Chevron Left
Back to Basics of Inclusive Design for Online Education

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Basics of Inclusive Design for Online Education by University of Colorado Boulder

4.7
stars
46 ratings
22 reviews

About the Course

This course provides instruction and strategies to support you in developing a course that is inclusive to students with a wide range of abilities, including students with disabilities. We cover effective practices to increase inclusion and avoid some of the common accessibility issues that can arise in an online course. In particular, Basics of Inclusive Design Online covers course organization, the accessibility of Microsoft Office and PDF documents, making course instruction pages accessible, captioning of videos, making images accessible, and designing for learning differences. We also discuss how inclusive course materials can help all students, including students without disabilities. This course will appeal to those who want both a broad overview of the range of accessibility considerations and also a step-by-step guide of how to check documents for accessibility, caption a video, or prepare course content for non-visual users. Course logo credit: "web accessibility word cloud" by Jill Wright (https://goo.gl/xyUoeU). Copyright - some rights remain. See https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/...

Top reviews

DN
Apr 24, 2020

After taking this course I now understand accessibility and I am able to apply this new found knowledge to the courses I build to create a more inclusive online educational experience for students.

LH
Apr 14, 2019

The design plan for this course progressed along a logical pathway for understanding. Including scenario-based assignments was a strength of the course.

Filter by:

1 - 21 of 21 Reviews for Basics of Inclusive Design for Online Education

By Linda H

Apr 15, 2019

The design plan for this course progressed along a logical pathway for understanding. Including scenario-based assignments was a strength of the course.

By Samuel N M

Feb 24, 2019

Very useful. Practical. I can confidently recommend this for anyone interested in inclusive educaiton

By Adria B

Jun 10, 2019

The information in this course was extremely useful, and the course itself was constructed in a thoughtful, engaging way. I struggled with the peer review process required to "complete" each module: there was never anything to review until Monday night or Tuesday night, with a deadline to review for Wednesday. It was difficult to balance the peer review requirement in such a small timeframe when I was also juggling a full time job *and* teaching in the evenings. I wish they would revise this portion of the course to make it more accessible. Otherwise, I definitely learned A LOT and benefited tremendously from this course. Thank you!

By Madlen O

Jan 9, 2020

Good content but seems dated. It's mentioned several times to "avoid using a Mac to create or check accessible content" which isn't very helpful to us Mac only users. Office 365 does have accessibility features and checker, so it seems a shame to not include those Mac users or keep the course up to date. Can't find any information on the course publish date but as they are referring to office 2013 it would suggest that it is several years behind.

By Nazari J A

Mar 21, 2019

With thanks to my Trainers and to the University of Colorado Boulder’s team whom provides this important basic Education. This course is and essential even for Non-Disabled People.

thank you Trainers

thank you University of Colorado Boulder

By Ryan C

Jan 6, 2020

Great source of information and resources for checking and working with accessibility! It's disappointing that the Microsoft tools don't all function the same on Macs as they do on PCs (some functions were not enabled for Word on Macs, which made assessing others' work difficult at times when there were no immediate alternatives for people using a Mac that didn't have some form of windows or access to a remote desktop running windows). Other than that it was great!

By Joy H

May 5, 2020

I would give this course 5 starts for the knowledge presented, but the need to wait weeks to finish the course because I was waiting to review peers was painful. This needs to be corrected. I was done with all assignments and videos and had to check back daily to see if I could complete the course due to the peer grading requirement.

By Erika G

Nov 21, 2019

The concepts are interesting, and I learned a lot about making online materials accessible. Having the option to download the videos is great in case we want to revisit them for future reference. I really liked the interactive transcript feature displayed on the course, I believe it models best practices! I would suggest to update the videos so they have a more contemporary look. Also, I would suggest to have accessibility experts evaluating our assignments--relying solely on other classmates takes away from the credibility of the course and does not allow for us to really know if our suggestions were truly pertinent. Moreover, the instructions should reflect the evaluation criteria. I would complete an assignment and then, when correcting another one, i would realize that the instructions did not fully correspond to the criteria. For instance, when captioning a video the duration time was not specified in the instructions, but the criteria said it had to be at least 2 minutes.

By Teresa M

Apr 23, 2019

This course was a complete surprise. I learned so much more than I expected about creating an inclusive course. The videos and included transcripts were excellent examples of course materials that were inclusive. I have already recommended this course to three people.

By France B

Sep 3, 2018

Great course! It really gives you the basics of inclusive design. Now I know where to look when I need more information. It is a great way to start if you are interested in accessibility issues. It gives you an idea on how much needs to be done.

By Davmarius N

Apr 25, 2020

After taking this course I now understand accessibility and I am able to apply this new found knowledge to the courses I build to create a more inclusive online educational experience for students.

By Yelani R F

Jun 19, 2019

Very informative and well designed!

By Skye B

Jun 22, 2020

I felt that this course taught me the basic skills to accessible online material. I would have given it 5 starts however the requirements for the assignments did not mirror the expectations on the peer reviews. If these were both in line it would definitely be a 5.

By Jennifer L

Jul 8, 2019

Very informative and the design makes it possible to complete while working full-time. Thank you!

By Charles A M

Jun 20, 2020

Thank you to the Trainers from the University of Colorado Boulder’s for a wonderful course. I do have a better understanding of the importance of accessibility. I design my own courses and with this knowledge I have had to change most of my material to make it more accessible.

By Janet R P

Jun 19, 2020

I think that the course addressed accessibility in educational courses quite well. All the assignments were well described and certainly helped me think practically about different scenarios as a trainer.

By Deemi O

Jul 6, 2020

I really enjoyed this course, it really helped me look for ways I could make my work more accesible to others.

By RIZAVILLALYN V S

Oct 24, 2020

I have learned a lot from the course I enrolled and i am looking forward for my next course.

By Sarvesh S B

Jun 14, 2020

It was a wonderful learning. Thank you very much.

By Valeria P R

Aug 3, 2020

Amazing content with a high relevance.

By anitha

Sep 2, 2020

some videos translation is not good else the course is very useful to learn different aspects of video making