Chevron Left
Back to Organ Donation: From Death to Life

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Organ Donation: From Death to Life by University of Cape Town

4.8
stars
874 ratings

About the Course

Considering someone for organ and tissue donation at the end of life is complicated. The boundary between life and death is more complex than ever before and it falls to medical professionals to help clarify a situation at an often confusing and emotionally stressful time. In this course you will learn about the science behind death determination and when it is possible for deceased organ donation take place. This includes the medical standards at the end of life - from brain death testing, to requesting informed consent from a grieving family. By improving knowledge of good ethical practices, cultural and religious considerations, and the logistics of the organ donation process this course will empower the interactions and discussions of medical professionals and the general public at an often confusing time. This course will help you to ensure that the option of organ donation is compassionately explored in all appropriate situations at the end of life in the best way possible. Watch the course trailer here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ak-kVtmZGRs The course is certified for continuing professional development (CPD) points in South Africa. Send your completion certificate to organdonation@uct.ac.za together with your HPCSA number for 25 general and 5 ethics points. For another interesting course on organ donation and transplantation, see Clinical Kidney, Pancreas and Islet Transplantation from Leiden University https://www.coursera.org/learn/clinical-kidney-transplantation...

Top reviews

SY

May 22, 2020

An excellent, professionally prepared course. Very informative. Different aspects about the organ donation procedures, that are always grey areas in people's minds, are well covered and answered.

ML

Dec 22, 2022

Very interesting course, especially for those related with health care, it does have amazing ways of explaining medical terminology, but it is advised to have a previous medical knowledge.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 173 Reviews for Organ Donation: From Death to Life

By Heinrich J v R

Apr 10, 2020

The whole course was an amazing experience. I learnt so much and it opened up a whole new field of medicine for me. Thank you for the team that produced and made this course.

By Rivki B

Jul 2, 2019

Brilliant and informative course on an extremely important, relevant topic. Thank you for your passion and commitment to this project

By Mary A

Jun 19, 2021

Although it is marketed (I believe) as a class that can be taken by anyone interested in the process of organ donation, some pieces of information were deeply medical, requiring significant education to understand. Overall, it was a phenomenol class, and truly eye-opening. I would recommend a course on what natural death looks like. As more people choose to die at home, it would behoove the potential caretakers to understand how the body shuts down. Once that's understood, the fear of death can be significantly impacted.

By FRANCO S N

Sep 18, 2020

This course takes MOOCs to another level, an excellent teacher, excellent syllabus and distribution of classes and topics about Organ Donation, It's more clinical than anything, but If you're into that, this course of for you, maybe I would add some epidemiology. If you are interested in this course, get really to get the most of this course.

By KASANDRI G

Nov 23, 2023

A comprehensive course laying the foundation and building on the detail so seamlessly. At the end, there is a reasonable framework achieved to approach the concept of organ donation.

By Julia J

Apr 20, 2021

A great course that is very informative. It tackles a variety of important topics and misconceptions surround organ donation. Every health professional should do this course!

By janani p

Jun 1, 2018

I really very thank full to this team. From this course i came to know and gain knowledge ,these four week lessons was really informative.

By Jianie v N

Mar 16, 2020

A great comprehensive course. I have a better idea now about what organ donation entails and how to go about this process. Thank you!

By Onthatile Z

Jan 10, 2023

This was a comprehensive introduction to brain death and organ donation for a person tackling the subject matter for the first time. The structure of the course is set out in such a way that the topics flow into one another, making it easy to follow. I thoroughly enjoyed the clinical aspects of the course, as well as the ethical considerations - however, I struggled to keep up with the facts and figures surrounding organ donation towards the end. My favourite videos were the clinical demonstrations of brain death testing. I wish I could experience this course for the first time all over again! 😍

By Nonhlanhla

Sep 25, 2022

Although it was quite long, i love how detailed and informing it was. I downloaded all the videos so that i can rewatch them with my family to try and convice them to become organ donors too. The only critique i have is i wished the videos had a combined version from the start to the end of the course to make it easier to watch it with my friends and family, instead of downloading 50 individual clips- one long clip would've been great! Thank you to the team that put this together, I learnt alot

By Charmaine F

Dec 27, 2020

I have found this course intellectual stimulating and gained a lot of knowledge.

