Chevron Left
Back to Influencer Marketing Strategy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Influencer Marketing Strategy by Rutgers the State University of New Jersey

4.4
stars
181 ratings

About the Course

Influencer marketing is the practice of engaging internal and industry experts with active networks to help achieve measurable business goals. This course is about strategy. Although there is no all-purpose, one-size-fits-all influencer marketing strategy template, you will learn how to tailor one for a wide variety of B2B, B2C, and nonprofit organizations using the two-step flow model of communication. But this course is also about tactics. I believe, “Strategy without tactics is the slowest route to victory. Tactics without strategy is the noise before defeat.” So, you will learn both in this 6-week long course. Your final project for this course is to create a pitch deck for a social media influencer strategy. The purpose of your final project is to give you a concrete artifact that you can use to demonstrate your mastery of new competencies and skills to either the executives in your current organization or to prospective employers....

Top reviews

SL

Invalid date

Very important to what I'm doing for my job & had some insightful lectures. Sometimes it can be repetitive, but I saw that as a chance to reinforce important points of the strategy.

LW

Invalid date

i really learned a lot about influencer marketing in this course. you get out of online courses what you put into it. i put the effort in and gained a lot of knowledge

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 60 Reviews for Influencer Marketing Strategy

By Deanna T

Nov 21, 2019

I thought Greg's teaching was very dry and there was a lot of unnecessary rambling and content. There was also A LOT of assignments. I think this course should be taught by an actual influencer that's more relevant to the audience taking the course -- it would be cool to hear about their experience. Or, instead of talking about brand examples, bring in a real brand marketer to share their experience. It could change it up to have someone else talk.

By Ron B

Dec 27, 2019

The instructor begins the class with a tirade about how influencer marketing requires soft skills and creativity that can't be automated by software so that no "push-button" solution to influencer marketing is possible. The trouble is, these are skills that can't easily be taught to humans either. After working through this class, I still do not feel that I have a very good idea about how to engage influencers to come onboard my cause. This seems to be something that can't really be taught because it is very specific to the exact situation - and worse - the solution is often innovative and surprising. No "push button" solution for humans neither. So how should one approach influencers to take on a project? The answer seems to be to go away and think of something clever that will get their attention. This is the part that I was really hoping to learn how to do and I got little out of this class in that regard.

By Tatiana A

Nov 23, 2020

Badly organized, poor sound and video sometimes, for me, it was a little too obvious. Unfortunately I did not learn much from it. So far, the worst Coursera course for me.Can't recommend it

By Alexande t G

Aug 13, 2021

sad to say i am 2 weeks in and this course is terrible

- not engaging

-boring listening to a old man speak

- lack of illustration

-lack of eye contact -lengthy videos for no reason

-lack of material

By Cyril D

Sep 10, 2019

Structured, illustrated w/ solid examples, delivery is excellent from a professional who clearly loves explaining, directly applicable. Highly recommend it.

By Richard O

Oct 19, 2020

Mostly, I found the content interesting and engaging. I appreciate the timing and pacing of each lesson. I do have a few concerns, mostly technology related. There were large sections with audio glitches which I reported at the time with no acknowledgment. I recall one time when the audio did not sync with the current lesson. I suppose my other concern is that on more than one occasion during peer review I was presented with peer assignments that had nothing to do with the topic. I did what I thought to be due diligence and explain the reason for the low grade and to apologize.

By Fionn O

Jun 26, 2023

This course is wildly out of date and out of touch with the realities of influencer marketing. The fact that this course does not once mention platforms such as TikTok or Twitch, and barely mentions Instagram should tell you just how little practical value it will offer to a learner in 2023. As someone working professionally in influencer marketing who was looking to up skill, this was a huge waste of time, and almost entirely irrelevant in its content to a modern brand/agency workplace. Even worse, if this was someone's introduction to IM and they set out to use the strategies and tools provided in this course, they would almost certainly be setting themselves up to fail. Reasons to not take this course: Completely out of date and irrelevant content, with an instructor who's view of influencer marketing is totally out of touch with modern practice. Reasons to take this course: You can zip through it quickly and earn a nice credential for your LinkedIn from a decent university.

By Bijal M

Oct 4, 2020

A very informative course. Sometimes it gets a bit lengthy and too monotonous. Some more visuals , excitement and conversations would have been more useful . A good course overall. I can go back to it for reference multiple times. Thank you professor !

By Rosa C

May 12, 2020

Need updates.

By lori w

Jun 2, 2020

i really learned a lot about influencer marketing in this course. you get out of online courses what you put into it. i put the effort in and gained a lot of knowledge

By Baiba T

Feb 6, 2022

Did not liked that I have to pay extra to get accest to study materials.

By rupesh

Apr 22, 2021

I have tried many Coursera courses earlier too, but the roadblock was doing assignments and projects, but I was determined to complete this course, luckily this course is designed by eminent and renowned digital marketing professor 'Greg', and course content was very engaging, when I completed my first essay I realized the importance of doing assignments, and learning by doing has really given me edge, I presented the final project to my Marketing Director and she had all accolades for this presentation, the final pitch is so good that we can easily get buy-in to invest more in influencer marketing in our marketing organization, thanks to Coursera for this wonderful experience, looking forward to continuing my learning.

By M s

Sep 27, 2021

While I am happy to have gained my certificate, I thought the course was very long and too many assignments and quizzes. I think the course could have been far more condensed.

By Sam S

Mar 3, 2022

It's nice for a basic understanding of influencer strategy if you're already in marketing. However it is outdated and needs to be updated with new information.

By Ayush A

Dec 14, 2022

Completed course. Still didn't get certificate.

By Murshidul H

Jan 15, 2023

Very boring, not engaging at all, with no slides, and talking about whatnot.

By Miljana P

Jan 2, 2021

Although my master's studies (that I finished 2 years ago) were closely related to the social media and strategic marketing, I found it very important to keep myself updated with the latest changes in these fields. For every one who has the same goal, this Rutgers course is highly recommended.

By George F

Jan 10, 2024

This was a tremendous benefit to my career. I am a long time marketer, and Gregs course made the 'influencer" marketing tactic of todays marketing options crystal clear. Thank you Greg and Rutgers, for making this course accessible and fluid.

By VIRAT C

May 28, 2020

Best course for Digital Marketing and Influencer Marketing and the way they teach us is very unique

I able to learn lot of things with this course.

Very helpful for those who wants to pursue their career in digital marketing field.

By Paul D

Mar 13, 2022

I enjoyed taking the course because I learned more principles regarding digital marketing. The examples and case studies helped. Thank you for sharing your expertise and experiences. And thank you for the certificate. :)

By Tameka M

Dec 20, 2018

I would recommend this course to any social media and digital marketing professionals that want to learn more about influencer marketing and how to build a strategy campaign. It was excellent!

By Gagan S

Feb 20, 2022

Greg Jarboe kept the topic intersting througout the course along with keeping the level of course at par with the credibility of university. Thank to you for great insights.

By Jazmin B

Jun 8, 2022

te brinnda una visión más amplia del marketing influencer y lo complejo que puede ser esta, ya que el mercado en las redes sociales es muy amplio

By Ammar M H

Sep 12, 2022

Focused and up to date course backed by hard earned experience, that convinsingly sell you on the importance of influencer marketing today.

By Braden T

Jan 26, 2021

As an influencer, I found all of this information to be very valuable in learning the business perspective. The processor did a great job!