Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
14,437 ratings
3,837 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

KB
Jun 23, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

DA
Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

Filter by:

701 - 725 of 3,809 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Sai S M

Jul 31, 2020

The course is very helpful and can help you even if you are learning MATLAB from scratch and the instructor is funny at times and cracks jokes which made the videos more interesting.

By K. M A H L

Jul 11, 2020

My first online course and it's a great experience. Enjoyed it to the fullest. Thanks to Prof. Fitzpatrick for his humorous yet wonderful lectures that made me stick to the very end.

By Piyush D

May 29, 2020

Before starting this course i didn't know anything about MATLAB, but after the end of this course i can confidently write a program using MATLAB. A heartful Thanks to the instructor.

By Meenakshy G

Jan 13, 2019

The tutorial resources were really helpful and the assignments were set to the correct difficulty level as to understand and implement all the concepts learned throughout the course.

By Simun S

Mar 16, 2017

Very good and wide course for matlab. I will probably never use most of this stuff in the course but it's nice to know something about them. I would recomend this course to everyone.

By PATHIK D

Sep 20, 2020

Outstanding course on Matlab that has helped me a lot in grasping the fundamentals of Matlab, I hope to improve my skills further in using Matlab in my own engineering applications.

By Nusrat O

Sep 13, 2020

Very nice course work. Thank you for your step by step lessons. Thanks a lot for the opportunity to try multiple times for the assignments, otherwise I would not have passed at all!

By Garre P P

Jul 2, 2020

Really, Amazing course.Mysuggection is in last problem better than given like unknow theory cooncept if

u given like array type explanation it will be more easy.course was excellent

By Monnappa M B

Jun 26, 2020

really beautiful way to learn coding. the assignments given are really brain stimulating. i enjoyed going through this course.

i recommend this course if you are a beginner to coding

By mohadeseh m

Jun 25, 2020

Thank you sir for everything. During the course I feel like I am in a real class. I appreciate your time and I am grateful for everything I learnt.

In an one sentence: It was great!

By Subhojit C

May 30, 2020

It was a great experience, going through this course I not only learned about Matlab but also developed good programming skills. The course was fun and challenging at the same time.

By Geran T

Aug 16, 2017

Great instructor. Thought-provoking assignments. Except that in the later lectures, complex concepts are not fully explained. Need to watch the video a few times to finish homework.

By Ganesh M

Aug 19, 2017

Detailed and extremely comprehensive !! Glad to take the course. Im feeling pretty confident not only in Matlab but also in other prgramming languages. Once again thanks Coursera !

By Zhu W

Oct 2, 2016

The course is very helpful for students who want to get familiar with the Matlab application. Try to be patient with all the practices and you will find yourself improve gradually.

By KALPESH K

Dec 8, 2020

The teacher has very good skills to represent his knowledge about MATLAB

along with small jokes, and I learned a lot of new things and I will continue with some other new courses.

By David F G

Jul 18, 2020

Excellent course, ralative difficulty, very well explained. the professor has an excellent pedagogy and a fine sense of humor. rapid support in the forum, thank you all very much!

By Prince K

Jul 15, 2020

This course has given me a great learning experience on various matlab problems and it will definately help me in gaining a life long experience for my further work life.Thank you

By Puneet M

Jun 4, 2020

It was really fun to complete course ..I got addicted to this course problems and it gave me a good fundamentals .

I like the way the Prof. Mike taught the course with full of fun.

By MADHUMANTI S

May 12, 2020

The course materials are very good undoubtedly. Previously i had some basic knowledge in MATLAB. But I get more advanced knowledge from this course. This is a Zero to Hero course.

By YU-CHEN H

Mar 25, 2020

I really like this course! The course is easy to fallow and every exercise is challenging but fun. The professor has humour, too, which make the long lecture hours more enjoyable!

By pulkit j

Mar 20, 2020

Great course for absolute newbies. Very well organized course material and challenging homeworks.

The tutor is awesome and explains everything nicely. It was fun doing this course.

By SHIVAM V

Apr 1, 2019

Very nice course for beginners in programming.Very good for depth understanding of basic programming language and also matlab programming and use of its tool was taught very well.

By Rajat S

Mar 26, 2018

It was a good introduction course. A little slow for my liking but good thing is you can always speed up the videos. The assignments had a balance between easy and good questions.

By Kaushik S

Jan 28, 2018

The way the course was taught will help people of all backgrounds to start with Matlab.The assignments and quizzes also helps users to apply their learning and correct themselves.

By David C

Dec 27, 2016

Great course with a very charismatic lecturer. The assignments were very challenging which was essential as the majority of learning takes place when actually coding.

Thanks,

David