Chevron Left
Back to Indigenous Canada

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Indigenous Canada by University of Alberta

4.8
stars
20,906 ratings

About the Course

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Top reviews

MJ

Dec 8, 2020

Thanks for teaching me a lot about indigenous history in Canada. I am inspired to learn more. I just finished Chelsea Vowel’s book, Indigenous Writes and I’m currently reading the summary of the RCAP.

EF

Nov 2, 2020

Such important information for us all. This course was eye-opening and should really be taken by every Canadian. The course flows along nicely and is easy to navigate. I am better for having taken it.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 7,363 Reviews for Indigenous Canada

By Garry B

Aug 27, 2021

Wow! I did not know what I did not know. This course is a great introduction to the tip of a very important knowledge iceberg. Please find the time to take this course.

By Jordan L

Aug 28, 2021

This was a very comprehensive course and I am grateful for the opportunity for UofA to provide this free through Coursera. Thank you for this!

By Sharonlee L

Aug 27, 2021

This course was an excellent eye opener to the history and how we can make a better future. Thank you for the opportunity to learn at no cost

By Stephanie C

Sep 27, 2021

This course was great and the structure of it really allowed me to study when time permitted. I would highly recommend this course.

By Alex I

Aug 27, 2021

A fantastic overview course packed with knowledge that frankly should be delivered to all Canadians in Grade school/ High School.

By Scott C

Feb 21, 2022

Really enjoyed this course and would love to do some follow up on topic. I would love a part 2 or direction to another course

By SUZANNE S

Feb 21, 2022

Very well presented and informative. Would recommend to anyone wanting to learn more about Indigenous people and history.

By Gord W

Aug 27, 2021

This course is the history they should be teaching in high schools in Canada. Fascinating and thought provoking.

By Côté M

Sep 27, 2021

This course helped me a lot to understand Indigenous people and theirs claims. You did a great job.

By Terry M

Dec 18, 2021

Well worth the time investment. Carefully put together and something in here for everyone.

By Wendy B

Aug 27, 2021

I am both humbled and honoured to have taken this course, thank you for the opportunity!

By Stephanie D

Aug 26, 2021

This was a very informative course and should be part of all Canadian History B.A.

By Bilqis W

Mar 9, 2022

Incredibly enlightening. This shoul be a staple in Canadian higher education.

By Brenden M

Dec 18, 2021

Wonderfully accessable and open for everyone's schedule!

By Jay P

Aug 27, 2021

An Excellent course!! I've learned a lot.

By Kelly K

Aug 28, 2021

All Canadians should take this course.

By Jesse M

Aug 27, 2021

Enjoyed this course, and learned lots!

By Jamie R

Aug 28, 2021

great course!

By Natasha M

Aug 28, 2021

Excellent!!

By Theresa G

Jun 19, 2017

When I see indigenous people comment online, they trash-talk both government and first nations community leaders alike. They distrust both the government who never came through on promises and the leaders who have underfunded their communities for their own enjoyment.

I didn't see many solutions suggested or a means to an end to some of these issues in this course so in spite of my new found knowledge it would seem this will remain a vicious circle of poverty, distrust, and fear and this saddens me that that there is still little hope for a resolution.

However, this course did bring to light many aspects of my heritage that I was not aware of. My birth father is Métis however my birth mother is not. I was given up for adoption to a Caucasian family when I was 8 months old, so was unaware of being Métis for almost all of my life, let alone did I ever feel remotely a part of it once I found out. So this course also suggested that when you are no longer a part of the Indigenous culture and do not look Indigenous in any way, and because you will never experience the hardships or really know anyone who has, you will never be part of that culture. It's like you get to sit in the front row but will never be in the show.

The rest of the course was okay, the history I knew, the issues I knew, although the elaboration of them was nice. The introduction of key individuals in forming some semblance of a united indigenous culture were good to know. But this course also reminded me that indigeneity in Canada is also about a fractured and injured culture of people, who are separated by language, distance and who will never have the funding that other communities enjoy, and it will never be a whole. After all had there been more formal territories when NA was colonized, maybe it wouldn't be indigenous Canada, it would be Enoch Territory or Papaschase Territory or State and many others where Alberta currently sits and it would now be the United Territories of North America, but alas that will never be.

By Anna A A

Apr 3, 2022

It was such a pleasure to learn, watch, understand, and share this history and experience with the presenters, guests, artists, leaders, elders, scholars, and faculty.

An exemplary, respectful, detailed, thoughtful, inclusive, dynamic, and thorough introductory to Indigenous Canada, Canadian history, colonization, cultural genocide, governance, resistance, Indigenous contributions in every field and area of life, both Indigenous and mainstream, and the important social, historical, cutlural, political, environmental, gender, identity, and colonial patriarchy and control that have shaped Indigenous history and Canadian history.

