Chevron Left
Back to Python Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Basics by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
16,240 ratings

About the Course

This course introduces the basics of Python 3, including conditional execution and iteration as control structures, and strings and lists as data structures. You'll program an on-screen Turtle to draw pretty pictures. You'll also learn to draw reference diagrams as a way to reason about program executions, which will help to build up your debugging skills. The course has no prerequisites. It will cover Chapters 1-9 of the textbook "Fundamentals of Python Programming," which is the accompanying text (optional and free) for this course. The course is for you if you're a newcomer to Python programming, if you need a refresher on Python basics, or if you may have had some exposure to Python programming but want a more in-depth exposition and vocabulary for describing and reasoning about programs. This is the first of five courses in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Top reviews

NR

Oct 17, 2019

It's a must join course for the people who want to deep dive into the world of Python. I really loving this course very much. I wanna explore more hence opting for other parts of this specialization.

DK

Dec 7, 2020

The course was very comprehensive and easy to understand. The instructors made sure that they are giving the information in a way that won't make me confused. Thank you so much for this great course!

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 3,623 Reviews for Python Basics

By YUNCHUAN Z ( O D Z

Mar 13, 2023

A great course to get, as the title suggests, "Python Basics".

I especially like "the way of the programmer" part which teaches the good habits of coding, so that you always code from a place of understanding, and the build-it-small-and-keep-it-working method really makes a lot of sense (not just for coding in fact).

This course gave me a good foundation and the language to continue exploring how to leverage data analytics (potentially with Python or any other tool) in my current job and career. My goal was not to become a python expert, but to be able to communicate with one for collaboration, and this course really helped me do that.

By Ondřej H

Jan 23, 2020

Programming seemed like magic or something unnecessarily complex to me. However, I decided to try and learn something about it. A close friend recommended Python 3 as a great starting language. This course was a perfect start. The interactive textbook is amazing. I also recommend downloading some software on your PC as well as it will provide you with additional tools for tinkering with your code.

The proscribed 1-hour limits on the tests were too short for me, but that is more due to me being relatively new to programming. The tasks themselves (even the most complex ones) take a few minutes at max if you know what you are doing.

By Robert R

Jan 15, 2019

I thought the notebook presentation was easy to follow and clear.

I preferred working my way through the notebook but the complications of UN-updated completed assignments made tracking my progress too confusing. I think that i should be able to go straight through the notebook and have progress updated correctly, immediately.

Given that i found the lectures too time consuming and, therefore, wanted to work through the notebook, I'd like to know if there are straightforward instructions as to how to do that and have everything updated with a clear guide as to which assignments are due.

Thanks, i enjoyed it and am continuing on.

By Sarvesh M

Oct 30, 2020

This is a wonderful course which is not for people who are beginning to program for the first time. I would advise all people who are learning the python programming language for the first time, please take the "Python for everybody Specialization" which is also available in Coursera and offered by University of Michigan so that you will feel this course a bit more interesting. This advise is also given in a reading material in this course too. But, this course is a wonderful course for someone who is a bit used to python. Thanks to University of Michigan, Coursera, and all the Instructors for this amazing course.

By n8halsey

Mar 3, 2019

This was the best 'intro to Python basics' course that I've ever taken. The combination of video lectures, reading content, exercises, check understanding, practice, and way of the programmer made this a better experience that any face to face educational experience I've ever had. This program allowed me to learn and internalize and embrace / practice each new concept at my speed and comfort level and pace. One of the most exciting takeaways is to have learned the fundamentals of how to write 'elegant' code, The Way of The Programmer was definitely my favorite section for formal instruction of best practices!

By Archana A

Sep 21, 2020

I come from Humanities background and my knowledge was limited to copy pasting given scripts on python shell and hitting 'run'. However, Python coding is very essential to advance in my field (Natural Language Processing). So I had been trying for a couple of years using multiple resources to start learning python. But I always used to hit a wall when my code didn't work and I couldn't find my mistake. The amazing interactive textbook used in this course solved all my problems. I was able to go through the entire course without having to ask anything to anyone. Loved the textbook!

