Chevron Left
Back to Rebuilding Our Relationship with Food

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Rebuilding Our Relationship with Food by Stanford University

4.9
stars
190 ratings

About the Course

Have you ever made a conscious effort to change the way you eat (for health or other reasons) and then felt frustrated when your plans were derailed? You’re not alone. The best laid plans are often sabotaged by a food environment that makes it increasingly hard to make healthier food choices. This can leave many people feeling mistrustful of food or feeling that our relationship with food is somehow broken. In this course, we’ll explore the history of our changing food environment, the science behind cravings for unhealthy foods AND most importantly, you’ll learn some concrete strategies for rebuilding your relationship with food. You’ll learn to practice mindful eating and self-compassion (proven strategies for supporting healthier food choices) as well as designing a customized plan to protect your relationship with food and improve the health of your greatest asset - you! I can’t wait to start on this adventure together. Special thanks to: William Bottini, Sejal Parekh, Janine Van Schoor, Ann Doerr, Perry Pickert and the fantastic team at Friday Films....

Top reviews

MH

Dec 30, 2021

Very helpful course I would say this one was mostly focused on your perception on food and how you overall feel about your choice when it comes to meals.

AC

Nov 15, 2022

It is a practical and concise course that can aid anyone in a journey toward seeking ways to improve a healthy attitude toward food.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 54 Reviews for Rebuilding Our Relationship with Food

By Laura d C T Y

Jan 6, 2022

A great way to take steps to improve our relationship with food by being conscious of our eating process.

By Ernesto G

Nov 16, 2021

Excellent course, it gives points to observe our nutrition habits that let us improve our health.

By Kalpana R

Nov 29, 2021

A persuasive way of describing and detailing. You can not but learn some of the good habits.

By Sofiee S

Nov 11, 2021

I really loved this course. Maya is so calm and nurturing. I love learning from her.

By Nikos K

May 12, 2021

Ms Adam is amazing as always and makes every course she teaches really fun to follow. This course is not different than the rest. It gives you a basis for a start in mindful eating. I would prefer it if the course was a bit harder and really took an in depth look into all of that, with more scientific publications, since it is all made really simple. One way to find such information is to check the references in resources, but I would prefer even more of that and into the videos/readings of the course. Other than that it was once again a pleasure to take Ms Adam's course.

By Earl S

Nov 10, 2021

There are some truths in this course that you know exist in the subliminal part of your brain. Things that you've heard on the news or watched online about the food industry and processed foods that went ignored. This course confirms that I need to pay more attention to food, since food is one of the essentials of life. Consciousness first, then food, etc. The proof is when a pandemic happens and quarantine hits, and the only places in business are groceries and pharmacies, then you start paying attention to what is important. I am thankful for Dr. Maya's knowledge and wisdom that taught me to be mindful of what I eat, and listen to my body to achieve compassion/love and better health.

By Jana P

Sep 26, 2022

Great course. Very helpful even for those who knows a thing or two about nutrition and healthy eating - it helped me reevaluate my relationship with food, learn to eat more mindfully and make better food choices. I used to crave certain foods, find comfort in them, overeat - now I do this less and less frequently. This course teaches how to be kind to yourself,  don’t judge yourself or compare to anybody else, how to get back on track and stay motivated. I also loved friendly manner in which this course was presented. Many thanks to Maya Adam and all the people who worked on it!

By Alice R

Jun 27, 2021

Maya Adam is an excellent instructor. Her soft voice and encouraging message was a delight for me. I enjoyed the course tremendously. I audited the class. I have been a member of a weight loss support group for 25 years. 20 of those years I have been in leeway of my goal. I enjoy hearing and reading quality material on what works, because diets don't. I already knew a lot about mindful eating, but this course gives it a different spin. I hadn't realized it is probably the most important piece of the puzzle. Thank you Maya.

By Alexandra L

Mar 30, 2022

Firstly, Maya has a very pleasant voice, which captivates from the first seconds on a journey of mindfull eting. Secondly, the information is very clear: video, duplicate text, questions after, where you can tell your point of view on the proposed question. Thirdly, everything is structural, intuitive and easy to fit in the head. I already knew and studied a lot of things before, but with great pleasure I repeated what I had gone through and gladly accepted new information in practice.

By Num A

Jun 15, 2021

I have recommend this with everyone who have interesting in food and health. You will know since how your brain make you craving more when you eat food that contain much sugar. you will learn how to have self-compassion with your self when you made guilty to eating something bad. Other than marvellous lesson, the video animation of this course is so cute and easy to explain information. This course is so satisfied !

By abimana j

Dec 9, 2021

This course was more helpful because I have learnt much more about how to rebuild my relationship with food which improves the well being of human body and I have already started to apply mindful eating in my daily life because of the cause which brought positive impacts in my life.

By Xiaomei P

Feb 14, 2022

I like this course, and the parts I liked most are: The Two Questions, How food choices shape our food preferences, What is Self-compassion? Food Mindfulness, and Practicing Food mindfulnees. Many thanks to our wonderful instructor Maya from Stanford University and Coursera!

By Hafiz H A

Apr 30, 2022

After attending this course, I am able to covert theoritical things into actionable acts. Now, I have strong understanding of Reward Pathway, Limbic System, self compassion and Sensitivity Drift. This course is prerequisite for all the people working in Food Science field.

By Georgia L J

Sep 28, 2022

I am a registered nurse. I've seen people suffer and even die from years of bad food choices.

This course could be a wonderful launch point for so many people who do not know where to start. Thank you for giving me more tools with which I may help friends and family!

By Ghada C

May 17, 2022

Even if i already had information about healthy food because i am a fan of healthy food since 10 years, i learned a lot, and i dicovered new things and concepts.

Thank you very much for the quality of this specialization!

By Evgeniia M

Sep 19, 2022

Thanks for the course. I learned a lot of psychological moments that I had never even heard of anywhere else. Many thanks to the professor, everything was very easy to understand and listen to! Sincerely, Evgenia!

By María B L M

Jan 4, 2022

Excelente curso, donde puedes aprender las bases de una alimentación consciente. Si te interesa la psicología de la alimentación este es el curso indicado para iniciar tu camino en esa área de conocimiento.

By Esther O

Nov 21, 2022

Its a very important course everyone needs to part take as far as health is concerned because food takes up part of our healthy living. It creates the awareness for us to be conscious of what we take in

By Elitsa T

Dec 7, 2021

Very nice course! It made me reflect deeply regarding my personal food choices. Also, I liked the part with self-compassion. Was a great reminder to be kind to myself

By Magdaléna H

Dec 31, 2021

Very helpful course I would say this one was mostly focused on your perception on food and how you overall feel about your choice when it comes to meals.

By Larissa B

Jul 13, 2021

I enjoyed taking this classes so much, totally changed my relationship with food! Thank you Stanford for offering this amazing life changing course!

By Valerie H

Sep 14, 2021

This course is great, very informative and I had to take notes a lot. I'm glad I was here to learn this. The teacher has great voice, intonation.

By Alexander C

Nov 16, 2022

It is a practical and concise course that can aid anyone in a journey toward seeking ways to improve a healthy attitude toward food.

By Seohee P

May 24, 2022

Dear Dr. Maya Adam,

Your college lectures were truly amazing. How beautifully you explain each content. Gratitude for your guidance.

By Ning ( Q

Dec 15, 2021

Such an interesting and easy to follow course, with clear videos and creative interactive readings and content. Thank you Maya!