Chevron Left
Back to Emotional and Social Intelligence

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Emotional and Social Intelligence by University of California, Davis

4.7
stars
1,120 ratings

About the Course

"We are wired to connect. Neuroscience has discovered that our brains very design makes it sociable, inexorably drawn into an intimate brain to brain linkup whenever we engage with another person." Daniel Goleman – Prologue – Social Intelligence Emotional and Social Intelligence (ESI) is defined as a set of competencies demonstrating the ability one has to recognize their behaviors, moods, and impulses, and to manage them best according to the situation. This course will give you the tools you need to be emotionally and socially intelligent in your workplace. Having the ability to master ESI gives employees a distinct advantage in their positions. It allows them to access their emotional center while managing their relationships with their team members. Competencies associated with emotional and social intelligence are often what separates an average performer from a great one. And, unlike our overall intelligence, emotional intelligence can be learned and improved over time. In this course, we will explain the value of emotional and social intelligence for professional success. We'll assess current emotional and social intelligence skills and you will discover the Foundational 4 Quadrants of Emotional and Social Intelligence (ESI) to understand, use and manage emotions. We will explain how stress can impact application of emotional and social intelligence skills, and reflect upon needed actions to take to create connections and build relationships for greater professional effectiveness....

Top reviews

DM

Aug 13, 2022

The Learnings in ECI Course is an excellent way for having as a kit in your carrier growth. At a personal level and in the social world it is very much required not only to understand but execute.

SL

Jan 15, 2024

A perfect course that I can learn that we have to train for social intelligence to control our emotion and keep pace with the job and find the solution in each different situation. thank you.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 252 Reviews for Emotional and Social Intelligence

By Angelica B

Oct 13, 2021

This course is fantastic, I think it should be implemented since high school, we all need to be aware of our emotions from the early years, it would help us manage our emotions better.

By Deekshith S

Jan 9, 2022

I think it helped me to increase my emotional intelligence and how to behave and talk to others properly and how to engage people with your talk and how your words will impact others.

By Kulvinder G

Jul 25, 2021

The course is well presented with a mix of videos, quizzes, reading, and exams. ESI is a value addition for every employee and relationship. I recommend this course highly.

By Bernard D V

Feb 14, 2021

Excellent course about ESI. In this course, using Gelman's model, we are exploring self-awareness, self-management, social awareness and emapthy, relationship management and motivation. The course is short but very complete and you will have several opportunities to work on your ESI skills. I really recommend this course.

By Marcia S

Jan 27, 2021

It is a great course if you are seeking to understand better your emotional makeup and how you respond to what is happening around you.

By Firdaus P

Sep 18, 2021

It did not feel like a class one bit. It was like being read to by a robot.

By Maria C B

Jan 25, 2021

This course has made me realized how I can manage my relationship with other people. How to build and improve my emotional and social intelligence. Thank you very much, I do feel that I have improved my perception towards others and how I affect them through my ESI.

By Alba N E

Feb 13, 2021

This was an amazing course! I highly recommend it to everyone.

The material covered was cleared, well explained, easy to understand, very practical.

Every company could benefit from providing this course to it's employees at every level.

Thank you so much!

By Jaydeep S

May 15, 2021

I request every teaching faculty & industrial personal to learn from this course. Very useful & eye opening course. I have already started using tips from this course in my day to day life.

By Debanjali C

Apr 16, 2022

very important course. so many new things I learn from it. the videos and reading pages are easy and understandable. it gives me joy completing the course.

By Jaikumar T

Feb 27, 2021

Hands down one of the best courses of Emotional and Social Intelligence!!!

By Jennifer G

Mar 4, 2022

I was very familiar with the topics and find it comes easy to me, but so many struggle to see things from multiple perspectives. This course did a fantastic job at explaining, as did the resources provided! Iloved the added fun fact details; it made it all the more interesting! I've suggested friends use it for relationship perspectives as well. Thanks for enhancing my perspectives and influencing others! Highly recommend as a requirement for all professiona positions!!

By Ala A

May 17, 2021

The course content is very helpful and actionable for those who would like to improve their emotional and social skills on the personal and professional levels. The course instructor has a clear voice and makes things simple to understand.

I personally enjoyed and benefited from the course very much. It gives you steps and tools to acquire emotional and social skills.