By Dianne M W

Jan 25, 2023

Excellent course with expert teachers and good quality materials. I learned a lot and I highly recommend this course.

One of the best things about the material was the teachers’ careful explanations and the interactive textbook. Things that had previously confused me in other programming courses were cleared up by the careful and patient teaching in this one.

My only issue was that it was hard to read one of the teacher’s screens on my tablet because he hadn’t made the screen size big enough but it was readable on the computer. Only a minor fly in the otherwise perfect ointment.

By MOHAMMED A

Jun 24, 2020

Excellent course! Coursera has improved my practical skill in programming due a lot of practices and guidance. Perfect course for you if you are a beginner in python and have no knowledge on how to start learning. The course is designed with the accompanying online textbook in mind, so it gave me the opportunity to look at the text before the video and that really improved my understanding. Also I found the exercises in the book very helpful. The assignments and quiz questions were spaced frequently enough to ensure I was learning the material as I progressed. Thank you.

By RAKIBUL A

Jul 2, 2019

One of the best course not only to learn python but also to learn programming.

It give you every details that you need to know about the basic about programming using python language. Those details also (I believe) would be helpful to learn other languages. In other courses that I have seen, they do not give you the details information, so when you are coding, become a bit difficult to understand what you are doing. But, in this course you will not only learn what code produces what output, also you will learn what is going on under the hood. (For example, using codelens)

By Christian C

Oct 5, 2020

This was my first Coursera course and I really enjoyed it. This is a great start to learning Python. It provides clear explanations and examples to reinforce the topics. I have dabbled with Python and other programming languages before so this course had some redundancy that I didn't need but I went through the motions anyway to help the information stick (for me). I thought the course content had good flow and presentation. The Runestone environment was really neat and helpful for the readings, exercises, and practice. I definitely recommend the course.

By Lesley B

May 30, 2022

Spectacular course! There were so many great aspects to it (the very pleasing introduction in which we meet everyone involved in the Python 3 Programming Specialization, the lectures, the interactive textbook, and the practice tool). The interactive textbook makes learning a pleasure. The practice tool ensures that one gets to reinforce didactics. I highly recommend this course to those who want to learn Python programming or wish to improve their basic knowledge of the language. P.S. Hope you enjoy Professor Resnick's "nerdy pun humor." I certainly did!

By Johnny

Apr 25, 2019

Just finished the course. I have to say it is really worthy to give it a try. The Runestones with some challenging questions and detailed explanations do improve your understanding! Even using advanced skills (e.g regex, list comprehensions ...) will help you deal with the problems more quickly, trying to solve it with the most basic and fundamental concepts will help you understand more about the data structures and algorithms. The spaced repetition also helps a lot, but the forum is not that active, which makes me have to ask on StackOverflow sometimes.

By Jigme D

Jul 15, 2020

Python was a subject I always wanted to learn but did not know from where to start. There were too many materials and resources online making it confusing and blur as to which one to start from however this course Python Basics from University of Michigan was an outstanding course, very easy to understand, clear stage by stage chapters and very information and interactive course material. My learning may be a small drop in the ocean but i will keep my commitment to learn more.

Thank you Professor Paul and the team for sharing your knowledge.

By Vanessa S

Feb 7, 2020

This was my first coding course and my first ever coursera course and I am so happy with the result! The online teachers seemed really nice and the set up of the program made it super easy to navigate. The only thing I wish is that there were a set of problems with answer keys so that if I got super stuck on a practice assignment I could look at the answer (or part of the answer) instead of having to sift through a bunch of python blogs. Overall super fun course and would highly recommend. Thank you coursera and University of Michigan!

By Zhengwei H

Nov 30, 2021

It's my first time to learn things through coursera, have to say, that is great experience . I am an lawyer, no python background at all, and I am not a native English speaker, however I found the courses are so friendly for me. I spent three weeks going through all reading materials , doing exersice , and finally got my first certificate, now I am thinking about keep trying other python courese . It really helpful for me to get this wonderful new skills on coursera , and I do like these courese previded by University of Michigan.

