Chevron Left
Back to Digital Media and Marketing Principles

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Digital Media and Marketing Principles by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.3
stars
1,948 ratings
446 reviews

About the Course

The digital revolution has led to a titanic shift in the landscape of the marketing communication, while also creating new opportunities for businesses to reach and engage consumers through smart, social, and mobile media technologies. In this course, you will learn about the impacts of digital technologies on marketing communication strategies and practices. By understanding the underlying processes of marketing communication and the core features of new media technologies, you can strategically select the appropriate channels to deliver the right marketing message to the right audience at the right moment....

Top reviews

SK

Sep 02, 2019

The course gives a introductory insight into the digital marketing. It'll enable the students of this course to introduce themselves to world of digital marketing. Thanks for this amazing course.

LM

Aug 30, 2015

Very good, informative and useful. My only wish is that the presenter was a bit more natural, rather than appearing to read the text off the screen all the time. But that is just a minor comment

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 433 Reviews for Digital Media and Marketing Principles

By Phoebe A M

Apr 24, 2019

Overall the content was good and useful and I enjoyed it. However, I felt the format the professor had the course in was more daunting and less concise than previous lecturers. Having a series of lectures ranging from 3 minutes to 20 minutes and links that you can't click on within the lecture made it distracting and not as user friendly. I think if there were possibly two lectures per week with ALL of the information and incorporating video examples into the lecture it would be more of a pleasant experience. Watching a three minute video then clicking next and going into a 5 minute video and then a 15 minute video is a bit of a nuisance. I've taken many online classes and this is the only thing that I find very irritating.

By Paras B

Mar 06, 2016

The course structure is okay and availability of course material e-book is big plus for the course.

However there are negatives also.

This is a course on "Digital Marketing" and it has to be taken to great heights in terms of content and delivery.

Most critical issue is delivery. The most happening and lively subject like this needs a delivery in a exalted method. Though reference material is good collection but there is total disconnect between video lectures and those reference material at many instances.

Revamp all video series. Add more case studies videos.

By John C

Jul 05, 2018

Good class but there are inconsistencys between this class and Digital Marketing Channels: Planning. The two courses should be reviewed side by side so they tell a consistent story. Also, this class suffers as presenter, though articulate, seems mired in academia and doesn't have real world marketing experience so practical application isn't always referenced. The two marketing analytics classes taught by the google professional are much more powerful as the presenter works in that world and knows how to bring the information to life.

By Radana L

Sep 25, 2019

I don't think the content is up to date. Some examples (articles) were from 2015Digital marketing is changing so fast, I would expect this course to be updated accordingly. Also, the presentation of the tutor in videos was a bit tough for me to focus on. Constant repetition of words/syllables made it especially difficult for me to listen to. It could just have been re-recorded or actor could have been used to read out the content. Other courses in this specialization were presented much better and it really made a difference.

By Nicolay K

Sep 18, 2019

The course provided a good structure and various contents and reading / video resources. It is very advantageous that the presentation slides are being shared. However, the course might need some updating as some links from the resources are outdated. Sometimes, the video presentations and interviews seemed a bit mechanic. Also, I was missing to see the professor's / his chair's own publications and academic research in this field, such academic insights should be part of the readings and resources.

By Beth H

Aug 25, 2018

Don't really like the structure of the course, in that each module is divided into several sub-sections, each with its own video. I think this would work better as 1-2 sections. It seems I'm clicking through several 3-10 minute videos, and having to watch the intro over again each time.

Also, delivery of material by instructor is rigid and unnatural. Seems info is just read from the screen, which doesn't really add much value above and beyond me reading it myself.

By Omar S

Jun 12, 2016

The content of this course is very good. However I feel it is unfortunate that the lecturer did not make an effort in preparing the presentation of the material. This makes a huge difference. Especially when it is an online course, the lecturer needs to bring the story to life rather than simply reading with hesitation from the slides in most instances.

By lance h

Dec 04, 2016

The content was good, however Prof Clifton is very difficult to listen to and watch on the videos. Mistakes in the PPT and her presentation skills do not meet the expected standard. She seemed as though she didn't know the material and is seemingly unaware of what is required for successful on-camera delivery of lectures.

By Sushmita A

Jul 29, 2020

The course provided good information however I felt that more examples and study material should be provided. Also, the course seems to have old content and hasn't been updated in quite a while so the data seems a little outdated. I would suggest Coursera to update this course. The professor Mr. Mike Yao is a good teacher.

By Ananya I H

May 03, 2020

I like this course and the instructor has my heartfelt gratitude. This course was insightful and I really enjoyed the interviews. However, I thought this course could contain more real life "day-to-day" example. So, in order to make the topics crystal clear, the course takers, in my opinion, need to do their own research.

By Laura C R

May 16, 2017

The professor is reading all the time and the pace of the lectures is not very engaging. The lecturer should give the class in a natural way. And the content of the lecture was exactly the context of the readings so they didn't offered new ideas, or topics.

By Hector V G

Sep 06, 2016

The books, readings, and additional resources for studying are really good and helpfull. The only thing is that the videos where they explain the courses could be more fluid, dynamic and with a better domain of the tool by the professor.

By Rishabh G

May 24, 2020

I do not understand that even after completing the entire 6 courses i Specialization, I am unable to access the Capstone. And there is no help available at all.

Rest of the things are good in the course. Excellent faculty and material.

By Sandra O M G

Oct 25, 2016

The proposition of the course is very interesting. The content, especially from the required book is very good but I think the instructor could dive deeper in the content of her lectures and they could be a little bit more dynamics.

By Siddharth C

May 24, 2020

Nothing new was learnt, what was shared ,was superficial

Quizes were a test of memory rather than concept

Readings are not up to date - outdated by 3-4years

This course does not add the value expected from this specialization

By Deleted A

Jul 21, 2017

Preface: I audited the course. Similar to the other courses in the Specialization, the course is a reading-heavy course with the videos being supplemental. Decent primer for those who haven't been following digital trends.

By David M

Jun 30, 2020

Somewhat basic, and many of the examples are dated. Digital marketing is relatively new, with rapid changes and innovation. Using materials that are 3-5 years old is not ideal, and in some cases outright misinformation.

By Sameeya R

Jun 17, 2020

Good information about digital marketing in principal in this course but Weak Content. unclear course plan. overall the previous 3 courses of the specialization were more of a value addition than this one.

By Dmytro S

Jan 23, 2017

The course is really worse than previous too. Information is to abstract, the teacher tells some obvious things. The one thing I liked are course materials - for this I give 3 stars, not 2.

By Thiện L

Mar 02, 2016

Among my registered courses in the specialization this course is the one that should be invested with more effort from creators in order to give students more practical lessons. Regards.

By Sanchit M

May 23, 2017

The tutor doesn't seem very interactive and original. It is evident that she is just reading from some screen and the content covered are almost exactly the same as written in the book.

By Joshua Y

Sep 24, 2016

The lesson is informative but the course professor does not share value on each slide. She's reading each point and does not provide additional insight.

By Nelson D C G

Feb 09, 2016

Good course but it's too much academic, I can see that you were talking things you don't understand or read a script without put any of your efforts.

By Ashley A

Feb 11, 2016

Course was pretty boring, repetition of Digital Marketing previous modules, would appreciate it more if the professor did a better presentation!

By Akarsh M

May 08, 2020

The lectures were monotonous and I felt that they were very lengthy. The topics that the professor taught could have ween wrapped up in a week.