By Adam L

Mar 11, 2022

I went into this course skeptical and thinking that ESI is merely a "good to have" rather than a real determinent of success. Boy was I wrong! This course taught me the value of social skills and the profound impact that our emotions and the emotions of others have on all facets of our lives. Would definitely recommend.

By Vanessa P

Feb 19, 2021

This course is extremely important. I learned a lot and found the ways to practice Emotional and Social Intelligence.

By Laura B

Aug 29, 2021

Engaging and clear. It offers great instruments to manage emotions in social situations. I highly recommend it

By Ulysses D R

Jul 7, 2021

Honestly a great course for people in the working industry.

By ANTONY S

Feb 11, 2021

What an excellent course and Material! Feeling Great!

By Marie R L

Sep 10, 2023

I recently enrolled in the online course titled "Emotional and Social Intelligence," and to say I was disappointed would be an understatement. This course promised to provide valuable insights into recognizing and managing emotions and behaviors in the workplace, but unfortunately, it failed to deliver on its potential due to the instructor's lackluster performance.

From the very beginning, it was evident that the instructor lacked any semblance of personality or enthusiasm. It felt as though she was merely going through the motions, reading from a script with a dry and monotone delivery that left me struggling to stay engaged. This lack of passion and energy made the course content feel lifeless and uninspiring.

One of the most frustrating aspects of the course was the instructor's tendency to read presentation slides verbatim. This not only made the lectures incredibly dull but also left me wondering why I had enrolled in the course in the first place. I could have easily read the same information from a textbook without subjecting myself to hours of mind-numbing lectures.

The course description promised to help us understand and apply emotional and social intelligence in a professional context. However, the instructor's inability to convey the material in an engaging manner made it challenging to grasp the concepts effectively. I found myself struggling to stay focused and retain the information, which defeated the purpose of taking the course.

I cannot in good conscience recommend the "Emotional and Social Intelligence" course to anyone seeking to develop their emotional and social intelligence skills as I found it to be a tedious and unfulfilling experience. I would advise potential students to seek out alternative courses or resources that offer a more engaging and effective way to develop these essential skills.

By Murad T

Nov 28, 2021

ESI is a powerful tool that we all need to cultivate to survive today's world; not only for material growth but also for personal mental health. This course by UC, Davis is effective and practical, enabling the student to take small steps towards developing strong EQ.

However, while the course focuses on changing our social responses to understand better and respond effectively to our surroundings, it barely if at all, considers one's personal health and how our own mental health can be affected by our surroundings. By practicing ESI, we may bring growth and harmony to many others and enable to put up a calm social response, but in reality, within ourselves, our body/mind might not accept our response nor may it be happy with our approach.

By Neelam W

Mar 27, 2023

I found this course really helpful for my personal and professional development by adopting useful strategies given in this course related to ESI. I would recommend this course to those who are struggling to manage their relations in their personal life and also on workplace. This course will give you better insight about your social and emotional competencies, self-reflection, motivation, self-management and helps to know and understand about self and others effectively so that we can manage and control our emotions and behaviors accordingly and manage our relations well.

By Khadija D

Oct 26, 2021

I knew going in that I was going to learn a lot but it was more than I expected, and highly illuminating. It's hard to shine a light on ourselves and see ourselves as we really are, and how we react to triggers and emotions, but once we 'lean into' the emotions, we come out better at the other end, I'm a much better person after this course than I was going in because of the knowledge I gained, and I plan to work on the suggested strategies and my own action plan to strengthen my emotional and social intelligence.

Thank you very much for setting up this highly-topical course.

By Youssef E

Oct 29, 2023

Excellent course about ESI. In this course, using "Daniel Goleman's model" who is the American author of Emotional Intelligence book, we are exploring the 4 quadrants of self-awareness, self-regulation, empathy, and relationship management. The course is short but very complete and you will have several opportunities to work on your ESI skills. You will learn to fully understand your own emotions and how to read the facial expressions of others to understand what they feel. I highly recommend this course!

By Hilda C C M

Oct 7, 2022

Muchas gracias por invitarme a tomar este curso, aprendí muchas cosas y me di cuenta sin saberlo que mi inteligencia emocional no esta tan mal, debo seguir estudiando mas al respecto y practicar para lograr una inteligencia emocional mejor.

By Dharmendra K M

Aug 14, 2022

The Learnings in ECI Course is an excellent way for having as a kit in your carrier growth. At a personal level and in the social world it is very much required not only to understand but execute.