Chevron Left
Back to DNA Decoded

Learner Reviews & Feedback for DNA Decoded by McMaster University

4.8
stars
757 ratings
233 reviews

About the Course

Are you a living creature? Then, congratulations! You’ve got DNA. But how much do you really know about the microscopic molecules that make you unique? Why is DNA called the “blueprint of life”? What is a “DNA fingerprint”? How do scientists clone DNA? What can DNA teach you about your family history? Are Genetically Modified Organisms (GMOs) safe? Is it possible to revive dinosaurs by cloning their DNA? DNA Decoded answers these questions and more. If you’re curious about DNA, join Felicia Vulcu and Caitlin Mullarkey, two biochemists from McMaster University, as they explore the structure of DNA, how scientists cracked the genetic code, and what our DNA can tell us about ourselves. Along the way, you’ll learn about the practical techniques that scientists use to analyze our genetic risks, to manipulate DNA, and to develop new treatments for a range of different diseases. Then, step into our virtual lab to perform your own forensic DNA analysis of samples from a crime scene and solve a murder....

Top reviews

GT
Sep 14, 2020

STUDY BUT FUN!! Make me now more curious about DNA and the amazing information that i can get about my ancestors by testing and analyzing my DNA. I never get bored since the week 1 till the end week!

SA
Aug 27, 2019

I have gained lot of information form this course. And the instructors and the method of their teaching is really awesome. I would like to say thank you to the instructors and thank you to coursera.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 233 Reviews for DNA Decoded

By Sandy V

Feb 10, 2021

Excellent course. Well presented in a fun and informative way. Congratulations. I hope you offer another

By Minas N

Jan 29, 2021

Easy to understand thanks to the tutors, useful, insightful, thank you very much Caitlin and Felicia

By Dr. B N

Jan 29, 2021

It was fun. Really. Even the links provided in the quiz section were informative and entertaining.

By Dahab M

Jan 27, 2021

I am so happy learning DNA amazing lessons and doctors thanks for every thing and thanks for all

By Md S H

Jun 4, 2020

5-star rating because of the teaching method of the educators and making the content super-easy

By adepu p

Dec 25, 2019

great way to teach in a story telling way, both instructors crafted the course very well.Thanks

By Stephany U

Feb 12, 2021

It was an exceptional course especially for me that Genetics is not my principal field of work

By Azhaamirul W

Jun 29, 2020

Overall this course was very easy to be understood and the lecturers were very enthusiastic.

By D. B

Apr 10, 2020

Its really a very good course. Everything is explained very nicely starting from a scratch.

By kaaviyaa m

Jun 17, 2020

Felicia and Caitlin have done a great job ... learning with them is so fun and interesting

By Billy P

Dec 18, 2020

Good Job too both of you! Ευχάριστο, διασκεδαστικό και πολύ πλούσιο! Και πάλι μπράβο σας!

By Charis P

Dec 9, 2020

Very nice, not at all boring and theatrical presentation of the theme by the instructors.

By Satvik S S

Apr 12, 2020

Very nice interactive and good course faculty is also good and excellently made course .

By Hafiz M Z F

Apr 14, 2020

This course contain very good information about DNA. The teaching method was very good.

By Manjeet S

Jun 30, 2020

it was really an interesting course to know how DNA work in our body i really like it.

By Gyan S

Jan 27, 2020

Excellent course to learn basics of DNA and what and how it plays role in one's life.

By Juan D M L

Jan 14, 2021

It was so much fun! So educational yet so entertaining, the doctors should be on TV.

By Sudhamani R

Oct 22, 2020

It was a very very engaging course. The course instructors were great. Enjoyed it !!

By sharon

Sep 11, 2020

This course is absolutely interesting- with some additional jokes and also cartoons.

By Ghada H

Jun 11, 2020

Enjoyable, fascinating illustrations

I love the chemistry between doctors

Thanks !!!

By SANTHOSH P

Aug 1, 2020

The course handlers did a great job in making the people understand more about DNA

By Christeena V

Sep 6, 2020

It was superb. Caitlin and Felicia is perfect teachers. Im gonna miss yoy guys

By Muhammed S K M

Jun 3, 2020

Excellent presentation, Thank you to the instructors and course team..Loved it

By Trenton V

Aug 3, 2019

Entertaining and very informational. I am happy to have completed this course.

By Mohammad B

Feb 15, 2021

Great and fun course, thank you Dr.Felicia and Dr. Catelin.

Thank you Coursera