Chevron Left
Back to Knowledge and Skills for Dementia Care: the SSLD Approach

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Knowledge and Skills for Dementia Care: the SSLD Approach by University of Toronto

4.6
stars
94 ratings

About the Course

This course is designed and produced by Professor Ka Tat Tsang of the Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work in collaboration with the Institute for Life Course and Aging at the University of Toronto. This course aims to inform learners about dementia and dementia care from an SSLD perspective, including, community care, in-home support, and long-term care. This course will cover the continuum of senior services and support across different settings, including, private caregiving, community services, and institutionalized residential care. Course components are designed to equip learners with practical knowledge regarding dementia and dementia care. This course also features top-notch researchers and practitioners who will be sharing their expertise and experience on recent research developments about dementia and other related topics, including, advance care planning, elder abuse, management of behavioural and psychological symptoms associated with dementia, sexuality and intimacy, consent and capacity, legal issues, principles of designed space and aging-in-place, substance use and addiction in older adults with dementia, senior care models, etc. Upon the completion of this course, learners will possess a holistic understanding of the needs and characteristics of older adults living with dementia, and will also be equipped with the knowledge and skills needed to enhance their competency in providing care....

Top reviews

MN

Feb 27, 2022

Very informative, it has improved my knowledge in dementia care and I believe I will be a better care giver in the futurre. Thanks to the organizers.

DU

May 27, 2022

Enjoyed this course so much. Wasn't easy but so worth it. Enjoyed working at my own pace. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 27 Reviews for Knowledge and Skills for Dementia Care: the SSLD Approach

By Armstrong

Oct 24, 2021

Actually, i will definitely recommends this course to friends in long care setting. Bravo!!

By Laurie G

Oct 14, 2021

I took this course to improve my performance as a caregiver to a family member with Huntington's Disease. The content opened my eyes to a system of caregiving based on compassion and holistic service for both the recipient and the caregiver. I feel like my objectives were met and surpassed.

By Daniella U

May 28, 2022

Enjoyed this course so much. Wasn't easy but so worth it. Enjoyed working at my own pace. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

By Dan S

Sep 16, 2021

Became too much of a politicized Infomercial. A few great moments of value but perhaps too few to regard this as a high quality course. Sorry...just the way I feel.

By Rina S

Apr 14, 2023

This course gave an excellent viewpoint of where our systems should be but is still in a strong stage of idealism vs the actual reality of what is happening in long term care homes - it will however go a long way in raising awareness that there is a good alternative to the current model and guide eventual change (Ihope!)

By 蔡哲嘉Jer-Chia T

Jun 27, 2022

This course has addressed the important issues of increasing dementia population, challenges for quality of care, and comprehensive care by the SSLD approach. The course arrangement is well-designed, and the information is up to date. The course lecturers have the frontline line experiences and practical knowledge.

By Isabel V A

Dec 16, 2023

A very useful learning tool for professional and personal caregivers, psychology students (like myself) which enhances a broader care perspective for persons living with dementia, opening a window for a flexible, hopeful, openminded yet informed and realistic approach.

By Beverley A C

Jun 16, 2022

Very informative and positive and hopeful in terms of future direction and advances in this field. As the aging population increaes in more and more societies worldwide, this area of attention becomes increasingly crucial.

By BABATUNDE D A

Mar 20, 2023

A very thorough course with facilitators who have first hand experience. Taking this course has helped me gain requisite skill and knowledge to delivering quality healthcare service to persons with dementia

By Martha N

Feb 28, 2022

Very informative, it has improved my knowledge in dementia care and I believe I will be a better care giver in the futurre. Thanks to the organizers.

By Heather N

Jul 2, 2022

Excellent course! It will help me to become more focussed on the needs of the patient

By Jennifer F

May 20, 2023

Very informative course for both professional and caregiver!!

By Abdallah M A

Jul 11, 2022

excellent course for professionals and caregivers

By Poliana M

Dec 3, 2022

maravilhoso me agregou muito conhecimento

By Rimsha M

Jun 26, 2022

amzingaamazing amazingmazing

By Joy N

Mar 22, 2023

easy to understand

By Owino P

Jul 9, 2023

Amazingl COUURSE

By Mae B M

Dec 27, 2022

Keep it up!

By Kar L

Mar 31, 2024

Excelente

By Farwa A

Jul 5, 2022

thanks

By Romelia R

Jul 11, 2023

This course was very informative and well organized. I enjoyed the guest lecturers a great deal.

By Usman S

Dec 25, 2023

I'm happy with the experience and skills I have gained in attending to dementia care.

By Lam T

Jul 29, 2022

Give you the idea of SSLD, but not much about the skill that use on client.

By Feyisogbon F

Aug 3, 2023

good choice of knowledge achieved vide this course on care of dementia