Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Acoustics (Part 2)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Acoustics (Part 2) by Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology(KAIST)

4.7
stars
41 ratings

About the Course

Learners might have learned the basic concepts of the acoustics from the ‘Introduction to Acoustics (Part 1).’ Now it is time to apply to the real situation and develop their own acoustical application. Learners will analyze the radiation, scattering, and diffraction phenomenon with the Kirchhoff –Helmholtz Equation. Then learners will design their own reverberation room or ducts that fulfill the condition they have set up....

Top reviews

AI

May 15, 2018

A great course overall to understand the basic theory of acoustics. I have some suggestions. Quizzes need to be improved with more questions. I thought the quizzes were too easy

PP

Dec 19, 2020

Part 2 was excellent!

It would be nice to have reference to the text book, and also sometimes the questions in the quizzes are hard to stand because of the language.

Filter by:

1 - 9 of 9 Reviews for Introduction to Acoustics (Part 2)

By Zhihan G

Jun 29, 2020

it is good course to learn acoustic, for people who want to work in this field.

By Arun I

May 16, 2018

A great course overall to understand the basic theory of acoustics. I have some suggestions. Quizzes need to be improved with more questions. I thought the quizzes were too easy

By PH

Dec 20, 2020

Part 2 was excellent!

It would be nice to have reference to the text book, and also sometimes the questions in the quizzes are hard to stand because of the language.

By Ajay S

Jun 18, 2020

EXCELLENT USEFUL COURSE FOR FACULTY AND RESEARCH SCHOLARS

By K S K

Jun 19, 2020

Excellent Session

By Dhanalakshmi A

May 13, 2020

Good

By Sam R

Jan 23, 2023

The lecturer is fantastic. The topics covered fit the criteria. And, given the Professor's deep and broad familiarity with the field, approach a sense of conveying an intuitive understanding of the topic. This is necessary to feel like the topic being discussed is actually useful.

The main weakness in this course is the questions. There is just a series of true and false (denoted Right and Wrong in a cute idiosyncrasy in the course) with very few problems that one has to use the information in the lecture to calculate towards an answer. This, in general, is a weakness in a lot of Coursera courses that did not used to be present. So I don't know how much the people who created this course are at fault.

Namely, in the early days of Coursera, there used to be wide spread use of either formula or numerical input that were challenging. Passing a test or quiz wasn't as simple as changing one's answer to another radio button or check box. To pass, you had to use the lecture information. Sometimes in a rote, plug and chug way. Sometimes more involved and - when you got it - in a way that felt more like mastery.

For this course, I was able to use the book that the lectures mirror. By doing so - and using the end of chapter questions - I got a lot more out of the experience. For someone who wants to use just this course - which is what we are all paying for - I'm worried that that person will be short-changed.

Again, I'm not sure if this is due to poor course design or a new limitation imposed by Coursera. But I hope it is addressed site wide at some point. Basically, take this course if you want the knowledge, but seek other testing sources if you want to demonstrate - to yourself, if no one else - mastery of the subject matter.

By Davide A

Apr 30, 2020

Very interesting course. It only miss a small part with some exercises, but It is a course I would suggest to anyone who is interested in acoustic.