Chevron Left
Back to Project Valuation and the Capital Budgeting Process

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Project Valuation and the Capital Budgeting Process by University of Colorado Boulder

5.0
stars
49 ratings

About the Course

This course describes the economic viability of an engineering project through the application of net present value, internal rate of return, and payback period analysis. The impacts of depreciation, taxes, inflation, and foreign exchange are addressed. The capital budgeting process is discussed, showing how companies make decisions to optimize their investment portfolio. Risk is mitigated through the application of quantitative techniques such as scenario analysis, sensitivity analysis, and real options analysis. This course can be taken for academic credit as part of CU Boulder’s Master of Engineering in Engineering Management (ME-EM) degree offered on the Coursera platform. The ME-EM is designed to help engineers, scientists, and technical professionals move into leadership and management roles in the engineering and technical sectors. With performance-based admissions and no application process, the ME-EM is ideal for individuals with a broad range of undergraduate education and/or professional experience. Learn more about the ME-EM program at https://www.coursera.org/degrees/me-engineering-management-boulder....

Top reviews

CM

May 18, 2024

Excellent presentation of information reinforced with quizzes as well as hands-on financial challenges using Excel spreadsheets. I look forward to joining for course 3 in this specialization series.

SS

Nov 29, 2022

This course gave a very good introduction on how to establish a project cash flow and use common business valuation metrics to evaluate if a project is financially justifiable.

Filter by:

1 - 12 of 12 Reviews for Project Valuation and the Capital Budgeting Process

By Stephanie

Nov 30, 2022

This course gave a very good introduction on how to establish a project cash flow and use common business valuation metrics to evaluate if a project is financially justifiable.

By Muhammed Z S

Sep 27, 2022

I have learned a lot of new things and it was a very refreshing course to look back at the things that were studied during my MBA course.I must say that every engineer must have this course.I do look forward to pursue my doctorate under the supervision of the course instructor.It was an exceellent experience.

By Narasimha S S

Feb 21, 2024

Great learning with practical step by step approach

By Thamer A

Feb 1, 2023

Very useful course for Technical Managers

By Mendiswa M

Jul 23, 2023

Loved the course. It was a refresher in a lot of ways . I had problems with spreadsheets as I did not have excel and tried google docs. That was a challenge as I had all my worksheets on a quad and margin exercise book resulting in margins of error . A tutorial on how numbers should be populated on google docs would be a great help..

By Collin M

May 19, 2024

Excellent presentation of information reinforced with quizzes as well as hands-on financial challenges using Excel spreadsheets. I look forward to joining for course 3 in this specialization series.

By Supriyo G R

Mar 23, 2024

Prof. Readey take a simple yet efefctive step-by-step approach in explaining the concepts essential for preparing a capital budget and evaluating its financial feasibility.

By Balasubramanian K

Mar 19, 2024

Fantastic examples, pace. Very clear articulation of concepts with respect to actual financial situations managed in organizations. Great work professor.

By Jayesh M

Mar 23, 2024

Well explained with real time business case. Informative and handy.

By Gustavo R B

Dec 19, 2023

Thanks for all! This is a great course

By Alimul R

Apr 6, 2023

excellent content

By Aruna K

Jan 24, 2024

Amazing Course