Chevron Left
Back to FinTech Law and Policy

FinTech Law and Policy, Duke University

4.8
80 ratings
27 reviews

About this Course

Being a successful FinTech firm requires more than just great technology; it also requires an understanding of the laws and regulations applicable to your business. This course will provide you with that understanding. You will learn about the critical legal, regulatory, and policy issues associated with cryptocurrencies, initial coin offerings, online lending, new payments and wealth management technologies, and financial account aggregators. In addition, you will learn how regulatory agencies in the U.S. are continually adjusting to the emergence of new financial technologies and how one specific agency has proposed a path for FinTech firms to become regulated banks. You will also learn the basics of how banks are regulated in the U.S. If you are unfamiliar with how these new financial technologies work, fear not. We will begin each new course section with a high-level overview of the underlying technology. While the course is principally focused on the U.S. FinTech industry, we cannot possibly cover every relevant legal and regulatory issue. Therefore, this course should not be construed as legal advice. Rather, the goal of the course is to familiarize you with the key legal and regulatory challenges FinTech firms in various sectors face, as well as the critical policy debates that are occurring in Washington D.C. and state capitals across the country....

Top reviews

By AM

Nov 04, 2018

I highly recommend this course especially if your are currently working in the financial services industry. I am always eager to learn and this course taught me many new topics that i was unaware of.

By SS

Mar 03, 2019

Very good board informative course that provides a good high-level understanding of the FinTech domain. Content look couple of years old, but still relevant.

Filter by:

27 Reviews

By Christopher Ndegwa

Mar 18, 2019

Excellent course that was engaging from start to end!

By Benjamin Leff

Mar 10, 2019

Really outstanding course! Coming from a background in blockchain/cryptocurrency and not one of traditional finance, this course really helped tie together a lot of the concepts I have been wanting to learn but could not find a trustworthy repository of information. This course was extremely helpful and by far the most challenging (even with my background in blockchain) that I have taken on Coursera thus far. Really great work!

By Michael T. Osterrieder

Mar 06, 2019

The course does a nice job of providing a high-level overview of the different products and services offered in the FinTech space, the relevant regulatory considerations, and the various risks present in the space. I enjoyed it and would recommend for others looking to gain an understanding of FinTech products, services, risks, and regulatory considerations.

By Swamy Sivasubramaniyan

Mar 03, 2019

Very good board informative course that provides a good high-level understanding of the FinTech domain. Content look couple of years old, but still relevant.

By Anastasia Serikova

Feb 27, 2019

Concise, clear and very useful course for everyone who whats to understand FinTech

By Steve Shamoo

Feb 24, 2019

This course was highly informative, exploring real world examples and current events to help the course content resonate with the student. As a well tenured professional in the field of FinTech. I was pleased with the valuable information that I learned and the way it was presented. The instructor does an excellent job relating the themes presented here in great details and helping to bring them you an every day format that makes it very consumable and elearning friendly!

By Ira Karaba

Feb 19, 2019

Good depth and breadth!

By Anna Khaprova

Feb 14, 2019

Excellent speaker. Description of complex issued by used of easlily understandable language (from the viepoint of non-native English speaker). Up-to-date information on recent developments in FinTech sector.

By Muhammad Fikri Yeong Bin Iskandar Shah

Feb 14, 2019

This is a good course to understand the regulatory environment in the US surrounding fintech, the lacunae and the challenges in regulations.

By ABDALLAH ALJABARI

Feb 14, 2019

Great information, good method of combining all information together, but sometimes not very interesting presentation to follow up, may be because of the nature of the information, but suggest next time to have multiple speakers.