Chevron Left
Back to Design Patterns

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design Patterns by University of Alberta

4.7
stars
933 ratings
193 reviews

About the Course

This course extends object-oriented analysis and design by incorporating design patterns to create interactive applications. Through a survey of established design patterns, you will gain a foundation for more complex software applications. Finally, you will identify problematic software designs by referencing a catalog of code smells. You will be challenged in the Capstone Project to redesign an existing Java-based Android application to implement a combination of design patterns. You will also critique a given Java codebase for code smells. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Demonstrate how to use design patterns to address user interface design issues. • Identify the most suitable design pattern to address a given application design problem. • Apply design principles (e.g., open-closed, dependency inversion, least knowledge). • Critique code by identifying and refactoring anti-patterns. • Apply the model-view-controller architectural pattern....

Top reviews

ZP
Sep 17, 2019

I have never had a chance to study CS at the university so I am always looking for ways to improve my knowledge - to keep up with fellow programmers. And this course met my requirements perfectly. :)

SH
Aug 24, 2021

Wonderful course. It can enhance tour knowledge and give opportunity to explore more about design patterns. There are wonderful examples, assignments and quiz. I would highly recommend this course.

Filter by:

176 - 194 of 194 Reviews for Design Patterns

By Andrés W

Dec 10, 2017

Great course

By Siddharth S

Mar 28, 2019

Nice course

By Nguyen C D

Jan 14, 2018

Great

By Mobile E

Jul 5, 2021

good

By Pratik

Feb 28, 2021

Good

By Isha J

Apr 13, 2020

good

By Revelo A

Jul 6, 2020

Many of the explanations concerning design patterns are too abstact and there are not enough practical exercise to understand them deeply. For many topics you won´t be able to get a good idea about the practical application.

By Aurel M

Mar 27, 2020

Forum is not useful, unfortunately. No involvement by teachers, just a bunch of guys asking for assignments to be graded. Grading by others is much too lenient, i.e. even if you make errors, you are awarded too many points.

By Raffaele M

Jan 8, 2018

Missing course notes, even though there are a lot of references about the GoF Design Pattern. Most of the UMLs and codes are poorly reviewed.

By George P

Sep 21, 2018

Very light course... I would say very easy and does not get into depth...

By RODRIGO J B F

Oct 7, 2020

Bom, porém a qualidade das atividades poderia ser melhor.

By Nguyen T N

Oct 21, 2019

need more sample usages of design patterns in real world

By HarieHaren G

Nov 8, 2018

Not Bad

By Nicholas R

Mar 27, 2021

I learned some new things and overall the course was quite informative. However I can only give the course two starts because I was not completely satisfied with how the course was structured and the level of difficulty. I was expecting a much more challenging course, in terms of theory and actual exercises. The main reason I signed up was because I was expecting to go in to more detail on SOLID, unfortunately it was only until the last part of the course that it was mentioned. In general, I thought the structure of the course was a little monotonous and to mechanic. I understand that trying to explain design patterns in itself can be challenging because its an abstract concept. But I think it could have been much better. Also, the code base that we had to work with in Java, in my opinion was not very well written and did not convey the key concepts of the course. The course is informative and in general I would recommend it if you want to improve you skills on how to write better code, but don't have high expectation on it.

By Gregory P

May 25, 2021

Content is good. Discussion forums are not useful. Course assignments are based on Android which adds an extra level of difficulty which is not necessary given the content, and do not demonstrate the value of any of the design patterns taught. If anything, patterns that must be applied in assignments result in over-engineering and excessive duplicate code. Treatment of code smells is superficial as a result. No feedback on assignments is given; marks reflect only if an attempt was made, not whether it was correct.

By Lucian B

Mar 1, 2019

What a great topic! And what a poor job they did with this one! Its a shame, it feels like they only care about the money.

By Afonso M

Jun 7, 2020

I have read in some places that Coursera needs to improve its Review system, because the stars of this course do not match reality.

Clearly, this course is not in the "standard coursera" of quality (if you have already taken some courses, you will understand). The evaluation system is by colleagues, but it does not work, the classes are very weak, you will probably find the material of the wikipedia more didactic and in-depth. Few exercises. In fact, I don't even know if it can be called "exercise", it seems more like something for you to get a grade and not learn something. It needs to be reviewed urgently, as Coursera is now paid.

By Taras B

Aug 20, 2020

Practice and rare lecture slides are the opposite of principles they are trying to teach. Assignments are all peer graded and based on one bloated android program

By Ludovica S

Mar 26, 2021

j