Some modules could have given more in-depth examples or a critical analysis of certain topics (example, Module 11, Social Media), and many of the figures, artists, movements, etc. presented could have had more representation for greater effect (example, showing the specifc artwork pieces by Odjig, Nicolson, Belcourt, Belmore, etc.). As well, a module on some of the major issues contemporary Indigenous youth, families, and adults face could have been dealt with (example: poverty, discrimination, addictions, displacement). Perhaps the point was not to introduce that topic, and of course, there were references to it, but a discourse on how to work toward healing and reconciliation, from both indidenous and non-indigenous perspectives, action, and responsibility, could have been interesting.

Thank you for the incredible effort, research, representation, artwork, guests, information, course texts, and videos. It was an honour to learn and I am more dedicated and determined than ever to continue my journey of understanding, solidarity, support, and change, for all indigenous peoples and for the better of Canadian society.

Anna Acito Ashton

By Kelly P

Dec 2, 2021

I wish I could give this course 5 stars but...

First let me start off by saying I've really enjoyed Indigenous Canada. History as we know it has been so manipulated by our Governments and world leaders. There are so many things that I never knew because it was never taught in school or an incorrect version was taught. This course was very eye opening. I am a spiritual person and I've always felt disconnected from society as we know it. The values and community structures the indigenous people had before colonization were incredibly functional, spiritual and smart. I felt connected again.

That being said, one major complaint I have is that the tests in this course are ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE. Each week I would think I fully understood what I was learning, until I got to the quiz. The wording on some of the questions almost sounds backwards. There were a few times that my brain couldn't comprehend what was being asked. The test questions need to be reworded and SIMPLIFIED. I feel like whoever wrote some of the test questions were trying very hard to use "big" words to sound more educated. However, it did the opposite. Also some of the questions are referred to differently in the videos/course notes than they are in the quiz, I actually doubted myself many times thinking that I didn't study enough or I didn't understand as much as I thought I did. This was extremely frustrating and had me DREADING having to do the quiz every week and because of this my willingness to learn started to diminish. Thank god for CTRL-F. I had to search many key words from the quiz questions to actually get the right answers but even doing this, the answers weren't always clear.

By Sherry P

Jan 8, 2022

This course was interesting, delving into details high school history books left out - thank you for filling the blanks and connecting the dots that no one was able to say publicly when I grew up. Sorry to hear things really went sour in the 19th century, generational trauma still reverberates, foreign legal and political establishments still seem adverse.

However, I am still seeking a way forward. As a second generation immigrant and an empath myself, I have always felt the darkness in Canada and sought to bring light to what really happened here. Sorry is but a word that implies I come from a privileged position immune from the collective, unspoken truth in this country, but the historical reality has brought me down as well. Being an immigrant to Canada still isn't easy, but when newcomers finally raise their noses from the grindstones, how can we (regardless of European, Arabic, East Indian, Asian, or African origins) approach Indigenous persons safely, without triggering anyone's historical pain?

I am more interested in training on Indigenous protocol, manners, and modern cultural achievements. As mentioned in the last module of this course, an overview of current literature, art, social media, movies, and perhaps natural medicine to highlight the strengths would be beneficial to everyone. For example, I understand storytelling is important, but do Indigenous cultures prefer the politically correct approach Canada advocates as a way to avoid painful truths and glairing differences between immigrant cultures, or is honesty valued in interpersonal relationships and how should that unfold and enrich an inclusive community?

By Murray C

Dec 24, 2021

Overal this course was very interesting. There was alot of information and I learned alot. With this said, I would like to make some suggestions as it relates to the content. I found some of the terminalogy used in this course to be confusing. Often I found myself looking up words to determine their meaning. Including during the quizes. I noted in some of the forums, others spoke of this as well. I would suggest reviewing and changing some of this language to use simple terms/language that is easier to understand. Compicated language causes confusion and stress and is demotivating to students. It is not necessary in my view. My moto has always been, "Let's keep this simple and not compicate things if we can". The second concern was when I read pops up that said things like, "42 percent of people did not pass this quiz on the first attempt, don't get discougaed you can try again". I found this disturbing. If the failure rate is this high, there is a problem with the quiz itself and something needs to change. This can be demotiviating as well to say the least. Another pop up was simliar and had a percentage of around 53% . I just don't recall the exact number but when these percentages are near or over half the entire group in the program that fail a quiz, that's a problem with the quiz/material and not the students abilities. Thank you for this opportunity. As mentoned, overal this was a great program and I learned alot. All the best to you all...

By Jane G

Jan 30, 2023

An enormous amount of information to absorb, but every Canadian needs to learn what this course offers. May be difficult for some - which probably means those are the ones who need it most. As a white settler who thought I knew how shameful our treatment of Indigenous people had been and still is, I learned it was even worse than I though.

I would have rated it as 5 star except the final module, on the arts, was not up to the standard of the rest. It was good on Indigenous visual art, but not one mention of all the fabulous books or plays by Indigenous creators. Minimal mention of music when there are so many wonderful Indigenous musicians. A long performance art video of when a short clip would have been plenty and that would have left time to showcase other performers.