Chevron Left
Back to The History of Medicine: Philosophy, Science, and Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The History of Medicine: Philosophy, Science, and Psychology by University of California, Santa Cruz

4.8
stars
42 ratings

About the Course

"History of Medicine" provides an accessible historical and interdisciplinary perspective on medicine, focused primarily upon therapy and practice, to achieve better understanding of the scope, practice, and limits of medicine. Medicine is defined as the treatment of disease. Human attempts to understand and treat disease will be seen as evolving from the spiritual and mystical practices of the distant past, to the rational approach of the Classical World, and finally to the scientific thinking of the Renaissance and beyond. This course is appropriate for both a general audience and those entering medical and health professions....

Top reviews

KR

Apr 12, 2023

This was an amazing course! I learned so much more about the history of medicine and some important figures in medical history. Very fascinating!

ML

Jun 3, 2023

I enjoyed every moment of this course and I highly recommend it for all people interested in history of human health sciences.

Filter by:

1 - 19 of 19 Reviews for The History of Medicine: Philosophy, Science, and Psychology

By Víctor A

May 30, 2023

Excelente curso. Excelente revisión histórica de la medicina desde sus principios hasta la actualidad; Las reflexiones sobre el futuro basadas en la comparación de la situación actual (2023), "en la que desde mediados del siglo pasado a excepción del AIDS, no ha habido ni hay ninguna epidemia a nivel mundial o pandemia global de ningún tipo", con la era de los principios de los cuidados, es extraordinaria.

Una vez más agradecer a COURSERA y a la University of California Santa Cruz, la oportunidad de aprendizaje.

Confirmándose COURSERSA, como una plataforma básica en internet, para la transmisión de conocimientos.

By Mohammed L

Jun 4, 2023

I enjoyed every moment of this course and I highly recommend it for all people interested in history of human health sciences.

By George A

Jul 18, 2023

İ recommend this course for any prospectus student aspiring to go medical school ! the DOCTORS EXPLAİNED SO WELL!

By KIMBERLY R

Apr 13, 2023

This was an amazing course! I learned so much more about the history of medicine and some important figures in medical history. Very fascinating!

By Nizam M

Mar 2, 2024

excellent course for an overview of Medicine. really great professors, especially Dr. Gates. thanks

By Joe M

Jun 13, 2023

Outstanding course! Great professors! Wish I knew all that they know!

By 김세준

Mar 31, 2023

A great lecture for beginners about medical knowledge!

By TONG Z

Apr 28, 2024

very good history course!

By Jenaya J

Oct 17, 2023

Very interesting course

By tara k

Nov 27, 2023

Very enjoyable.

By Magdalena R

Apr 12, 2024

Mega ciekawy

By Valérie A

Sep 14, 2023

thanks

By Rajprabu R

Dec 27, 2022

great

By Seren H

Apr 16, 2024

I found this course immensely accessible, insightful and informative. As a student balancing subjects the ability to work with the variety of resources (videos, recommended reading etc) was engaging and questions at the end of each video encouraged me to consolidate my understanding. Whilst not being overly complicated, the course delved into lots of ideas and helped me build a basis in my knowledge of medicine in the past, so I can go onto more advanced studies and other topics with a foundation of familiarity.

By Zeynep A Ş

Aug 27, 2023

I liked that the subject was handled in a very broad way, both from a historical perspective and in terms of comprehending all the topics that the subject touched on. I also think that the cooperation of the two professors makes the course more useful.

By maria m

Aug 3, 2023

This course was amazing and it was very easy for me to complete this course. Btw, I completed it in 11 days only. The teachers were quite good in the videos were understandable. I think it would be better if you use slides in the to explain a topic.

By B G A B

Aug 2, 2023

I learned a lot, thank you.

The quality of the transcripts were poor. Could easily be corrected.

By Lilian G

Mar 19, 2023

its a good course but i dont like the final project where it has to be peer edited

By LayLay C

Mar 20, 2023

It was challenging at best. I loved the ending project.