Chevron Left
Back to Logic for Economists

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Logic for Economists by University of Amsterdam

4.4
stars
99 ratings
23 reviews

About the Course

This course provides a very brief introduction to basic mathematical concepts like propositional and predicate logic, set theory, the number system, and proof techniques. At the end of the course, students will be able to (1) detect the logical structure behind simple puzzles (2) be able to manipulate logical expressions (3) explain the connection between logic and set theory (4) explain the differences between natural, integer, rational, real and complex numbers (5) recognise different basic proof techniques...

Top reviews

CJ

Dec 18, 2019

This was a testing introduction, but I found it very useful to getting to grips with the basics of logic. I very much enjoyed the assignments presented and hope to revisit them at some point.

NS

Jun 14, 2020

This course is really helpful and informative but it lacks to provide practice sums and course should have suggested some preference book which can be helpful for problem-solving.

Filter by:

1 - 22 of 22 Reviews for Logic for Economists

By fozan t

May 28, 2019

Very short course and not an interactive course .This course only gives a birds eye view of field of logic and set theory and it does not give any case studies to practice your logical thinking skills. Coursera's other course on logic which is offered by stanford is way better than this course.

By Christian M J

Dec 18, 2019

This was a testing introduction, but I found it very useful to getting to grips with the basics of logic. I very much enjoyed the assignments presented and hope to revisit them at some point.

By Yatin M A

Jun 17, 2019

It was a very interesting course.Got to learn a lot!

By Neel S

Jun 14, 2020

This course is really helpful and informative but it lacks to provide practice sums and course should have suggested some preference book which can be helpful for problem-solving.

By Hongsun K

Jul 15, 2020

Great course for an introduction into logic and its relations mathematics. The instructor was very responsive and helpful as well.

By JORGE E M L V

Mar 18, 2019

ES MUY BUENO PARA TENER NOCIONES DE LÓGICA LO RECOMIENDO MUCHO

By David

Apr 13, 2020

Harder than expected, but really enjoyed it

By Muhammad A

Jun 07, 2020

I have learn lot of work

By A J R

Jul 03, 2020

It is wonderful.

By Nhat Q L

Feb 01, 2019

Great Course!

By Vishakha V J

May 26, 2020

Nice course

By Siva k T

Jul 22, 2020

Excellent

By Dr.Kanimozhiraman

May 03, 2020

very Nice

By Manoj K S

May 31, 2020

Good

By Ellie P

Jun 11, 2020

The course was great, the lectures are super helpful however the assessments are poorly worded and the automatic grading system doesn’t work the best. However you can repeat the assignments as many times as necessary so it’s not the biggest issue and the information learnt in the lessons is very valuable and well taught.

By samuel c j

Jul 04, 2020

It was great, it reviews some important concepts in propositional logic and methods for formal proofs. But it was a short course and intermediate level more than advanced one.

By Tanmoy C

Jul 26, 2020

Content is good but more elaboration would be more helpful .. Logic part is very difficult but though it is explained well.

By Dr. R S

Jun 06, 2020

Excellent

By Dr. V V

Jun 20, 2020

nil

By Sean M

Jun 25, 2020

I found this course to be only okay - definitely lower quality than other courses I've taken on Coursera. The lectures were decent and I definitely learned about logic, although they were very dry and slow. The assignments are poorly worded, which can be particularly important when you're trying to solve a logic problem where the meaning can change depending on the wording. Some assignments also didn't provide sufficient feedback for you to learn from it if you didn't get it perfectly right.

By Fred V

Jul 17, 2020

Handwriting on a blackboard: slows the rhythm, and not always fully legible. Would there be an issue with using good old PowerPoint? The course should address a few more topics of observational economics, such as logic of statistical inference, rather than axiomatic of basic mathematics.

By Ridhi N V

Jun 04, 2020

Good