Chevron Left
Back to Organizational Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Organizational Analysis by Stanford University

4.7
491 ratings
152 reviews

About the Course

In this introductory, self-paced course, you will learn multiple theories of organizational behavior and apply them to actual cases of organizational change. Organizations are groups whose members coordinate their behaviors in order to accomplish a shared goal. They can be found nearly everywhere in today’s society: universities, start-ups, classrooms, hospitals, non-profits, government bureaus, corporations, restaurants, grocery stores, and professional associations are some of many examples of organizations. Organizations are as varied and complex as they are ubiquitous: they differ in size and internal structure; they can entail a multiplicity of goals and tasks (some of which are planned and others unplanned!); they are made up of individuals whose goals and motivations may differ from those of the group; and they must interact with other organizations and deal with environmental constraints in order to be successful. This complexity frequently results in a myriad of problems for organizational participants and the organization’s survival. In this course, we will use organizational theories to systematically analyze how an organization operates and can best be managed. Organizational theories highlight certain features of an organization’s structure and environment, as well as its processes of negotiation, production, and change. Each provides a lens for interpreting novel organizational situations and developing a sense for how individual and group behaviors are organized. Theories are valuable for the analyst and manager because most organizational problems are unique to the circumstances and cannot be solved by simple rules of thumb. Armed with a toolset of organizational theories, you will be able to systematically identify important features of an organization and the events transforming it; choose a theoretical framework most applicable to the observed mode of organizing; and use that theory to determine which actions will best redirect the organization in desired directions. In sum, the course has three goals: to become familiar with a series of real-world organizational phenomena; to learn different theoretical perspectives that can elucidate these phenomena; and to apply these different ways of “seeing” and managing organizations to cases. In such a fashion, the course is designed to actively bridge theory and practice, exposing students to a variety of conceptual tools and ways to negotiate novel situations....

Top reviews

JV

Nov 11, 2017

I think I would have given an overview at the beginning, kind of a framework, to put all theories and aspects in place. Excellent. Including the videos discussing the questions of the students.

AV

Dec 26, 2016

I am impressed and exceptionally satisfied passing the course. Very useful, presents range of theories and points of view, combined with real life cases and in-depth explanations. Thank you!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 154 Reviews for Organizational Analysis

By ICE B D (

Apr 14, 2017

It is an excllent online course with top world class contents which I have never had! Many thanks! Ice

By FABIO E A M

Jul 03, 2019

Fue un excelente curso que me ayudo a reforzar mis conocimientos en dirección y gerencia de empresas en el sector privado. Recomiendo este curso por que tiene los componentes en el área psicológica del ser humano que permite entender el comportamiento y el rol de los diferentes actores dentro y en el entorno de su organización.

By Stephanie F M

Feb 27, 2019

Plataforma incrível, videos aulas com o melhor professor possível, calmo e paciente para explicar de forma que todos entendam o que ele está tentando repassar!!!

By Alexa a

Jul 18, 2019

This course gives you everything yo need to become a better manager

By Paulo M

Jul 12, 2019

Great course! It really brings clarity about the different kinds of organizational theories that are at play in our work/business environment

By MOHD J

Jun 29, 2019

Best course with conceptual knowledge to understand an organisation.

By Natalia A

Jun 23, 2019

One of the best courses on coursera! Useful insights and very efficient lectures. Thanks a lot! Strongly recommend!

By Saikat B

Jun 23, 2019

This course covers a good number of organizational theories. The course helps me to understand the insights of a organization. It will help me in my professional career for designing and restructuring organization.

By Germán E C H

May 19, 2019

Espero terminarlo al fin. Lo estoy intentando desde 2013. Very good course, teacher and university.

By Oleksandr M

May 08, 2019

I have many years of experience working at various organizations, however, it was very useful and exciting to learn about different and such complicated paths in the process of decision making. This course has allowed me to gain different perspective and start analyzing in absolute new way organizations/decision making groups with which I am working at this moment.

It also helps to make practical steps in order to succeed in the process of decision making.

Thank you

By Samuel N K

May 06, 2019

I LOVE COURSERA.... ITS SIMPLY THE BEST AND VERY CONVENIENT TO USE.

By Eleonora J R

Apr 12, 2019

Incredibly good and complete!

By Faisal K

Apr 03, 2019

Excellent course on Organisational dynamics.

By Alessandro F

Mar 27, 2019

Boring, only cases concerning schools systems

By Melody R

Mar 03, 2019

AWESOME COURSE! LOVED IT!

By DEYAELDIN K E N

Feb 19, 2019

it was such a great experience enhanced my mind

By Michael M

Feb 11, 2019

Very good course with lots of content. Could be improved using different presenters and incorporating content other than the lectures. The final exam was almost impossible and took several attempts to complete. Needs to be less complex to make success more accessible.

By daniel k j

Jan 21, 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed this basic overview of Organizational Analysis. It was a fun and interesting foray into what much of my major in school will look like.

By Jack G

Jan 11, 2019

Great source of knowledge, thanks.

By Raj K D

Jan 04, 2019

its an excellent course. i liked the end exam as well as sufficient depth in knowledge is required to pass this . this forced me to go through the course once again and i am thankful that I went though it again.

By VINOD K M

Dec 23, 2018

Excellent course, gives a broad view on how organizations are formed. Theories guidelines on how they could could be adapted to the VUCA world.

By Eugene T Y Y

Dec 15, 2018

I work in HR, from time to time, I need to discuss with potential candidates on how our organization differs from his/her current employers or other employers in the market. This course definitely gives me the extra tools I need to better analyse between organizations in the industry. Thanks

By Michael M

Nov 25, 2018

I did find the course itself quite interesting and easy to follow. However the weekly forums were essentially dead, most of the posts were dating back months to years. The one or two recent posts did not result in any discussion. I am under the impression, there was any maintenance of the course content since 2013 at the latest.

By Tonny R

Oct 06, 2018

This taught me all i needed to know about analysing organisations. What an experience!!

By Krista M

Sep 19, 2018

I thought the course was a start in the introduction of Organizational Analysis. I have reviewed the written text as part of this course - this is a feat, while I have many interdisciplinary comments, questions, critiques - some of the ideas could be clarified. I would elaborate more in the theories of Organizational Anarchies, Network Formations, and think about adding examples of buffering, bridging, and bonding. I've more questions in the development of organizational theories in implementation; thinking many gaps in the realm. Did different individuals write the quizzes?