Chevron Left
Back to Chinese for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chinese for Beginners by Peking University

4.8
stars
13,479 ratings
3,869 reviews

About the Course

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people who are interested in Chinese culture and language. And it is useful to know about the language when coming to China for travel or business. This is an ABC Chinese course for beginners, including introduction of phonetics and daily expressions. After taking this class, learners can have a basic understanding of Chinese Mandarin and make basic conversations of daily living such as exchanging personal information, talking about daily arrangements and food, asking about price, introducing the city and the weather, telling your hobbies etc. Selected topics and situations come from real life scenarios and can be used for everyday communications. In addition to the dialogues, the selection of reading materials and practice activities will make the content as rich and varied as possible, in order to stimulate the learners’ interests. This is an elementary course on Chinese speaking. The learners don’t need to study Chinese characters, so it is easier to follow and complete this course....

Top reviews

SS
Sep 16, 2016

Thanks for this course. I like it and this language really so necessary for me and my job. My company in New Zealand - ESKA Ltd (www.eskaltd.co.nz, eskaltd.com) and we are work with aliens from China.

PP
Apr 24, 2020

She teaching very well! Easy to understand, her accent is very clear to understand, lesson is very useful to and might can use it for real. Thank you for lovely teaching and lovely lesson\n\nThank you

Filter by:

3376 - 3400 of 3,826 Reviews for Chinese for Beginners

By Joanna C

Apr 13, 2020

Very good introductory speaking course. Great instructor. The quizzes should also include some of the sentence construction so students can test their understanding of this.

By Cristina A

Sep 22, 2015

It's easy to understand and so useful. I met a chinese girl and now we talk together. I hope will be another one in the future to continue learning this beautiful language.

By Terrianna S

Sep 2, 2015

I thought the class was very well done as an introductory class. Although I thought there would be an introduction to characters also. I liked the laoshi and the slides. :)

By Tunyaporn S

May 6, 2020

Good Course , Thank you for FREE learning. I'm so appreciate to spend my free time with chinese language knowledge and easy for beginner everyone can do it!. xièxie lăoshī

By Deleted A

Jun 20, 2020

very nice course but grades achieved and duration of course is not mentioned on certificates please should write it as well as certificate should free of cost not paid.

By Vivien F

Aug 5, 2020

It was interesting and good. It would even be better if there is an opportunity to connect with other participants to practice Chinese via video conferencing. Thank you.

By Matthew L

Jan 31, 2020

Excellent cours avec de bonnes vidéos, facile à suivre. Les tests étaient un peu trop faciles, mais c'est un excellent début pour ceux qui veulent commencer le mandarin.

By Daniel M

Jun 17, 2017

This course is suitable for beginners who want to learn basic vocabulary and sentence structures. It is not an all-encompassing beginners course but it is a good start.

By Lloyd A

May 24, 2016

This was a very easy course and not too daunting considering the topic. I liked learning pronounciations of the words and the basic vocabulary. A great starter course.

By Ravena

May 16, 2020

Great course for those who want to learn chinese for basic communication. The course covers a wide range of essential and basic day-to-day conversational topics.

By Kristine R

Sep 23, 2015

Only teaches pinyin but it's suitable instruction for beginners who just want to learn how to construct some very basic sentences and dialogues. All in Mandarin.

By Nanchayanud B

Jun 25, 2020

I really enjoy this course. I have enhanced my Chinese skills. Thank you, Mrs. Xiaoyu Liu, Peking University and Coursera for offering me this good opportunity.

By Dheerapat T

Dec 30, 2015

good course for traveler but there are a little of grammar part so you can speak a simple sentence but if you want to create some new sentence it's quite hard.

By Ricardo d O R

Sep 23, 2015

I think any course of Chinese must include characters. To teach only a too basic sentences in pinyin is not a good experience. Nonetheless, I like this course.

By Cherrier

Nov 4, 2015

Interesting lessons! Quizzes could be improved with sentence translations.

Chinese characters could be shown with pinyin in order to be able to recognize them.

By FABRICE A

Sep 5, 2018

The course was great. It helped me a lot in framing a proper accent and knowing basics in Chinese language. Now I can follow dialogue and easily read out.

By Divya E G

May 31, 2020

This course was very nice and easy to do. I'm very glad to choose to do this and hope that I can visit China soon and have the chance to use it ! Xiexie!

By Numan I

Jun 7, 2020

teaching method is good not so long and easy to understand.

which i learn is that these word might be helpful in my future when i will traveled to china.

By Perla R P

Sep 10, 2017

I was learn how to speak basic mandarin. It is very helpful and I am highly recommend this course for those who want to learn basic mandarin speaking.

By Chirapha P

May 19, 2020

Good for beginners and basic english teaching easy to understand for foreigners

Not recommend for people who want to know a lot of details in Chinese

By Jeannette J

May 2, 2020

Some of the pictures in the quizzes were difficult to decipher in terms of choosing an answer. I learned some new things which helped my Chinese.

By Muhammad Z Y

Aug 16, 2020

Great Course! I thought Chinese was way too difficult to learn but, they made it so easy for us to learn it. Had so much fun while learning it.

By Virgil V

Apr 17, 2020

Great beginner class. I wish there were more lessons where it forced you into a conversation so you could practice with hypothetical questions.

By Malini S

Jun 14, 2020

A very relevant curriculum though was confused with the comments and not knowing if I needed to write in pinyin as an exercise or just recite?

By Sameer N

May 1, 2020

Very easy to understand and without characters it becomes interesting to start of basic dialogues. Practice test also makes it fun to learn.