Chevron Left
Back to What is Financial Accounting?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Financial Accounting? by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
418 ratings

About the Course

Students are introduced to the field of financial accounting through defining the foundational activities, tools, and users of financial accounting. Students learn to use the accounting equation and are introduced to the four major financial statements. Additional topics include ethical considerations, recording business transactions, and the application of credit/debit rules....

Top reviews

DA

Oct 28, 2022

This course is very detailed oriented and gives you a clear structure to the basics of financial accounting. It will give you the confidents and first steps to understanding accounting!

GW

Jan 25, 2022

I appreciate all the examples Professor Andrea provided quality visual examples that helped me understand the lessons. I wasn't confident at times, but her walk-throughs saved me.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 103 Reviews for What is Financial Accounting?

By MEGHA A A R

Jul 27, 2021

very helpful and to the point. covers most of the topics without lag and is easy to understand

By Barry J

Mar 17, 2021

The Professor keeps her lectures, exercises, and assessments "tight". No extraneous remarks or "stories".

By Nicolas S

Mar 3, 2021

Incredible! The way the teacher explains everything, and the class format is the most efficient of all. I do not have any accounting background and could do the course in two days, while other courses took me weeks and I could not understand properly the concepts. Marvelous!

By chhin s

Jun 5, 2021

I really like the course as it is recall all my lessons in the foundation year

By Patricia M

Jan 27, 2021

great course, very well put together and easy to follow and understand.

By Shan w

Feb 13, 2022

good course, step by step. easy understanding.

By Maria F

Feb 22, 2024

This course has provided me with a general understanding of the accounting equation, debits and credits, and what to do with each of the 3 main accounts being assets, liabilities and equity. It's a bit like learning a new language but the instructor offers clear explanations and directions plus the supplemental readings will increase the learners understanding. I surely need to review course 1 so that it sticks and further my understanding with the supplemental readings before moving on to module 2. This course has provided me with more key knowledge I was looking for.

By Debra K

Jun 15, 2022

I stumbled upon this course from another accounting course from a different institution that I felt didn't have the amount of hands-on activities that I personally needed to feel comfortable moving forward. Well, this one sure delivered! I found the instructor both knowledgable and engaging, and that she delivered a wealth of information without becoming confusing or overwhelming.

By Ba N

Mar 4, 2021

This course is one of the best for everyone since it is so well designed, taught and explained. Excel continues to be one of the most popular accounting tools used by small business and manufacturing company so I am glad that I have an opportunity to learn both Accounting and Excel here. I am ready to take second course in this specialization.

By Govencio M

Jan 15, 2023

I enjoyed and at the same time learned a lot about Fiancial Accounting (basic). I'm only used to simple debit and credit approach not knowing there's still the double entry approach in writing your journal, an ohhh the T account approach really helps a lot in balancing the sheet. More power and God bless you Mam.

By Hermella Y

Jun 14, 2023

This course was very insightful and engaging. I really liked the exercises after each week, they really were a nice touch. In addition, the instructor was very knowledgeable of the subject matter, and made me want to dive in more in other accounting courses.

By Muhammad N B J

Aug 5, 2021

Great start to learn accounting. The explanation and examples are excellent and help you understand the basic an accounting. This course is suitable for those who don't have any basic in accounting and want to start

By karan n

Jun 10, 2021

Really insightful in how it helps learners see the bigger picture and connections with the use of excel. I've not yet come across course that offers same level of understanding for intro to financial accounting.

By Deleted A

Oct 28, 2022

This course is very detailed oriented and gives you a clear structure to the basics of financial accounting. It will give you the confidents and first steps to understanding accounting!

By Gabre W

Jan 26, 2022

I appreciate all the examples Professor Andrea provided quality visual examples that helped me understand the lessons. I wasn't confident at times, but her walk-throughs saved me.

By Nicola S R

Apr 2, 2021

The Course is absolutely fantastic. Even if you dont have any Financial Accounting Background, the Course material still manages to get the skills transferred.

Thx so much

By Tolga A

Apr 13, 2021

It was a nice introduction to Financial Accounting. I had so much fun doing it. I highly recommend it to beginners who are enthusiastic about financial accounting.

By Mohammad D F

Aug 22, 2022

Excellent lessons and the flow of lectures and information was so user-friendly. Highly recommended for the beginners. Thanks to Cousera and UoCalifornia

By Summer N J

Sep 3, 2022

This was an excellent course. I learned a lot in this course. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to brush up on their accounting and t accounts.

By Kate T

Feb 6, 2022

Lessons broken down in easy to follow modules with examples of what being discussed. Quizes further developed my understanding of the material.

By AHMED M

Apr 24, 2024

excelent course, but its good for intermediate student who has a previous financial account intro.

By Diahenn v H

Oct 16, 2023

This course was very fun and easy. I love how the instructor broke everything down to understand.

By Adrian C

Aug 11, 2023

The course made it seem it was easy to understand the fundamentals of financial accounting.

By Mohammed I

Aug 15, 2022

The course is well designed and the trainer is really good. It clears the basic concepts.

By Mohamed E

Feb 4, 2022

I learnt how to jornalize entries , prepare t accounts to calculate ending balance