Chevron Left
Back to Electrodynamics: An Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Electrodynamics: An Introduction by Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology(KAIST)

4.7
stars
469 ratings
104 reviews

About the Course

The depth and breadth of electromagnetism, the foundation for many fields including materials science, electrical engineering, and physical chemistry, requires a long, steep, and steady learning curve. This course aims to bridge the gap between the fundamental principles taught in electromagnetism and its practical application to specific fields such as materials, physics, and chemistry related to energy storage and harvesting. The goal of Electrodynamics: An Introduction is to not only teach electromagnetism but also introduce some mathematical tools which can be used to solve problems in the subject. Within these lecture notes, we review vector calculus and explain how to use fields to visualize the topics we cover. This course is dynamic, as the lectures continuously build on previous notes and a variety of explanations are presented for each solution. Since this is a lower level course, we will focus on the simple concept of electrostatics. This has applications in exploring intermolecular forces, and qualities of capacitors. Through this, we relate electromagnetism to more conventionally studied topics and its application to specific research topics related to energy storage and harvesting....

Top reviews

RG
May 4, 2020

Well explained by professor. Easier to understand.\n\nThank you professor Hong for everything you have done to clearify my knowledge in this field.

TL
May 17, 2020

Very closely follows Feynman Lectures, but with some extra helpful intuition in talking through examples. Quizzes tested the main concepts well.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 101 Reviews for Electrodynamics: An Introduction

By 김재운

May 5, 2019

when you become interested in Electrodynamics and your major is not EE, then it will help you to understand what it is.

By Aj K R

Apr 7, 2020

The course has been very well designed and has right emphasis on basics. I'm extremely grateful to Professor Seungbum Hong for his painstaking effort. Longing to continue the next part of the course. Thanks Coursera.

By Bhupendra B

May 24, 2020

It was my immense pleasure to be part of this insightful course. I found it quite profound. Thank you so much. Keep up the good job!

By Gangi V

Apr 17, 2020

A reasonably good explanations and lectures seem a bit quite lengthy. But the course content and interaction is quite satisfying.

By Paul S P

Jul 15, 2019

Great course, great Professor, great assistant, very clear, well-paced. Ready for next course.

By Tejdeep G

May 24, 2020

It is a good beginners course, Dr.Seungbum Hong explains it in a detailed manner, Even if you don't understand a few points in the beginning , as you go through the course you will get the feel of what is happening. The examples practical examples that he gives and the way he connects it to the topic is great. Assignments are little too easy, not at all lengthy , If you listen to the lectures properly and go through the slides and make note of points , they wouldn't take even 5min to solve. Overall, My experience was pretty good and I learnt something new from the course.

By Alireza A

Aug 21, 2020

It seems to me that the quality of explanation becomes lower on week 5 . Beside that , it was really helpful and clear and open minded to me .

By Buğra C

Feb 24, 2021

This was a really fun introduction to electrodynamics, it was quite engaging an had really good pacing. The question based approach and the less formal chats between the professor and the assistant made the subject a lot more digestible and interesting. I am excited to start the next course in the series already. Thank you to Professor Seungbum Hong and Melodie Glasser.

By Rhys M

Nov 21, 2020

The explanations are very understandable. The illustrations are presented in such a way that listeners can clearly picture out what's happening. I am grateful to this course because I learned many new things, especially the physical meaning of the equations and how they describe charges, including that of Maxwell's.

By HARINI D

Jun 4, 2020

I learned Oscillating electrical charges result in electromagnetic waves. On a larger scale, electromagnetism is the creation of a magnetic field from the movement of electrical charges. It usually concerns the use of electric current to make electromagnets, which is called electrodynamics.

By SHASHI K R R

Mar 29, 2020

I'm facing problem with English slang of Professor in some areas of his video lectures. Content slides are extraordinary and easy to understand the concepts. Assistant faculty was good. Assignments are not easy. This is a worthy course. Thank you.

By Arun A P

Oct 20, 2019

Well organized and excellently taught! Little tough for the beginners but after some revision, could understand the topics and complete the course. Suggestion to create a course on "Ferroelectric and Piezoelectric Polymers"...

By Thomas L

May 18, 2020

Very closely follows Feynman Lectures, but with some extra helpful intuition in talking through examples. Quizzes tested the main concepts well.

By RAJESH P G

May 5, 2020

Well explained by professor. Easier to understand.

Thank you professor Hong for everything you have done to clearify my knowledge in this field.

By HyoungKyu K

Apr 7, 2019

It was very helpful lecture and knowledge from this lecture would be powerful tool to research my field.

Thank you very much professor!!!

By Dr. N P

Nov 25, 2020

Excellent lecture materials with more explanatory concepts. Thank you for your wonderful explanation about the fundamentals

By 김병준

Jul 19, 2021

Thank you for giving a great lecture about electrodynamics. The metaphors to understand the concepts were really helpful.

By Ellie D

Jan 13, 2021

Very good and clear lectures. It would be nice if there were explanations/worked solutions to the answers to the quizzes.

By shyamsunder m

Apr 26, 2020

A very well composed introductory course in electrodynamics. Thanks to the professor for such a very good course.

By Keerthi

Jun 2, 2021

This course builds a solid base to study electrodynamics further. The course closely follows Feynman lectures.

By Vishvaksenan k s

Jun 1, 2020

The course is very interesting.

Professor make tough subject become easier

I like the way of professor teaching

By M P S R

Oct 5, 2020

Course is useful to understand the electrodynamics. It is a good course and explanation is also very good.

By Neeraj K

Apr 22, 2020

Beautifully explained every concept. Sir, you have been great!!. Melodie is a bright future to science.

By Manoj K N

Jul 31, 2020

A Course with simple way of explanation and correlating the theory with our natural world phenomenons