or our Community of Practice (see: https://www.securehospitals.eu/community/)....

Top reviews

MJ
Nov 16, 2020

t\n\nh\n\ni\n\ns\n\nc\n\no\n\nu\n\nr\n\ns\n\ne\n\ni\n\ns\n\nv\n\ne\n\nr\n\ny important for staff work in healthcare services and the management of the health institutions

AP
Nov 19, 2020

Excellent program. Lots of information. I have gained new knowledge. Thanks very m

Filter by:

1 - 14 of 14 Reviews for Cybersecurity in Healthcare (Hospitals & Care Centres)

By Ahmet K

Aug 31, 2020

Course is really informational

By Flt L G R

Jul 22, 2020

THANKS...

By Shrish K

Aug 13, 2020

Great

By Gaston R

Oct 18, 2020

The course is very simple and contains no real concrete information to help. The speakers are merely reading a text in a super monotone way, which makes it impossible to concentrate.

Waste of time

By Mahbub U A

Jan 11, 2021

Tank you so much. This is very nice course. Despite my 20 years of experience, I learned a lot from this course. I would recommend everyone those who are involved in healthcare and cybersecurity field a must enrolled themselves for this course. I Really learned many tools and terms related in healthcare cyber security. Thank you to all members / instructors for designing this course.

By SHAMIKA M

Nov 20, 2020

I gathered a wealth of knowledge from this course. It was very practical and very engaging. I took my time doing it therefore it took me longer than 5 weeks. I probably spent more than 2 months to complete this course nevertheless the longer you take to consume the material the more you learn. I am very grateful for the opportunities presented here.

By JORGE V H

Dec 10, 2020

Me ha gustado mucho el curso. Abarca muchos aspectos sobre la ciberseguridad en el ámbito personal y en el ámbito de los centros sanitarios. Enhorabuena!!!

By MUNYANEZA J

Nov 17, 2020

t

h

i

s

c

o

u

r

s

e

i

s

v

e

r

y important for staff work in healthcare services and the management of the health institutions

By Alexis P

Nov 20, 2020

Excellent program. Lots of information. I have gained new knowledge. Thanks very m

By OGUNLEYE A S

Dec 15, 2020

A great intro course into Cybersecurity in Healthcare sector

By ALESSANDRO B

Feb 8, 2021

Opt

By Aldo N G C

Aug 27, 2020

One of the questions in Module 4 about vulnerabilities, although the right answer was provided, was deemed wrong.

By Steve K

Dec 21, 2020

I'm probably not a part of the target audience for this course, so it may be wise to apply some sort of discount to my comments. The course is geared towards medical practitioners, care givers, and other "end users" of technology in healthcare. In the main, it probably will meet the needs of that group well enough.

My own perspective is as a security engineer working in the healthcare industry in the US. I came to the course hoping to find a European perspective on the subject, but most of what I saw here could have been copied from a similar course offered by a US university. Now, to a certain extent that's probably a good thing. In a lot of ways, establishing a security culture is a very similar process whether it takes place in Europe or in America (a hemisphere, not a country). Perhaps my expectations were unrealistic, but at the end of the day, the experience just wasn't different enough to for me to justify spending the time to complete the course.

I have several other quibbles. Design of the review questions was inconsistent. In some case multiple responses were expected, but this expectation was not communicated. In other cases, it was. This was a little frustrating, but may represent a cultural difference in how multiple choice answers are addressed in the US and in Europe. The experience didn't prevent learning, but it did inspire a little muttering under the breath.

There are some questions that obviously were written by someone who doesn't work in cybersecurity full time. Several of the "correct" answers to these questions were just plain wrong. For example, teaching users to rely on the padlock in the browser address bar has been deprecated (https://www.infosecurity-magazine.com/news/fbi-dont-trust-https-or-padlock-on-1/), at least on this side of the Atlantic. One need only look as far as the Solar Winds compromise (currently in the news as this is written) to see that there is some degree of risk associated with trusting one's security to a third party (even a third party that historically has been deemed trustworthy).

By Constadinos F

Jan 22, 2021

Nice course.. good info...learned a lot