By Michael K

Mar 18, 2020

Good production quality, great instructors, and a fantastic digital textbook. I highly recommend making use of the supplemental Runestone textbook, even the parts not required by the Coursera course. It is a great resource that will only enhance your learning experience!

Only complaint, which I have not knocked any stars off for, is that the course may be almost too basic and only begins to scratch the surface of the language. But, the University of Michigan has numerous other Python courses that get into the more advanced topics.

By Rubén A

Oct 10, 2020

I really like this course because it was very practical and the assignments let you exercise your problem solving skills in Python, only downside is that the videos and the reading material is kind of redundant, for example I decided to go through the course by only studying the reading material and I was able to complete the assignments just fine, however I don't believe this to be a very discouraging downside I only think that it would be helpful if they stated that you can skip the videos and that way save a lot of time.

By Peter C W

Oct 29, 2022

Very good course! Everything was explained in detail. I especially liked the textbook with its exercises. A great idea also that the videos take reference to the following textbook page. The professors have good voices and speak calmly. Very good also that they regularly give hints to common problems and debugging.

The only thing I would add would be a kind of inventory of all methods learned so far so that rarely used methods can be looked up quickly.

I am very happy with the course and would recommend it further.

By Dhiraj P U

Jul 31, 2022

It is great and amazing to me. The course is well designed to start Python from basic and after completing this course user can jump to advance courses very easily. Teaching and learning materials so amazingly desinged that helps learner to read more and more and do more and more practise for better to best understanding . The video and text practise material so maintened that I can not express my self means my words will be less for this user have to go through the course to understand it.

Lovely lovely and lovely.

By Carl T T

May 9, 2022

This was an excellent course which I thoroughly enjoyed. It was a great way to revise and sharpen my previously learned Python skills. I found it fast-paced and more difficult than expected but really well-explained using a variety of materials (video, written, quizes, programming tests and examples, etc, etc). The course was very varied and taught me quite a lot that I didn't already know. I think it is an excellent grounding for further study pf Python programming. Also, thanks to all of you for making it fun!

By Maksym L

Nov 22, 2020

My first certificate on Coursera. Didn't expect it to be such a great platform, seems like these courses can give you real knowledges. And this one, about Python, is a nice course even for those who already work as a software engineer and want to learn another programming language. The course itself is pretty simple, but gives good introduction into python. It would be nice if you added some more deep things here, i.e. how python works under the hood, may be as some optional materials. Thank you!

By David L

Mar 31, 2022

This course has great videos, good exercises and really great all in all course for Phyton Basics. I recommend this course to everyone who wanna learn the basics of Phyton. You gonna spend hours but all in all it is worth it. The learning curve is filled with fun and new activities for Phyton. The basics of some algorithm are taught in this course and are helpful for all coding languages. So from my point of view fully recommandation. Thank you really much for this opportunity.

By maytat l

May 15, 2020

This course really builds a solid understanding of Python basics in deep detail. The interactive textbook in this course is really helpful especially codelens features which let you see the code implemented line by line. If you come from Python for Everbody Specialization, I would suggest continuing to this course to gain a deeper knowledge of similar materials. Be aware, the length of the lectures of this course is high, definitely much higher than Python for Everbody.

By Mahmoud G

Jun 14, 2019

I really liked how this course is structured. The course is designed with the accompanying online textbook in mind , so it gave me the opportunity to look at the text before the video and that really improved my understanding. Also I found the exercises in the book very helpful. The textbook had a feature where it automatically tests you everyday on the material that you've already covered and this repetition, in my opinion, solidifies the material in mind even further.

By Papu M

Jul 20, 2020

" python basics course was really help full for understanding basic building blocks of python. The guidance of all the instructors was also very help full. The structure of assignments , exercises and reading interactive textbook was also very help full. I greatly motivated towards Python programming and I encourage the new participants to learn and watch till the end of the lesson and you will surely gain knowledge and experience of coding platform. Thank you! "