Chevron Left
Back to Theatre and Globalization

Theatre and Globalization, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU)

4.7
(75 ratings)

About this Course

Learn how theatre and globalization have affected each other over the past century, and how to conduct your own research on global theatre histories....

Top reviews

By EC

Jun 25, 2018

The majority of material presented is done so in a variety of ways that keep the course moving forward.

By BS

May 17, 2019

This course has helped me to step into understanding Globalisation in the Indian context.

Filter by:

23 Reviews

By Bhramari Shivaprakash

May 17, 2019

This course has helped me to step into understanding Globalisation in the Indian context.

By Samipendra Banerjee

May 04, 2019

This was an excellent course on the basics of theatre and its connections with the phenomenon of globalization. The course was perfectly designed, balancing information and the sense of research direction. Many new ideas spring up from here. Thank you LMU.

By Mikako Hata

May 01, 2019

This course was really interesting because this course considers theatre art from the viewpoints of theatres, instead of scripts, actors, or dramas.

By Lloyd Grant O'Connor

Apr 28, 2019

Theatre and Globalization should be core module in any Theatre Studies Programme.

By Marcelo Giacaman Zaror

Mar 18, 2019

I would like to have a certificate for this course.

By Waddah Motia Azzam

Jan 24, 2019

Thank you very much to Professor Christopher Palmy for valuable information and to change our view of the theater in general and how we can document our old theaters and revive and re-live life a more unified look with the whole world

By Manuel Alejandro Cárdenas Cuevas

Dec 12, 2018

El curso ofrece una visión bastante optimista de los procesos de globalización. En términos generales, contiene una visión del mundo liberal que en muchos sentidos oculta zonas oscuras que la globalización ha producido; sin embargo, es cierto que la hibridación, el sincretismo y la comunicación entre las diferentes culturas (artistas de distintas zonas culturales) son hechos innegables que han alimentado y desarrollado la cultura humana, y que es en el arte, en este caso, el teatro, en donde los procesos de desterritorialización, modernidad y conectividad surgen para crear estrategias de apropiación y reapropiación del otro y/o los otros. Gracias.

This course offers a rather optimistic view of globalization processes. In general terms, it contains a liberal worldview that in many ways conceals dark areas that globalization has produced; however, it is true that hybridization, syncretism and communication between different cultures (artists from different cultural areas) are undeniable facts that have nurtured and developed human culture, and that in this case, theater , where the processes of deterritorialization, modernity and connectivity arise to create strategies of appropriation and reappropriation of the other and / or others. Thank you.

By Ping Shi Kao

Nov 26, 2018

This was my first course on coursera. I was very impressed by the curriculum and lessons given by Professor Balme. I am glad that I discovered this course, which provides a wide range of useful research methods and resources for my PhD project.

By Eldon Cline

Jun 25, 2018

The majority of material presented is done so in a variety of ways that keep the course moving forward.

By Michal J Pasternak

Jun 19, 2018

Interesting and challenging material which provokes reflection on the past and future of world theatre traditions and how migration, modernity and connectivity influences the development and evolution of the arts over time and space.