Chevron Left
Back to Multistate Taxation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Multistate Taxation by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.9
stars
27 ratings

About the Course

This course will examine state and local tax laws prevalent in the United States today. The course will consider the historical progression of state and local taxation, the power of states to tax (and the limitations on that power), and planning strategies for minimizing the impact of state and local taxation. Discussions will focus on income taxes, sales taxes, and property taxes. If you enjoy this course, consider enrolling in our online graduate Accounting program. The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, consistently ranked as one of the nation's top three accounting programs, now offers a master’s in accounting at a very affordable tuition rate and is completely online. The iMSA is a full Master of Accountancy program and students graduate with an MS that is highly recognized. Try an open course or two, then apply for admission into the credit-bearing version as you may be eligible to take credit-bearing courses during the application process. If you are missing any prerequisites for the full degree, you can complete Coursera courses to demonstrate readiness and strengthen your application for the iMSA. For more information on this exciting iMSA online program, refer to this link: https://www.coursera.org/degrees/imsa ...

Top reviews

JM

Oct 24, 2021

This is a wonderful course to understanding taxes. The presentations are awesome! It would be awesome if it was accompanied with software training such as Vertex. Thank you, JoAnn

EL

Sep 1, 2023

Amazing course , you'll learn everything from cero about taxes. Great professor mister Hutchens. Recommended to everyone

Filter by:

1 - 13 of 13 Reviews for Multistate Taxation

By Cathleen C

May 19, 2023

Multistate Taxation was an engaging tax class on a subject matter that originally intimidated me. This was the first class I finished on Coursera and frankly, I’m impressed with the educator and ready to take his next class. Thank you Matthew, you made me want to learn again!

By James K

Sep 14, 2021

This is a wonderful course for an overview of multistate taxation. Highly recommended for not only a solid base to begin from, but also for building a solid list of resources to have in your back pocket when research is necessary. Well done Matthew!

By Allen B

Dec 27, 2022

Very thorough but not too overwhelming and lots of concrete examples to back up general concepts. The professor is very knowledgeable and a great communicator - I would highly recommend this course to anybody wanting to learn multi-state taxation.

By Jo A M

Oct 25, 2021

This is a wonderful course to understanding taxes. The presentations are awesome! It would be awesome if it was accompanied with software training such as Vertex. Thank you, JoAnn

By Ernesto L

Sep 1, 2023

Amazing course , you'll learn everything from cero about taxes. Great professor mister Hutchens. Recommended to everyone

By Ranbeer S

Jan 26, 2024

Matthew Sir is a amazing Teacher.

By Victony A

Feb 17, 2023

lot of good information

By Muniba F A

Feb 5, 2024

highly recommended

By Akhrorjon A

Aug 11, 2023

amazing

By Xolturayeva M Z q

Nov 29, 2022

perfect

By Hassan I

Aug 30, 2023

I am Hassan Ijaz, currently pursuing my LLB degree at Liverpool John Moores University. As a student, my passion for the field of law has been a driving force in my academic journey. I am dedicated to gaining a comprehensive understanding of the legal system, and I continuously seek opportunities to broaden my knowledge and perspective. One such opportunity was my experience with the Multistate Taxation system of the United States, a course offered by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Studying the Multistate Taxation system of the United States at the University of Illinois was a remarkable and enlightening experience. This course offered a deep dive into the complex world of state taxation in the U.S., an area of law that is often overlooked but profoundly significant. Here are some key aspects of my experience and thoughts on the course:

Comprehensive Curriculum: The course provided an in-depth exploration of the U.S. multistate taxation system, covering various aspects such as income tax, sales tax, and property tax. This comprehensive approach allowed me to grasp the intricacies of state-level tax laws, which are crucial for any aspiring tax lawyer.

Expert Faculty: The professors and instructors were exceptionally knowledgeable in the field of taxation. Their expertise and real-world experience brought the subject matter to life, making complex tax concepts more accessible to students.

Interactive Learning: The course incorporated various teaching methods, including lectures, case studies, and group discussions. This interactive approach not only enhanced my understanding but also encouraged critical thinking and problem-solving skills.

Practical Relevance: The course emphasized the practical application of tax laws, preparing students for real-world scenarios. This aspect was particularly valuable for someone like me who aspires to work in tax law practice.

Resources and Support: The University of Illinois provided excellent resources, including a well-equipped library and access to tax research databases, which greatly assisted in my studies.

Networking Opportunities: The course also facilitated networking with fellow students who shared a passion for tax law. This network will undoubtedly be valuable as I continue my legal education and career.

In conclusion, the Multistate Taxation course at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign exceeded my expectations in terms of both content and delivery. It equipped me with a solid foundation in U.S. state taxation, which I believe will be invaluable as I pursue my LLB and eventually enter the legal profession.

Thank you for your continued support and guidance in my academic journey. I look forward to applying the knowledge and skills I gained from this course to my future endeavors in the field of law.

By Sarah-Jane M

Apr 2, 2023

A great overview of State Taxation issues suitable for someone with limited prior knowledge but with a nice amount of depth - unfortunately some of the externally linked articles/documents are not up to date.

By Muhammad L

Mar 10, 2023

This is good course