Frightening to see the stats from different countries.

I started this course as it has a component of non-organ donation. (tissues etc)

and communication strategies.

Also bringing thoughts to the Spiritual and Cultural aspects - very important

I was very impressed with the way words are used to make the thoughts more valuable.

Thank you for this opportunity

By Jennifer C

Aug 3, 2020

I learned much more than expected, easy to follow and covered all context thoroughly. My only complaint is the honors project, it seems irrelevant to my grade if someone chooses to review or not. I've completed my portions of the assignment but cannot make some review mine. I believe the differences in our languages make peer review hard to assess. Over all, loved to course and learning about S.Africa and other countries as well.

By Robynne H

Jun 28, 2020

Thank you for an absolutely brilliant course! This course was professional, engaging and informative with information clearly and effectively communicated. I particularly enjoyed the bits of historical information incorporated, the reenactment videos and that the sections were divided into short video clips and interspersed with revision quizzes. It was clear that time, effort and immense care was dedicated to making this course.

By Jolene H

Jul 11, 2021

Very informative, giving information I didn't even know I wanted to know. The course gives you a view on the subject from multiple perspectives, not only focusing on the cold, scientific medicine but also on the personal, logistical and moral implications of organ donation. I think this is a very complete course that should be part of medical training, thank you for the knowledge.

By Sakhile M

Apr 8, 2020

This course has helped me to understand matters relating to organ donation succinctly. I believe I will be more empowered as a future medical practitioner and a citizen in general with ethics and principles surrounding organ donation. I’m indebted to the University of Cape Town and their staff in producing this amazing, informative and ground-breaking course.

By Vuyiseka S

Dec 17, 2021

This was an eye opener for me, I learnt a lot and I can rationalize some of the things I knew already. Most of all, it is the best thing for my new post, and I am practicing everything in this course. If you want to know about organ transplantation, then this is the best course for you.

Vuyie from South Africa

By Nceba N

Jun 7, 2022

The course was very educational and exposed me to the various ethical dilemmas, as well as the cultural and international dynamics that healthcare professionals may come across in relation to organ donation. I am certain that the knowledge I have gained will be an invaluable asset in my future career.

By Nithiyasri

Oct 26, 2020

This was entirely different course for me, I did not choose did type of course before, but after enter in to the course it takes me to excited of learning understand the knowledge of organ donation and it motivated me to help others. Thanks to the university for providing this course.

By Jeremy M

May 29, 2020

Very professionally made and a complete breath of fresh air from other course structures. As intended, it is well suited to the modern attention span. The frequency of practice quizzes allowed my knowledge of core topics to be reinforced well as well as the repeatibility of quizzes.

By Uma R

Jul 20, 2020

The Course on Organ Donation: From Death to Life was an eye opener with a complete insight for an Independent Organ Donor Advocate from non-medical background. The Course Instructor walked through and demonstrated each element of Organ Donation process in simple words.

By Reece D

Jul 23, 2020

Exceptionally well delivered, informative and interesting. I believe that I have learnt skills here very much adaptable to my training as a medical student. Everyone should do this course if they wish to be an organ donor regardless of their prior knowledge.

By Paula C E

Mar 19, 2020

Incredibly enriching, thank you!

I hope to be a doctor one day that will actively and effectively recognize all opportunities to offer the potential for organ donation to my end of life patients. In the most appropriate, compassionate and empathetic way.

By Muhammad I R

May 30, 2021

An excellent course that introduces one to a topic that is relatively scarce. I feel more confident in both my knowledge as well as skills after completing this course. It will surely prove to be invaluable to my medical career. Thank you for this gem.

By Otilia B

Sep 24, 2017

A wonderful journey, from understanding death to understanding life! I'm very grateful. David (the teacher) is super inspirational!! :-) I feel that he gave us wisdom as well, not just knowledge. I'd take this course again at any time.

By Susan L

Dec 18, 2022

very thought provoking abd well presented.I will do I can to encourage organ donation, particularly to encourage people to think about benefits they have as a recipient and their what gift they provide others. Reciprocity