Chevron Left
Back to Writing Skills for Engineering Leaders

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing Skills for Engineering Leaders by Rice University

4.7
stars
336 ratings
79 reviews

About the Course

Engineering leaders must write extensively for their jobs, and their writing needs to be professional, reader-focused, and error-free. What leaders write in particular can affect productivity and the bottom line, so the written communication that leaders create must be clear and concise. In this course, you’ll learn essential writing skills that you can apply in your daily activities on the job as an engineering leader. You’ll learn key principles in • Approaching various engineering genres • Using the writing process to create quality documents • Making your writing structured • Making your writing clear and concise • Handling style, tone, and voice Selected materials courtesy of Communication Faculty at Rice University - all rights reserved....

Top reviews

TH
Jul 8, 2020

This course provides necessary and useful writing skills that are highly related engineering. I haven't thought too much in writing until I took this course. Very helpful.

RS
Sep 8, 2020

The audience focused writing strategy - to think before you write (think about your audience, key message to convey), really helps me a lot to get my ideas across.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 77 Reviews for Writing Skills for Engineering Leaders

By sherry h

Jun 18, 2018

Update:I got the course finally completed (finally got a grade) a few days after I submitted the review.I have submitted my week 2 assignments before due date, but no grades have been given for 20 days. I also posted the link on the discussion forum as recommended by the course instructor. However, still no grades after 12 days of my post, even though the course instructor promise to check peer assignment grades throughout the week. Now the course ended with everything locked and I have no way to contact the instructor to get my assignment graded. This happened to my the oral communication course as well. How can I ever get this course completed.......Very frustrating experience, even though the course itself is very good.

By Yash Y

Jul 12, 2020

Very Good Course. It is very Informative.

By SHIVANAND T S

Apr 4, 2020

very good course for Engineers

By Farhana Q

Jun 30, 2020

A great course for engineers with useful content. However, there is no interaction with the instructors which is the key missing piece of your course AND the peer review process is ad hoc. This has to be more formalized; for example, writers should be paired with someone of a similar skillset and yet, I was reviewing work that requires significant errors. There needs to be a second draft review so writers can go back and review the feedback and then self-edit. There is no function to resubmit a second or final draft. Finally, the quizzes are not a good indication of learning.

By Tai-Chia H

Jul 9, 2020

This course provides necessary and useful writing skills that are highly related engineering. I haven't thought too much in writing until I took this course. Very helpful.

By Rola S

Sep 9, 2020

The audience focused writing strategy - to think before you write (think about your audience, key message to convey), really helps me a lot to get my ideas across.

By Kucheriavyi N A

Jan 11, 2021

Очень хороший курс всем советую

By Kiran A

Dec 23, 2017

Strong contents. However, I felt this was a bit imbalanced towards the first two weeks, and not as satisfactory as the first two courses in this specialization. Was expecting more assignments in this one. But five stars to Prof. Gayle Moran's engaging lectures!

By Ramiro R

Jul 21, 2017

Learned a lot on how to build paragraphs and use active voice instead of passive. Little details really make a difference when communicating in writing.

By Anjishnu D

Jun 16, 2020

It was a very good experience to attend this course. It tells you some very important writing skills that you should possess for a good writing.

By Gabriella C F

Mar 1, 2020

I really recommend this course. It gave me some valuable tools to improve my writing and subjects to research and develop even more my skills.

By Dr M R

Jun 27, 2020

All video lecturs are good. Problem statement for written assignments are elaborate and make us think before we write

By MD. E H

Jun 3, 2020

I think every graduate who completed their graduation with an engineering degree should enroll this specialization.

By German F

Oct 6, 2021

I have learned so much in this course. I gained a lot of confidence and my readers and team mates are thankful.

By Quân V T

Aug 7, 2020

A lot of useful knowledge about communication and writing and implementing a problem is good for an engineer

By Mahesh S

Apr 8, 2020

Valuable course to improve writing skill & thoughts before write. It surely makes Engineering Leaders.

By Fiqri N F

Jun 3, 2021

excellent course and very useful for improving a writing skills in engineering fields

By SAGAR S S

Jun 27, 2020

This course is very helpful for developing professional writing skills in Engineers

By vanshad k

Jun 9, 2020

I really learned a lot from this course about writing skills,paragraph writing etc

By Chaitanya K

May 4, 2018

A course for every one. Good representation of the different aspects of writing.

By CHIN Z L

Jul 20, 2020

Thanks for the course! I have learn lots of writing method in this course.

By Yugal

Apr 6, 2020

Awesome course. Interaction with peer and review with peers is great part.

By Arman A

Oct 5, 2020

Thank ypu so much coursera for ur help

coursera is the best learning site.

By Rohan P P

Jun 17, 2020

This is the most detailed course based on writing skills. I loved it.

By Lubdha B N

Jun 19, 2020

it had an amazing explanation,i liked the method of your touching.