Chevron Left
Back to Formal Financial Accounting

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Formal Financial Accounting by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
297 ratings
61 reviews

About the Course

This course builds upon what you learned in Financial Accounting: Foundations and Financial Accounting: Advanced Topics and introduces you to formal foundations of financial accounting. The main purpose of the course is to familiarize you with technical terms in financial accounting, such as debit, credit and T-account. While knowledge on technical aspects of financial accounting is not necessary to understand and interpret financial statements, this knowledge is critical to be able to understand advanced topics in accounting. Formal Financial Accounting is a prerequisite course for the University of Illinois' iMSA program and the terminology we will cover will be used throughout the courses in iMSA program. The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, consistently ranked as one of the nation's top three accounting programs, now offers a master’s in accounting at a very affordable tuition rate and is completely online. The iMSA is a full Master of Accountancy program and students graduate with a highly recognized master degree. Try an open course or two, then apply for admission into the credit-bearing version, as you may be eligible to take credit-bearing courses during the application process. If you are missing any prerequisites for the full degree, you can complete Coursera courses to demonstrate readiness and strengthen your application for the iMSA. For more information on this exciting online master's in accounting program, refer to this link: https://www.coursera.org/university-programs/imsa ...

Top reviews

AL
Dec 8, 2017

The lectures are great and easy to understand, and the examples are well explained and easy to follow. The professor explains the material in a very understandable way .

JY
Apr 9, 2021

The course ties in the other ones nicely. Its "final exam" was a great real-world application. It should've been combined with the other two classes though!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 59 Reviews for Formal Financial Accounting

By Adriana H L

Dec 9, 2017

The lectures are great and easy to understand, and the examples are well explained and easy to follow. The professor explains the material in a very understandable way .

By John B

Sep 24, 2020

The course was easy to understand excellent explanation by the professor in detail.

if i could complete the course so can others

By Jeffrey N

Feb 10, 2018

Absolutely loved this course! It was a great compliment to the two other accounting classes I have taken

By Caio C

Jan 17, 2018

Very interesting to get yourself into this Formal Financial Accounting as a deeper analysis into the financial modules, Debit, Credit, Journal Entries and Ledgers. It does help you understanding better the concepts of financial accounting as a whole and the last grade exam, on Module 4, challenges you in a very effective way to put everything into practice. Thanks!

By Drew B

Jul 1, 2018

The structure of the three accounting courses was PHENOMENAL. Did a great job organizing course material so that I was not overwhelmed by too much information at once. The exercises were also excellent. Professor Urcan was wonderful. Cannot recommend highly enough.

By A R T

Feb 10, 2021

This course equals one year in college. This course really helped me in learning complex accounting terms and problems and helped me sharpen my accounting knowledge. i would recommend this course to anyone who wants to sharpen their accounting skills.

By Ismail W

Nov 22, 2020

The course was very effective and the videos give good explanation of the topics and methods in the course. As someone who had done accounting many years back it was a great revision and learning some new concepts not done before.

By Juan J C O

Feb 14, 2020

I recommend this course for non-accounting people, who want to learn and start to know accounting. If you make the exercises and examples you can learn a lot.

By John Y

Apr 10, 2021

The course ties in the other ones nicely. Its "final exam" was a great real-world application. It should've been combined with the other two classes though!

By Niramay A J

May 26, 2020

Its a good course overall. Especially for those who had Science stream in their high school and have taken Finance in their Undergrad

By Dinesh M R

Oct 6, 2020

The instructor is very good in explaining the fundamentals. I recommend this course to the beginners who wants to shine in accouting

By Yura Z

Apr 25, 2020

It's a good course if you took previously 2 courses "Financial Accounting Fundamentals and

Financial AccountingAdvanced Topics".

By Shaafiya m j

Oct 29, 2020

It is a very good course and it has benefited a lot like formal financial accounting and l thank Allaah the then the teacher

By 2.21914E+11 A M A

Apr 10, 2021

wonderful course, I have learned the double entry in this course and understood it perfectly.

By Rəsul Ə V

Apr 19, 2020

It was very useful for everyone who wants to learn information about financial accounting.

By Mohanakrishna C

Jul 15, 2020

Thank you very much. Very very impressed with this course and useful to me.

By Jhamka G

Jul 6, 2020

Learn Very Interesting Financial Skills in Financial Sector. Thanks You.

By Luci W

Apr 23, 2018

great course- learned a LOT and actually understand what I'm learning!

By Vinayak G

Nov 9, 2020

Extremely useful course. Strengthens your basics to the core.

By Rakshitha A J

May 30, 2020

This is great opportunity for learning basics of transactions

By Quenie A D

Dec 2, 2020

Very helpful! Thank you professor :) Thank you coursera!

By Abdelrhman R

Dec 28, 2018

it is an amazing course full of much useful information

By Zah K E

Feb 14, 2021

Very understandable and make you get the concept well

By Kishor M

Aug 19, 2020

The course is designed in very easy and effective.

By Dawn B

Oct 11, 2020

Great program. Detailed explanation by lecturer