Chevron Left
Back to HPV-Associated Oral and Throat Cancer: What You Need to Know

Learner Reviews & Feedback for HPV-Associated Oral and Throat Cancer: What You Need to Know by Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

4.7
106 ratings
30 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to HPV-Associated Oral and Throat Cancers: What You Need to Know This course, offered by the Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, is designed to inform primary care physicians and otolaryngologists (general and head and neck surgeons), as well as medical students, residents, nurses, physician assistants, medical assistants, about HPV-associated oral and throat cancers. It is also applicable to individuals who wish to broaden their knowledge and vernacular about this disease process, especially those who may have been diagnosed with HPV and/or HPV-associated oropharyngeal cancers. The course has been divided into four modules, each of which is followed by multiple choice questions to help attendees further understand this condition: Week 1 - CME Information, Accreditation and Introduction (2 min) Week 2 - Module 1: HPV-associated Throat Cancer: An Epidemic (11 min. + quiz) Week 3 - Module 2: HPV Risk Factors and Clinical Presentation (10 min. + quiz) Week 4 - Module 3: Management of HPV-associated Oropharyngeal Cancer (13 min. + quiz) Week 5 - Module 4: Prevention, Vaccination, and the Horizon (10 min. + quiz) The primary objective of this course is to provide physicians with a thorough understanding of how to better diagnose and treat patients who have HPV-related oral and throat cancers. Those participating in this course have the option to receive CME credit. Please review the CME Information and Accreditation prior to proceeding with the course modules. Release Date: February 4, 2019 Expiration Date: February 4, 2021 Estimated Time to Complete: 1 hour CME Fee: $30 CME Credits Offered: 1.0 CME Reviewer: Marita S. Teng, MD How to Receive CME Credit: For physicians who are interested in earning CME credits and other allied health professions who wish to receive a Verification of Attendance certificate, you must: a. Complete Signature Track (details to follow after enrolling in this course) b. Complete registration process through the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, CME Office using the following link: https://mssm.cloud-cme.com/default.aspx?EID=4177&P=3000&CaseID=78 (You will be required to pay an additional non-refundable fee of $30.00 in addition to the $49.00 fee for signature track.) To obtain your CME/CE certificate: Email an attached copy of your Verified Certificate from Coursera to the CME office at the Icahn School of Medicine at cme@mssm.edu and request your CME certificate. Please make sure the subject line reads: Coursera CME Course Planners Lynette Bobbitt Lisa Chase Eric M. Genden, MD Jill Gregory Gale Justin Paul Lawrence Carter Lim Erik Popil...

Top reviews

MS

Dec 07, 2018

That course was really helpful. It give me a deep insight and overview of the HPV associated disease in general population. I am also looking for some more relevant topics. Thanks.

PM

Sep 25, 2017

Wonderful and informative course, demystified the majority of the stigma surrounding the HPV virus, transmission, and treatment. I would highly recommend to anyone.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 28 Reviews for HPV-Associated Oral and Throat Cancer: What You Need to Know

By David H

Mar 11, 2019

great course

By Dr. P P

Mar 15, 2019

Nice information , improved my knowledge about HPV. Please keep making much more videos like these. Thank you.

By Christmar D Q L

Dec 06, 2018

Great course!

By Muhammad S

Dec 07, 2018

That course was really helpful. It give me a deep insight and overview of the HPV associated disease in general population. I am also looking for some more relevant topics. Thanks.

By Theano K

May 28, 2017

extremely important knowledge for all individuals, not only health professionals

By MANDADI D

Dec 13, 2016

The course gives an insight into HPV associated Cancers but it would have been more helpful if you had described all Cancer stagings and their invidual treatment modalities and prognosis rather than generalised staging

By Gerda S

May 23, 2018

Short and precise Explanation. I could do the course in one shot. The teacher is clear and very good to understand. I wished the course could be longer. Thank you for introduction. Slides should appear a bit longerafter the last

By Martha J O H

Jul 24, 2017

This course is a practical review about HPV , it allows you to focus in main points of clinical attention to the patient.

By Ernest A

Mar 15, 2017

Very educative! It demystified some misconceptions I had about HPV. Very succinct. Awesome instructor!

By Helena R R L M J

Aug 26, 2017

Very interesting and usefull for my daily basis as a oral surgeon. Thank you!

By Juan G C M

Jan 21, 2018

Oral and throat cancer could be transmissible through Oral/anal sex and promiscuity is a reason wich multiply the incidence worldwide.

By Saman J A

Feb 15, 2017

Very helpful, thank you so much!

By JOHN Q

May 05, 2017

Great course with wonderful and important information.

By Julio C N P

Dec 22, 2017

g

o

o

d

By basem m s

Nov 30, 2017

a good course

but i expected more details

By Nay A

Jun 22, 2018

Thank you so much for your very informative course.

By Allison K S

Dec 08, 2017

Very informative.

By Y S

May 11, 2019

Best course to learn about HPV associated oral and throat cancers and their management .

By Dr. L F

Jun 26, 2019

very accurate information and data, helpful for all physicians

By Phumelele B N K

Aug 02, 2019

Clear and precise course on a topical subject

By Marianne B

Oct 24, 2019

Course was very well presented by Dr Genden. Information was clearly formatted and very relevant to any one in the health profession or not. The knowledge provided encourages one to be more diligent in observation and discussion of this very common virus, its treatment options and management...for me- in my field of dentistry.

Thank you for the opportunity to experience this course in the Coursera platform.

By Marvin B

Dec 28, 2018

Overall, I would recommend this course as an HPV cancer primer for those seeking base knowledge.

Gardasil 9 has FDA approval through 45 year old individuals. A section needs to be updated.

Immunotherapy topics need to be included. At a minimum I would expect a module including CTLA4 & PD1/L1 MABs with tumor based vaccines.

The course points out reducing to 6000 cGy radiation treatment for HPV head / neck cancers.

By Kristine M B B

Apr 08, 2019

Pretty straightforward course.

By Roshan N

Sep 02, 2017

Excellent course. But I was expecting more rigorous course contents and quiz. To be honest, this course is all about learning and quizzes are too easy to get passing grade. ;-)

By Mark

Jun 09, 2019

Good overall course; a little simplistic but still informative